The Library at St. Cloud State University

Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNOPQRSTUVWNumAll

ABI/INFORM (Business)
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with fulltext or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
AccessScience: The Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Provides an overview on science and technology topics written by experts and including bibliographies. Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
ACM Digital Library
Search for citations from most periodicals and conference proceedings of the Association for Computing Machinery and affiliated societies.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
ACS Chemistry Journals
ACS Chemistry Journals consists of full access to indexing and abstracts for all American Chemical Society journals as well as fulltext for those journals with print subscriptions in LR&TS (11 titles). The titles to which we currently have fulltext access include: Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Innovation, Chemical Reviews, Environment Science and Technology, Industrial Engineering Chemistry Research, Inorgranic Chemistry, Journal of Organic Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Organometallics, and Journal of Physical Chemistry.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
African American Newspapers
Searchable database of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
AgeLine
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ abd issues of aging. The premier source for social gerontology literature, it includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy.
Restricted Resource database
Agricola (Agriculture)
Index to articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Also search the online catalog of the National Agriculture Library.
database
Alexander Street Press
Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.
Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Alt HealthWatch
Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Alternative Press Index
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Restricted Resource findit database
Alternative Press Index Archive
Index to articles published from 1969-1990 in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Restricted Resource findit database
America: History & Life
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
Restricted Resource findit database
American FactFinder
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Electronic reproductions of texts, images, and film from the collections of the Library of Congress on a variety of subjects.
database
AnthroSource
AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers a searchable database of more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
AP Images (Associated Press)
A source of over 500,000 current and historic photo images, graphic images, audio files, and publicity. Content may be used for educational purposes in papers, presentations, and secure Web spaces (e.g., in Desire2Learn pages). Approximately 1,000 photo images are added daily.
Restricted Resource Resource contains imagesdatabase
ArchiveGrid
An index to archives and special collections in thousands of libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Very little content from these collections is online.
Restricted Resource elm database
Art Full Text
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, including full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. Also provides indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Restricted Resource findit database
ArticleFirst
Indexes 16,000 journals and periodicals in all disciplines.
Restricted Resource findit elm database
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains bibliographic information on over 770,000 articles on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Restricted Resource database
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Find which books contain biographic information about individuals both living and deceased. Search more than 13.3 million biographical entries. NOTE: BGMI does not include full text. Check SCSU MnPALS to see if we have a title listed in the search results.
Restricted Resource database
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Each Directory helps professors, researchers, and students select journals that are most likely to publish a manuscript. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes, the type of review process, acceptance rate and number of external reviewers. Separate directories are available for Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum and Methods, Educational Psychology and Administration, and Psychology.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
Addresses a broad range of established and emerging topics in Communication Studies, including theoretical and methodological issues that influence the study of personal relationships; individual differences and their influences on relationships; relationship processes such as cognition, emotion, and communication; environmental influences on personal relationships; and maintenance and repair of relationships.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Cambridge University Press Journals
The search allows you to search over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals and hundreds of books published by Cambridge University Press. SCSU subscribes to fulltext access to 30 Cambridge journal titles, of which 16 are current; an additional 7 current titles are available fulltext.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Campus Research (formerly Westlaw Campus)
WestLaw Campus includes the fulltext of many West legal publications covering all federal and state court cases, and Supreme Court cases after 1944, US Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, state administrative codes and state statutes; also includes American Jurisprudence 2d., American Law Reports, and state law journals and law reviews. Can search by keyword, citation (e.g., 98 S.CT 2733), case title (e.g., Roe v. Wade), or by act (e.g., Clean Air Act).
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
ChemWeb
The ChemWeb Chemistry Portal allows free searching of journal abstracts from chemistry publishers such as Bentham, Elsevier, Springer and others covering over 500 journals. Search by title and issue or use Journal Search for full-text search of abstracts across all journals. For access to specific articles, search the Library Web site using the Articles and databases tab.
Some full text availabledatabase
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Library search includes links to over 22,300 bibliographic citations and abstracts. Includes links to full text of 70+ NCCAN publications, including "user manuals" and information on state statutes.
database
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing)
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
CIOS Journal System Index
Provides author and title index to citations from 31 core journals in communication studies (subset of Communication Abstracts).
Restricted Resource database
CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
CIOS is one of the primary resources for research in Communication, Speech, Journalism, and Rhetoric. In addition to producing ComAbstracts, CIOS provides the following resources for institutional affiliates (including St. Cloud State University).
Restricted Resource database
Citing Government Documents (Columbia University)
Provides a list of websites that offer citation information and examples for citing government information sources.
The Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877
This collection of primary materials features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United States—plus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. It provides unprecedented local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.
Restricted Resource database
Clase Periodica
Indexes 2600 scholarly journals in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English covering Latin American social sciences and humanities (Clase) and science and technology (Periodica).
Restricted Resource findit elm database
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet. Users browse, search, click, and then listen. Includes Medieval, contemporary, choral works, symphonies, operas, avant-garde, and more with multiple versions of works to enable comparative listening. It also links to Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Restricted Resource database Resource contains audio
Coaching Science Abstracts
A subject-oriented directory to lengthy abstracts of research articles for practicing coaches and others interested in applied sport science.
database
ComAbstracts
The most comprehensive database for the discipline of Communications. Provides 26,000 abstracts of articles drawn from the professional literature on Communications. See also, Importing Citations from ComAbstracts into RefWorks.
Restricted Resource database
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Index with abstracts to more than 600 journal titles to support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study; includes biographical profiles for over 3,000 authors. More than 240 journal titles include full-text.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Computer Engineering Commons
Open access articles written by undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty. Sub-topics include robotics, networking, systems architecture, data storage, digital circuits, and other computing areas.
ComWeb MegaSearch
Full text index to more than 20,000 communications-related web resources at hundreds of academic sites.
Restricted Resource database
Consumer Health Complete
CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. Includes fulltext from journals and specialized encyclopedias, as well as images, videos, and animations.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
CQ Historic Documents
Over 32,000 pages of documents covering significant events. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
CQ Researcher
Reliable, unbiased, and in-depth information on a wide variety of current issues. Excellent for browsing hot topics.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
CQ Weekly
A weekly publication covering events in Washington. Includes in-depth reports on congressional issues, a summary of the previous week's news, committee and floor activity, and debates and roll-call votes.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Credo Reference
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref
Criminal Justice Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to criminal justice.  Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.
Restricted Resource findit database
Current Cites
An annotated monthly bibliography of selected articles, books, and electronic documents on information technology and library science.
database
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Contains in-depth biographical information on writers, poets, and playwrights world-wide. Each entry places the major works in the context of that person's life. Entries include a list of major works of the author, and a list of references.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Discovering Collection
A good resource for very basic information on virtually any topic. This comprehensive reference resource includes essays, critical analyses, biographies, and primary sources in both text and multimedia.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
findit database
Dissertations and Theses
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.
Restricted Resource elm database
EBSCO eBook collection
This eBook collection contains full-text e-books covering a variety of topics. These are the digital versions of books and are available 24/7 from on or off campus. For instructions on how to download eBooks from this site, see http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?topic=957&id=5524&page=1.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase ebook
EconLit
Index to scholarly articles and dissertations in economics and related fields. Updated monthly. Corresponds to the print index published as part of the Journal of Economic Literature.
Restricted Resource findit database
Educator's Reference Complete
This database complements ERIC by providing fulltext to about 1100 journals indexed in ERIC, as well as about a dozen standard reference titles related to Education--such as the encyclopedias of Education, Educational Leadership and Administration, Sociology, and Psychology. Covers all levels and areas of Education.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Eigenfactor.org
Eigenfactor ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences (and also newsprint, PhD theses, and popular magazines) using citation data and journal price.
database
ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; eBooks (electronic books); and information from other reference sources via a selection of databases.
database
ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota -- Resources for K-12
ELM provides access to the following databases for use in K-12 environments:
From Gale:
InfoTrac Junior Edition for junior high and middle school students
InfoTrac Student Edition for high school students
Kids InfoBits for elementary school students
Junior Reference Collection for junior high and middle school students
Student Resources in Context for high school students
From EBSCO:
MAS Ultra-School Edition for high school students
Middle Search Plus for junior high and middle school students
Primary Search for elementary school students
From Encyclopedia Britannica:
Britannica Online School Edition includes editions for high school, junior high/middle school, and elementary school
Britannica Learning Zone for preschool
Some full text availableelm database
Emerald FullText
Emerald provides access to the fulltext content or more than 100 management and information services journals published by MCBPress (UK). Among the journal titles for business are European Business Review, European Journal of Marketing, Benchmarking, Balance Sheet, International Journal of Public Sector Management, International Marketing Review, and Journal of Consumer Marketing; titles for information services include Library Hi Tech, and Reference Services Review.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Encyclopedia Britannica (Academic)
Encyclopedia Britannica has been the most trusted and most academic encyclopedia, with articles by scholars and experts, since its founding in 1768. This online edition incorporates Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, as well as multimedia, current news, supporting articles, statistical data, and an atlas.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database eref
Energy Citations Database
Energy Citations includes bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
database
Engineering Dictionary
This EngNet web dictionary provides short definitions for common engineering terms.
eref
ERIC (Education)
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science. Note: ProQuest links to fulltext from other SCSU databases and for ERIC documents (ED numbers) from 1996 provided by EDRS. The database provides an easy to use form to order an article through interlibrary loan. The Miller Center owns a wide array of journals that are cited in ERIC.
Restricted Resource findit database
Ethnic NewsWatch
A comprehensive collection of nearly 700,000 full-text articles from 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Option for searching in both English and Spanish. Tip: Click the check box to limit results to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP indexes 4200 journal and periodical titles and provides fulltext for another 2500 title. Provides coverage in social sciences, humanities, sciences, education, and business as well as national news, current events, and general interest topics.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Facts on File (World News Digest)
A searchable news and events site, with encyclopedia and almanac. Gives top news stories back to 1940. Special features include maps; photographs; historic documents; and overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1980.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Film & Television Literature Index
The definitive index to film and television literature. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 film and television journals and publications.
Restricted Resource database
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
FindLaw
FindLaw provides legal researchers with a sophisticated search engine to locate Web-accessible legal code and case law. Topical sub-searches for foreign domains by country, federal laws and regulations, or individual states are also available.
database
Gartner Technology Research
A comprehensive collection of research tools, analysis, and advice for information technology topics. Gartner is a leading information technology research and advisory company. Requires StarID login.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
GEM: The Gateway to Educational Materials
Provides access to "thousands of educational resources [instructional materials, curriculums, etc.] found on various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites." Search by subject, keyword, or grade level.
database
GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, lesbian/gay studies, gender and women's studies and more. Tip: Click the check box to limit results to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
General Science Collection
Index with full text for more than 200 journals in biology, mathematics, physics, geology, and basic chemistry. Designed primarily for use in introductory courses.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions. 

 
database
GPO Monthly Catalog
Covers all types of U.S. government publications, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records, judiciary materials; and document issued by all executive departments and agencies.
Restricted Resource findit elm database
GreenFILE
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Restricted Resource database
HAPI: Hispanic-American Periodical Index
HAPI is an index to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. The index covers information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Restricted Resource findit database
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era
"The HarpWeek Civil War database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly for the period 1857 through 1865, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked." "Harper's was aimed at the middle and upper socio-economic classes, and tried not to print anything that it considered unfit for the entire family to read. In addition to the importance of illustrations and cartoons by artists like Winslow Homer and Thomas Nast, the paper's editorials played a significant role in shaping and reflecting public opinion from the start of the Civil War to the end of the century." SCSU, in partnership with Winona State University, provides access for the period covering the Civil War.
Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imagesdatabase
Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Historical Abstracts
Search over 2,000 scholarly journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Restricted Resource findit database
IEEE Xplore
Search for journal articles, transactions, conference proceedings, etc. of IEEE, IEE and affiliated societies. Note: SCSU has a subscription to ASPP package. Use Interlibrary Loan to get items we do not own (you will get message in upper left corner, "The content you requested is not included in your subscription")
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Information Bridge (Department of Energy)
The Information Bridge provides the open source to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
database
Informe
Informe is a collection of Spanish- and English-language scholarly journals and popular magazines, most with fulltext, with an emphasis on the Americas. Topics covered include business, health, technology, culture, current affairs, economics and other subjects.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Ingenta
Provides access to article summaries from over 13,000 publications. SCSU has online access to the fulltext from a limited number of publications; other content may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.
database
JAMA
Full text of the Journal of the American Medical Association.
Restricted Resource
JBI ConNect+
"JBI COnNECT+ (Clinical Online Network of Evidence for Care and Therapeutics) is your exclusive members only facility, providing you with easy access to resources to help you find and use evidence to inform your clinical decision-making." Resources Available: JBI databases (including the JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, Best Practice Information sheets, Evidence Summaries and Evidence Based Recommended Practices, JBI Library of Systematic Reviews,External databases (including the Cochrane Library, PubMed)
Restricted Resource database
Journal of Visualized Experiments
JoVE provides access to thousands of video "articles" from top research institutions around the world.  Each "article" demonstrates a experimental techniques or procedure. Topics covered include Biology, Chemistry, Applied Physics, Bioengineering, Immunology and Infection, Environment, and Science Education.
Restricted Resource
JoVE
JoVE provides access to thousands of video "articles" from top research institutions around the world.  Each "article" demonstrates a experimental techniques or procedure. Topics covered include Biology, Chemistry, Applied Physics, Bioengineering, Immunology and Infection, Environment, and Science Education.
Restricted Resource
JSTOR
JSTOR provides unique access to fulltext backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online fulltext databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals from 1980 to present, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals.
Restricted Resource findit database
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Limited fulltext is available.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
LibSearch

Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the Library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Literature Criticism Online
Provides online full-text scholarly essays and commentary on classic books and authors. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.
Restricted Resource database
LitFinder
The most expansive and current poetry, story, and essay database available. Includes explanations, biographies and pictures.
Restricted Resource database
Making of America (Cornell)
This database includes "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)
database
Making of America (University of Michigan)
This collection "is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology." (From Website)
database
MasterFILE Premier
A very broad, general database containing full text of important reference sources (good for background information on a topic), news articles, popular magazine articles, and some scholarly articles.
Restricted Resource findit database
MathSciNet
MathSciNet indexes and reviews 1800 current journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research. Researchers are encouraged to browse the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) for subject access. RefWorks users need to save citations in BibTex format, then manually import (can use cut and paste) into RefWorks.
Restricted Resource database
Media Education Foundation Collection
The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.
Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Mediamark MRI+
MRI+ is a library of media planning data resources. MRI+ Reporter provides marketing and merchandising information on more than 6000 media sources and for more than 6000 products. Full access requires registration using an SCSU HuskyNet email address; after registration, Mediamark will send an email to your account after about 20 minutes with an access link. Information about how to use MRI+ is available online.
database
Medline
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
Restricted Resource findit elm database
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is a source for consumer information about over 700 diseases, their symptoms and treatment options. It includes a medical encyclopedia and dictionary. MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other governmental agencies.
database
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Provides test users with descriptive information, citations to test references, and critical reviews of testing instruments. Covers the Ninth Mental Measurements (1985) to the present; previous editions are available in the Reference Collection. Also includes Tests in Print, a listing of testing tools and test reviews. Provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).  Also in print at REF Z5814 .P8 B932, REF Z5814 .E9 T47

Restricted Resource database
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Comprehensive index with abstracts to literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Indexes over 600 journal titles in several languages.
Restricted Resource findit database
Minneapolis Star Tribune
The primary newspaper of Minneapolis. Search and print full-text articles from 1986-present.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Minneapolis Star Tribune: ProQuest Newspapers
Minnesota's biggest newspaper. Search and print full-text articles from 1986 onward.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Minneapolis Tribune: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text coverage of the Minneapolis Tribune from 1867 through 1922.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.
 
Some full text availabledatabase
Minnesota Magazine Index
MNMag is an index of articles on local and statewide politics, news, current events, history and the arts that appear in nine Minnesota magazines. Produced since 1991 by the staff in the Hennepin County Public Library, MNMag now includes over 25,000 citations.
database
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature)
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Restricted Resource findit database
Monthly Statistics of International Trade
International trade statistics of OECD countries. Data provided by economic groups, by country and by region. Each monthly edition provides data for the previous eight months, four quarters, and two years.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Reports for over 6,000 companies, mutual funds, ETFs and company shares listed on Standard & Poor's 500 stock market index. Reports for the Russell 2000 and other stock market indexes are also available. The database includes access to articles, interviews, and videos. 
Restricted Resource
Music Literature (RILM)
Index to journals in 202 languages covering all areas of music scholarship, including, concert reviews, recording notes, dance, anthropology, ethnomusicology, music theory, music therapy, instruments and voice, etc. Corresponds to the printed Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale (RILM) abstracts of music literature.
Restricted Resource findit database
Music Online Premium Collection
Streaming music and video from the following 13 collections: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music in Video, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Classical Scores Library: Volume II, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound® for Libraries.
Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
National Academies Press
Downloadable PDF versions of more than 4,000 books and technical reports on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
Some full text availabledatabase
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCJRS is a federally sponsored information clearinghouse for people around the country and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Materials cover the areas of: corrections, courts, drugs and crime, international, juvenile justice, law enforcement, victims of crime and statistics as well as grants and funding information.
database
National Geographic Magazine Archive
The National Geographic Magazine Archive includes full text and photograph of National Geographic Magazine, from the first issue in 1888 to the present, in a fully searchable interface. 
Some full text availabledatabase
Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public. Coverage includes a 4 year rolling archive to current.
Some full text availabledatabase
Naxos Music Library
"Naxos Music Library is collection of music available online. It includes the complete Naxos , Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's database." For additional jazz music, see the NML Jazz collection.
Restricted Resource database
Naxos Music Library: Jazz
"Naxos Music Library (NML) Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collections of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1,900 albums; over 500 jazz artists are represented. NML Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. NML Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz." There is limited duplication with the jazz offerings in the Naxos Music Library.
Restricted Resource
NBER Working Papers
NBER Working Papers are intended to make research of the National Bureau for Economic Research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication.
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
A comprehensive source of business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, company descriptions and financials, and mutual fund research. For tips, see the NetAdvantage User Guide.
Restricted Resource database
New York Times
One of the most respected papers in the country. Search and print full-text articles from 1995 to the present.
Restricted Resource database
New York Times (1851-2009): ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2009. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Newsbank Special Reports
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.
Restricted Resource database
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers
Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. The "Research Guide" link leads to commissioned essays that provide context for the collection.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Nursing Education in Video
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
O*NET Online (Occupational Information Network)
O*NET is an official website developed by the Department of Labor. The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with over 950 occupations. Previous title: Dictionary of Occupational Titles.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Provides overviews and multiple points of view on contemporary social issues. Includes viewpoint articles as well as articles from popular magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and primary sources.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Oxford Art Online
More than 41,000 scholarly articles covering all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes numerous links to other Web resources including images.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. Includes authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools for research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible.
Restricted Resource database
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the premier guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words in the English language, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Oxford Music Online
Includes the complete full text of The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and Grove Music Online (including the standard music reference sources, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz).
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Oxford Reference Online
This Premium Collection includes access to a wide range of Oxford titles covering dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. The database is fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable. Titles such as: Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations and the Encyclopedia of Mammals are included and updated regularly. There are over 1.4 million entries, including longer, in-depth, signed entries with bibliographies.
Restricted Resource database
PapersFirst
Index of papers of every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by the British Library. Updated twice a month.
Restricted Resource findit elm database
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, providing researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. Years of coverage run from 1665 to 2000.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Philosopher's Index
A comprehensive database that searches the contents of over 550 philosophical journals as well as books, anthologies, and book reviews related to topics in philosophy.
Restricted Resource findit database
PILOTS Database
Citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental health issues related to traumatic events.
Restricted Resource database
PioneerPress
Minnesota's second largest newspaper and a major source of news about state government.  Search and print full-text articles from 2010 onward.
Restricted Resource
Points of View Reference Center
This full-text reference resource presents multiple sides on current controversial topics. Each topic may include topical essays, supporting articles, primary source documents, images, and videos.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the nearly 350,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Professional Collection (Education)
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
Restricted Resource findit database
Professional Development Collection
Full-text access to 520 periodicals related to education, including 350 peer-reviewed journals. Also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Project Muse
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Minneapolis Tribune
Full-text coverage of the Minneapolis Tribune from 1867 through 1922.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2009. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
ProQuest Newspapers
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ProQuest Newspapers: Minneapolis Star Tribune
Minnesota's biggest newspaper. Search and print full-text articles from 1986 onward.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Contains general and detailed statistics on almost any topic. Search by keyword or select from specified subjects.
Restricted Resource database
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Restricted Resource findit database
PubMed
PubMed, produced at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and provided for free, contains over 15 million citations from biomedical and health science journals. Access additional databases including BioEthicsLine, AIDSline (AIDS information), HistLine (History of Medicine), Toxline (toxicology) and many genetic databases.
database
Regional Business News
A supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for more than 60 sources.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Repository at St. Cloud State University (Institutional Repository)
Provides open access to a diverse collection of academic, scholarly, scientific, and creative content produced by faculty, students, and staff at the University.
RIA Checkpoint
Provides online access to the complete RIA United States Tax Reporter with federal and state tax laws, codes, regulations, analysis, annotations, cases, rulings, citator, and more; also includes the complete WG&L Tax Dictionary.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Safari Technical Books
Collection of e-books and manuals on computing and network issues from a variety of publishers.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableebook
SAGE Journals Online
SAGE publishes more than 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Fulltext available from 1 January 1999 to present.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to over 50 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic. To limit to your Library's collection, click the "Available to Me" radio button on the right hand side of the search results page.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Science Reference Center
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
ScienceDirect
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Scientific American Archives
Full text of articles from Scientific American magazine from 1993 to the present.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
SciFinder Scholar is the preeminent source of scholarly research in all aspects of Chemistry, searching over 23 million scholarly articles from Chemical Abstracts and Medline.  
Restricted Resource findit database
Scopus (Science)
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Restricted Resource findit database
Social Services Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Restricted Resource findit database
Something About the Author Online
Biographical and bibliographical information on children's authors and illustrators. Often includes interviews and personal information. For the print version (in the library), use most recent cumulative index volume to determine volume of entries or look on the Web at http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
Restricted Resource database
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.
Restricted Resource findit database
SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Local Market Audience Analyst, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.

NOTES:

SRDS works ONLY in Internet Explorer 10 or 11, and does not interface with Firefox or Google Chrome.

There is a compatibility issue with the newest version of SRDS that can be resolved only by adding SRDS.com and Claritas.com to Compatibility View in IE. Here's how to do it:
  • When in IE 10 or 11, but before linking to SRDS, press ALT-T-B (that is, hold down the ALT key and the T key and the B key) to open Tools (or look under Tools in the browser menu).
  • Scroll down the menu to select Compatibility View Settings.
  • Add Claritas.com and SRDS.com to the Compatibility View.
  • Close the Compatibility View Settings box. 
  • Connect to SRDS. You should now be able to use SRDS without any further problems. 

Restricted Resource database
St. Cloud GIS
The St. Cloud Geographic Information System provides detailed information about individual properties, private and public, within the city limits.
St. Cloud State University Faculty/Staff Publications
Under "Other," find bibliographies of SCSU faculty and staff publications, conference presentations, etc. The list includes links to FindIt! for full-text when available. Citations can be searched, formatted in a variety of citation styles, printed, or downloaded.
St. Cloud Times
Full-text articles are available for the past 7 days. For earlier dates, search the St. Cloud Times (ProQuest) version.
St. Cloud Times Index
An index to the St. Cloud Times from 1928 - 2008.
database
St. Cloud Times: ProQuest Newspapers
Provides full-text articles from about 2005 to present. Does not include obituaries or birth notices.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
St. Paul Pioneer Press
Minnesota's second largest newspaper and a major source of news about state government.  Search and print full-text articles from 2010 onward.
Restricted Resource
Star Tribune
The primary newspaper of Minneapolis. Search and print full-text articles from 1986-present.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. is the most important source for statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of life in the United States. Previous editions available online at http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/ or in print at US Docs C 3.134/7:
Restricted Resource database
STATSnetBASE
STATSnetBASE is part of the CRCnetBASE collection and provides access to over 390 e-books that span over 40 subjects. The collection allows access to full text handbooks, references, and monographs published by CRC Press. Each subject specialized collection is updated with the latest e-books as they are published.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Times (London) Digital Archive
Complete fulltext, including birth and death notices, advertisements, etc. of the The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985. The content covers almost every event in the world during that period.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types--popular, trade, and academic--as well as newspapers, newsletters, and open access online publications.
Restricted Resource database
USA Today
A national-level newspaper covering major news, sports, and entertainment events.
Restricted Resource
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Available on campus only.
This database contains:
  • Streaming video of NBC nightly news broadcasts (August 1968 to present) and CNN broadcasts (1995 to present). Requires RealPlayer. Note: content is added to the databases approximately 72 hours after it was broadcast.
  • 900,000 abstracts of evening news broadcasts from ABC, NBC, and CBS (August 1968 to present); daily news programs from CNN (1995 to present), FOX News (2004 to present) and ABC Nightline (12 September 1988 to present); and a selection of special programs, including coverage of elections, political conventions, events related to September 11, 2001, and more.

Note: if you would like to view a broadcast that is not available online, please submit a loan request (some fees apply).
database Resource contains video
Vital Speeches of the Day
Offers students of public speaking examples of effective speeches by those who have attained leadership in the fields of business, politics, education, government, and more.
Restricted Resource
Wall Street Journal
One of the most important business newspapers in the country. Search and print full-text articles from 1984 to the present.
Restricted Resource database
Washington Post
Primary newspaper of the nation's capitol and one of the major sources for news on US government activities.  Index and fulltext from 1987 onward.
Restricted Resource
Women Writers Project
This project, initiated by Brown University and now hosted by Northeastern University, provides access to the fulltext of more than 150 works in English, or in English translation, by women before 1850 (the oldest is dated 1546). The collection is particularly strong in works from the Renaissance.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
World Almanac and Book of Facts
Provides fulltext access to the The World Almanac and Book of Facts through FACTS.com.
Restricted Resource database
WorldCat
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
Restricted Resource database
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.
Restricted Resource findit database
Questions?
Search Databases


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
SFX Findit = OpenURL Enabled
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files
ELM = ELM
eRef = eRef
eBook = eBook
Databases = Databases



Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University