The Library at St. Cloud State University

Databases beginning with S

Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRS TUVWNumAll

SAGE Journals Online
Full text of over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Sanborn Digital Maps 1867-1970
Historic large scale maps (50 feet to the inch) of cities and towns in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and the Dakotas; maps include buildings and streets with original names. Most maps for Minnesota cities available from about 1880.

Note: Access to Sanborn maps for North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin will end on 31 May 2015.
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
ScienceDirect
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Scientific American Archives
Full text of articles from Scientific American magazine from 1993 to the present.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)

SciFinder Scholar is the preeminent source of scholarly research in all aspects of Chemistry, searching over 23 million scholarly articles from Chemical Abstracts and Medline.

Access is limited to students and faculty at St. Cloud State University. From an on-campus computer, users must complete individual user registration using your HuskyNet email address.


Restricted Resource findit database
Scopus (Science)
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Restricted Resource findit database
Social Services Abstracts
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Restricted Resource findit database
Something About the Author Online
Biographical and bibliographical information on children's authors and illustrators. Often includes interviews and personal information. For the print version (in the library), use most recent cumulative index volume to determine volume of entries or look on the Web at http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
Restricted Resource database
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.
Restricted Resource findit database
SRDS Media Planning Platform
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.
 
Restricted Resource database
St. Cloud GIS
The St. Cloud Geographic Information System provides detailed information about individual properties, private and public, within the city limits.
St. Cloud State University Faculty/Staff Publications
Under "Other," find bibliographies of SCSU faculty and staff publications, conference presentations, etc. The list includes links to FindIt! for full-text when available. Citations can be searched, formatted in a variety of citation styles, printed, or downloaded.
St. Cloud Times
Full-text articles are available for the past 7 days. For earlier dates, browse microfilm holdings.
St. Cloud Times Index
An index to the St. Cloud Times from 1928 - 2008.
database
St. Paul Pioneer Press
Minnesota's second largest newspaper and a major source of news about state government.  Search and print full-text articles from 2010 onward.
Restricted Resource
Star Tribune
The primary newspaper of Minneapolis. Search and print full-text articles from 1986-present.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
STATSnetBASE
STATSnetBASE is part of the CRCnetBASE collection and provides access to over 390 e-books that span over 40 subjects. The collection allows access to full text handbooks, references, and monographs published by CRC Press. Each subject specialized collection is updated with the latest e-books as they are published.
Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Questions?
Search Databases


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
SFX Findit = OpenURL Enabled
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files
ELM = ELM
eRef = eRef
eBook = eBook
Databases = Databases



Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University