The Library at St. Cloud State University

Aquatic Biology

Library Resources for Research
Articles and Databases
Agricola (Agriculture)
Index to articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Also search the online catalog of the National Agriculture Library.
bioRxiv
"a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences."
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Index with full text for more than 200 journals in biology, mathematics, physics, geology, and basic checmistry. Designed primarily for use in introductory courses.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals

Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Reference and Facts

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference



Collins Dictionary of Biology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
A biology dictionary recently updated to include advancing science and genetics.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology Restricted Resource
"This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology.  Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures."
Encyclopedia of Life
A unique collaboration between scientists and technologists to provide authoritative information about the 1.8 million species, flora and fauna, known to science.
Glossary of Marine Biology
From Marine Biology: Function, Biodiversity, Ecology by Jeffrey Levinton (Oxford University Press, New York)
Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology Restricted Resource
The first comprehensive reference work for this expanding field. Covering more than fifty central terms and concepts in entries written by leading experts, Keywords offers an overview of all that is embraced by this new subdiscipline of biology, providing the core insights and ideas that show how embryonic development relates to life-history evolution, adaptation, and responses to and integration with environmental factors.
SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Web Resources - Aquatic
Algaebase (Algae)
Search by genus, species or common name of over 62,000 species of marine, freshwater and terrestrial algae. Also search for journal articles and reports.
American Fisheries Society
"The mission of the American Fisheries Society is to improve the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic ecosystems by advancing fisheries and aquatic science and promoting the development of fisheries professionals. "
APIRS Online
A free online resource devoted to aquatic, wetland, and invasive plants with citations to more than 65,000 research articles about plant ecology, physiology, utilization and control.
Aquaculture Network Information Center (AquaNIC)
AquaNIC is the gateway to the world’s electronic resources for aquaculture information. (website)
Aquatic Resources Monitoring (EPA)
Learn about the design and analysis of monitoring programs for lakes, streams, wetlands, rivers and more.
Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography
"The purpose of ASLO is to foster a diverse, international scientific community that creates, integrates and communicates knowledge across the full spectrum of aquatic sciences, advances public awareness and education about aquatic resources and research, and promotes scientific stewardship of aquatic resources for the public interest."
FishBase
Large site about biology of fishes. Includes glossary and search by common or scietific name of over 28,900 fish species.
Web Resources - Other
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
"Free and open access to biodiversity data"
ICUN Red List of Threatened Species (ICUN)
"The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species."
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
"...authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. "
Phycological Society of America
PSA's focus is to "...promote research and teaching in all fields of Phycology."
World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS)
"The aim of a World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) is to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy."
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Images, Video, and Digital Media
Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
Microscopic World : Nanoworld Image Gallery - The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
An image gallery containing electron microscopy of biological and health sciences images
Online Biology Book
Free college-level introductory biology textbook with thousands of images.
The Cell: An Image Library
"This highly interactive site features still images, videos, and animation derived from the recent literature, as well as classic microscopic from earlier studies."
Government Information
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
Links to Minnesota natural resources ranging from legislation to state park information.
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency--Water
"The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency helps protect our water by monitoring its quality, setting standards and controlling what may go into it."
USGS Water Science Center of Minnesota
"...your source for water-resource information collected and interpreted by the U.S. Geological Survey in Minnesota."
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Council of Science Editors (CSE) Scientific Style
Guide from Colorado State University gives explanations and examples of citing using CSE scientific style.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work.  To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.
Open Access and Grey Literature
bioRxiv
"a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences."
Grey Guide
"Repository and guide to good practices and resources in grey literature"
Digital Commons Network: Biology
"The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide"
OpenGrey
European database for grey literature covering a variety of disciplines.
SciTech Connect
"SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly available DOE -sponsored R&D results including technical results, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia software, and data information.
WorldWideScience
Searches the deep web through national and international scientific databases and portals


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University