The Library at St. Cloud State University

Business - Accounting

Accounting standards
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

Using LexisNexis Academic for accounting research:
The search interface has a box in the upper right corner, "Search by Subject or Topic." Position your cursor over the box, and a menu will appear. Look for "Accounting" and "Tax Law" near the bottom of the menu. Choose "Accounting," then "Advanced Options" for access to AICPA Accounting and Auditing publications, SEC Accounting-related materials, the Journal of Accountancy, the Accountant's Handbook, and other useful resources. Choose "Tax Law," then "Advanced Options" for access to the Internal Revenue Code, Federal Tax Cases & IRS Administrative Decisions, IRS Bulletins, Letter Rulings & Memoranda Decisions, and other resources.

RIA Checkpoint Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to the complete RIA United States Tax Reporter with federal and state tax laws, codes, regulations, analysis, annotations, cases, rulings, citator, and more; also includes the complete WG&L Tax Dictionary.

AICPA - American Institute of Certified Public Accountants Unrestricted Resource
This site contains information about accounting standards, the CPA exam, codes of conduct, news, and job links for accountants.

Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Unrestricted Resource
FASB is the designated private sector organization in the U.S. that establishes financial accounting and reporting standards. FASB standards are recognized as authoritative by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

FASAB - Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board Unrestricted Resource
From the website: "The FASAB supports its sponsors' efforts to improve federal financial reporting and the larger federal financial managment community's efforts to meet its accountability responsibilities. Its mission is accomplised through a comprehensive and independent process that encourages broad participation and objectively considers stakeholder views."  

GASB - Governmental Accounting Standards Board Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
GASB's mission is "to establish and improve standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports, and guide and educate the public, including issues, auditors, and users of those financial reports." The GASB website includes the full text of GASB pronouncements and implementation guides.

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Unrestricted Resource
The website of the United States' tax collection agency, this site provides tax forms and publications, statistics, the tax code, and news about tax-related issues.

Accounting and Financial Guidance from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
News and journal articles
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Emerald FullText Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Emerald provides access to the fulltext content or more than 100 management and information services journals published by MCBPress (UK). Among the journal titles for business are European Business Review, European Journal of Marketing, Benchmarking, Balance Sheet, International Journal of Public Sector Management, International Marketing Review, and Journal of Consumer Marketing; titles for information services include Library Hi Tech, and Reference Services Review.

Accounting and Tax Index
Miller Center Basement Bound Indexes Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This index provides citations to articles on taxation and accounting, and contains a single alphabetical listing for subjects, authors, corporations, organizations and government agencies.  1992 - 2001

Accountants' Index (Supplement)
Miller Center Basement Bound Indexes Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This index is a detailed author and subject bibliography of English-language book, pamphlet, and periodical literature. It includes indexing of periodicals, government documents, and references to parts of books dealing with specific subjects, and is continued by Accounting and Tax Index. 1948 - 1991
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Reference resources: encyclopedias, etc.
Credo Reference - Business titles Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imageseref ebook
Over one hundred encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks related to aspects of business and economics, both general and subtopic-specific. All resources are full-text, and individual entries can be printed. 
   
Dictionary of Accounting Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
A clear and concise dictionary of over 6,000 terms relating to accounting, with illustrative examples and quotations.

Glossary of Accounting Terms from AICPA

Accounting Terminology Guide from the New York State Society of CPAs

 
Web resources
Institute of Internal Auditors Unrestricted Resource
Association web site providing access to standards and guidance, research reports and periodicals, including Internal Auditor, for international internal audit professionals.

AuditNet: The Global Resource for Auditors Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Auditing news, templates, business contacts, and more.

CPAnet Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Tools, tutorials, news, and discussion forums for CPAs and accounting professionals.

Yahoo! Finance Unrestricted Resource
This site provides various investing and personal finance information.

Google Finance Unrestricted Resource
 

Online Accounting Journals

Accounting Today


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University