The Library at St. Cloud State University

African Studies

Find Articles in Journals and Magazines
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Africabib.org Unrestricted Resource
The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2000: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

African American Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Searchable database of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present
Find Background and Overview Information
Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.

African Biographical Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
An African Biographical Dictionary provides a wealth of vital information for students of African culture and is an indispensable reference guide for anyone interested in African affairs.

Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Provides biodata, biographical sketches, and source material for approximately five hundred men and women who have played a major role in Egypt's national life.

Encyclopedia of African History Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia of African History is a  reference resource on the history of the entire African continent. With entries ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century, this comprehensive Encyclopedia is the first reference of this scale and scope. Also includes 99 maps.

Nigeria's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Exploring the history of ethnic, regional and religious diversity in Nigeria, this volume traces most of the country's current problems to its colonial exploitation.

South Africa's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This authoritative work examines 500 years of interaction between the races in a country that during the apartheid era became a byword for racial disharmony.
Find Information from the Web
Africa: South of the Sahara
Selected Web sites organized by country and region and by topic. The site is edited and maintained for the African Studies Association by Karen Fung, deputy curator of the Africa collection at the Hoover Library at Stanford University.

Africabib.org
The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2000: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

African Women's Bibliographic Database
This English language database contains over 22,000 citations from 1986 to current. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes. The database indexes everything the compiler can find published in English about African women.

Africana.com: The Gateway to the Black World
Formerly known as "Africana.com was launched in 1999 by the editors of the print Africana and Encarta Africana encyclopedia. Describing itself as the 'Digital Bridge,' this resource contains a wide variety of content and services, including e-mail, daily and archived news and feature stories from a variety of sources, interactive discussion, shopping, music, book and movie reviews, and a crossword puzzle. Feature stories are organized into 'channels' such as 'Black World' and 'Arts.' The Encarta Africana portion of the site links to articles featured on the Web page," (ALA, RUSA-MARS). Recently taken over by AOL - Black Voices

Channel Africa Online
News from Africa via shortwave, satellite and internet radio. Stations from different nations broadcast in various languages.

Human Rights Watch: Africa
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University