The Library at St. Cloud State University

AHS 451 Senior Research Proposal

AHS 451 Senior Research Proposal
       
Finding Books, Govt Documents, Reference
  • Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) Unrestricted Resource database
    Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.
  • To locate Government Documents: Under Format, select Government Publication to search print and non-print government documents from both U.S. and MN.
  • WorldCat Restricted Resource database
    WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
  • Books held by SCSU will be noted in turquoise.   
  • Click FindIt icon to be directed to interlibrary loan form so you can borrow book from another library.
  • Browse the Ref QE section for reference books on geology and earth sciences.
  • Encyclopedia of Geology   Ref QE 5.E516 2005  (5 vol.)
  • Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
    Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Finding Articles, Reports, Proceedings
Geology Journals - Alphabetical by title
Hydrology Journals - Alphabetical by title
Meterology Journals - Alphabetical by title
 
  • Library Search Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
    Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.
  • Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
    Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  • Gale Cengage Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
    Expanded Academic ASAP indexes 4200 journal and periodical titles and provides fulltext for another 2500 title. Provides coverage in social sciences, humanities, sciences, education, and business as well as national news, current events, and general interest topics.
  • ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
    Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
  • Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
    Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
  • Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
    Note: 1974 - present
  • Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
    Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
Finding Web Documents
  • Google USA.gov (U.S. Government's Official Web Portal)
  • Science.gov  (gateway to government science information provided by U.S. Government science agencies)
Finding USGS and MGS Maps and Publications
  • Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) Unrestricted Resource database
    Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.
    • MN and US government  documents are available in the library catalog. Search topic and then, on right side of screen, under Genre subjeading, limit to Maps.
    • Maps with library catalog call numbers (example: MAPS G4141) are located in gray map cases on 1st Floor West.
    • USGS maps are in gray map cases on 1st Floor West, organized alphabetically by state and then map name.
  • Minnesota Geological Survey (MGS)  On left navigation bar, click Data and Publications or MGS/USGS - State Map Program.
  • United States Geological Survey (USGS)  On top navigation tabs, click Maps, Imagery, and Publications.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Getting Help with Research
Interlibrary Loan
1. On Library homepage, click on the Borrow, Request, Renew link
2.  And then the Interlibrary Loan link 
3. Login using your StarID and password
4. Fill out form.
5. Be sure to check the copyright agreement box.
6. Click Submit Request.
9. Watch your HuskyNet email for the article PDF.
RefWorks
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

RefWorks - Quick Start Guide

Geological Society of America 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University