The Library at St. Cloud State University

Explore Your Topic
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook

CREDO provides online access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is a good place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a topic.

Find Journal Articles in Library Databases
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

National Archeological Database
Inventory of more than 300,000 reports on archeological planning and investigation; many of these reports had limited production and may be difficult to obtain or borrow. Last update was 2004. Also provides access to the NADB-MAPS Library showing distibutions of cultural and environmental resources in the US.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present

Search Tips:
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Find Books and Other Resources
 
The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS

Books on Anthropology are located in the basement west of the Miller Center at the call number GN, though books on specific cultures and peoples may be located at different call numbers.  

 
Find Web Resources
ABZU: Guide to Resources for the Study of the Ancient Near East
Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.

American Anthropological Association (AAA)
Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology.

American Folklife Center
The American Folklife Center was created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present American folklife" through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibitions, publications, and training. Designated by the U.S. Congress as the national center for folklife documentation and research, the American Folklife Center continues to collect and document living traditional culture, while preserving for the future its unparalleled collections in the state-of-the-art preservation facilities of the Library of Congress.

Department of Anthropology
Research and resouces from the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History. 

Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR’s use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data.  

Digital Archive Network for Anthropology and World Heritage
Contains an array of textual, metric, and visual information about human heritage objects.

Folklife Wiki
The Folklore Wiki includes a wealth of information, including links to other sites of interest, as well as original, full-text sources of information and images.  From the American Folklife Society.  

National Anthropological Archives (NAA)
The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives in the department of Anthropology, Collections and Archives Program collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology.

Smithsonian Libraries
Smithsonian Libraries provide the Institution’s museums and research centers with resources and services that are as diverse and deep as the collections, exhibits, and scholarship they support. They truly span the range of scientific and cultural pursuits of humanity from aerospace, anthropology, and art history to business history and botany, cultural history, design, philately, zoology, and much, much more.

U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Featured Books
Anthropology of the arts : a reader
N72.A56 A58 2017 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A comprehensive introduction to the anthropology of the arts, this is the first textbook to go beyond visual art to cover the arts more broadly. Drawing together media such as painting, sound, performance, video, and film, it presents a clear overview of the cross-cultural human experience of art. 


Bone rooms : from scientific racism to human prehistory in museums
CC79.5.H85 R43 2016 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This book explores human remains as objects for research and display in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Influenced by early skull collectors such as Samuel George Morton, zealous scientists at museums in the United States established human skeletal collections. Museums such as the Smithsonian Institution, the American Museum of Natural History, and the Field Museum of Natural History established their own collections. Universities soon followed, with bones collected for Penn, Berkeley, and Harvard. American Indian remains collected from the American West arrived at museums at an increasingly fervent pace, and the project swiftly became global in scope.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday:10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Related Guides

Social Studies 

Provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.

History (World)
Sociology
Career Information
Careers in Anthropology from the American Anthropological Association (AAA)

Career Services Center
St. Cloud State's Career Services Center works with students to clarify academic major and career aspirations, identify internship and employment opportunities, and offer advising and support at every stage of career development.

CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the US Department of Labor, this resource provides comprehensive, up-to-date, and reliable information on careers and job opportunities. The site is organized into six major areas: Explore Careers, Salary & Benefits, Education & Training, Job Search, Resumes & Interviews, and People & Places to Help. Also contains valuable links to One-Stop Career Centers located in all 50 states.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Citing Sources
AAA Style Guide
From the American Anthropological Assocaiton.  AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style (15th edition, 2003) and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (11th edition, 2006). This guide is an outline of style rules basic to our journal editing. Where no rule is present in this guide, follow Chicago.  

Citation Styles

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
 
Previous Featured Books
Anthropology confronts the problems of the modern world
GN29 .L4813 2013 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This first English translation of lectures Claude Lévi-Strauss delivered in Tokyo in 1986 synthesizes his ideas about structural anthropology, critiques his earlier writings on civilization, and assesses the dilemmas of cultural and moral relativism, including economic inequality, religious fundamentalism, and genetic and reproductive engineering.


Anthropology of religion : the basics
GN470 .B488 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
An accessible and engaging introductory text organized around key issues that all anthropologists of religion face. This book uses a wide range of historical and ethnographic examples to address not only what is studied by anthropologists of religion, but how such studies are approached.  

Digging the disappeared: forensic science after atrocity
GN69.8 .R67 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The mass graves from our long human history of genocide, massacres, and violent conflict form an underground map of atrocity that stretches across the planet's surface. In the past few decades, due to rapidly developing technologies and a powerful global human rights movement, the scientific study of those graves has become a standard facet of post-conflict international assistance.   

Negotiating culture : heritage, ownership, and intellectual property
CC135 .N44 2013 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This provocative collection of essays--a series of case studies in cultural ownership by scholars from a range of fields--explores issues of cultural heritage and intellectual property in a variety of contexts, from contests over tangible artifacts as well as more abstract forms of culture such as language and oral traditions to current studies of DNA and genes that combine nature and culture, and even new, nonproprietary models for the sharing of digital technologies. }


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University