The Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for ART 198
art
Finding Books
The SCSU Library's online catalog: Books and More Catalog
You may also want to try the Advanced Search function in order to narrow and define your search.

Hints for finding books about art and artists:

For books written BY an artist (letters, autobiography, notebook, diary, or books with many illustrations by an artist, etc.), try an author search:
Authors (last name first): O'Keeffe, Georgia
Authors (last name first): Picasso, Pablo

For books ABOUT an artist, try a keyword search:
Keyword: Picasso biography
Keyword: Picasso criticism

For books with images, try a keyword search:
Keyword: pictorial and city
Keyword: prints and frankenthaler

Before going to look for the book for checkout, you might want to look at the library catalog record to make sure the book includes images. Click the "Description" tab near the bottom of the record, then look for the abbreviations, "ill." or "illus." These mean "illustrated."


 
Finding Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Art Full Text
Note: For articles published from 1929-1984, use the print version of Art Index, available on the Miller Center Reference Index Shelves.

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
More than 41,000 scholarly articles covering all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes numerous links to other Web resources including images.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
Finding Art Images


CAMIO Restricted Resource elm Resource contains imagesdatabase
A growing online collection of images documenting works of art from around the world. Images cover photographs, prints, sculpture, paintings, decorative arts, costume and jewelry, textiles, architecture and more. Images may be used for educational and research purposes, but may not be published or otherwise distributed.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

Reference Collection Resources on Art
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Dictionary of Art
REF N31.D5 (35 vols.) Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This 35-volume set covers all matters of art.

Book of Art
REF N31 .B6 Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A pictorial encyclopedia of painting, drawing and sculpture. Volumes are divided by geographical region and time period and include information on specific artists and their works.

Browse in the N section in the Reference Collection.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University