The Library at St. Cloud State University

ART 436: International Modernisms (Leung)

Library Resources for Research



Albers, Josef. Variant/Adobe. 1956. The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation, Bethany, CT. ARTstor. Web. 5 Oct. 2015.
Explore your topic
Search for background and overview information on your topic. Search includes Grove Art Online, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia:
 

Search Oxford Art Online

Find scholarly journal articles in Art
Art Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, including full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. Also provides indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Note: For articles published from 1929-1984, use the print version of Art Index, available on the Miller Center Reference Index Shelves.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
Grey Room:
Grey Room is a scholarly journal devoted to the theorization of modern and contemporary architecture, 
art, media, and politics. Full text access in JSTOR from Autumn 2000 to Fall 2009.
 
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Grey Room:
Same journal as above, but full text access in Academic Search Premier is from Fall 2000- Fall 2014

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.
 
Differences between journals and magazines
Finding specific journals
Journal Titles
When you already have the bibliographical information of an article, use the above link to search for the journal name.

Here is a handout on how to look for an article when you already have the citation: Known Article Search

You can also use this search to look for a specific journal to see which database it is in and/or how the library owns it.
Find images


CAMIO Restricted Resource elm Resource contains imagesdatabase
A growing online collection of images documenting works of art from around the world. Images cover photographs, prints, sculpture, paintings, decorative arts, costume and jewelry, textiles, architecture and more. Images may be used for educational and research purposes, but may not be published or otherwise distributed.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

Questions about Research?
Research consultation
I would be happy to meet with you for an individualized research consultation. Research consultations are intended to give you in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for your project. Please complete the form on our Ask a Librarian page to schedule a consultation.
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Art books located 3rd floor, Miller Center
map

Miller Center 3rd Floor

All art books are on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center Library.

Art book call numbers start with:

N = visual arts
NA = architecture
NB = sculpture
NC = drawing, design, illustration
ND = painting
NE = print media
NK = decorative arts
NX = arts in general

Oversized art books, regardless of call number, are located on the far west end of the Ns near the NXs.
WorldCat
WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
Interlibrary Loan
On Library homepage, select Borrow, Request, Renew to find the Interlibrary Loan link:
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/library/borrow/interlibrary.aspx
  • From the above link select Request an article for articles SCSU Library does not own. (For books SCSU does not own, select Request a book.)
  • Login using your StarID and password.
  • Fill out the required fields of the form. 
  • Be sure to check the copyright agreement box.
  • Select Submit Request. Watch your SCSU email for information about your request.
Research Guides and Style Manuals
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
RefWorks
RefWorksRefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University