The Library at St. Cloud State University

Athletic Training

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Coaching Science Abstracts database
A subject-oriented directory to lengthy abstracts of research articles for practicing coaches and others interested in applied sport science.
note: 1995 to present
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
PubMed database
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource findit database
SPORTDiscus provides comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sports, fitness and related disciplines; does not contain fulltext but may link to the fulltext of articles in other sources.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences
Print Location: REF GV558 .D53 1991
Check availability
Dictionary intended for professionals and students of various disciplines involved in the exercise and sport sciences, e.g., biomechanics, exercise physiology, and sport psychology. Excludes dance, physical education, research, design, statistics, sports medicine, and specific sports. Entries give word or phrase and brief, explanatory definition. Cross references.
Encyclopedia of Sport Sciences and Medicine
Print Location: GV701 .E5x
Check availability
Published by American College of Sports Medicine, this classic encyclopedia (1971) includes articles on sports, emotions, growth and development, prevention, rehabilitation, safety and protection.
Encyclopedia of Sports Science
Print Location: REF GV558 .E53 1997
Check availability
2 volume set includes physiological aspects of sports. Most entries include bibliographical references. Index.
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
Print Location: REF GV 436 .F53 2007
Check availability
Comprehensive information on basic consumer health information about the physical and mental benefits of fitness, including cardiorespiratory endurance, muscular strength, muscular endurance, and flexibility, with facts about sports nutrition and exercise-related injuries and tips about physical activity and exercises for people of all ages and for people with health concerns; along with advice on selecting and using exercise equipment, maintaining exercise motivation, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of resources for more help and information
Sports Injuries Sourcebook
Print Location: REF RD97 .S736 1999
Check availability
Basic consumer health information about common sports injuries, prevention of injuries, tips for training and rehabilitation. Includes information for children as well as senior athletes.
Sports Market Place
Print Location: REF HD9992 .U5 S667 1995
Check availability
Guide to more than 10,000 sports organizations, teams, corporate sponsors, sports agents, marketing and event management agencies, media, manufacturers and retailers.

  Websites

MedlinePlus database
MedlinePlus is a source for consumer information about over 700 diseases, their symptoms and treatment options. It includes a medical encyclopedia and dictionary. MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other governmental agencies.
SIRC SportQuest
SIRC SportQuest is a bibliographic database producer of sport, fitness, and sports medicine information. Use the site search engine to locate fulltext articles and other publications. Some search features require an individual user subscription.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University