The Library at St. Cloud State University

Business - Statistics

Databases
Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
Reports for over 6,000 companies, mutual funds, ETFs and company shares listed on Standard & Poor's 500 stock market index. Reports for the Russell 2000 and other stock market indexes are also available. The database includes access to articles, interviews, and videos. 



STATSnetBASE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
STATSnetBASE is part of the CRCnetBASE collection and provides access to over 390 e-books that span over 40 subjects. The collection allows access to full text handbooks, references, and monographs published by CRC Press. Each subject specialized collection is updated with the latest e-books as they are published.
United States business statistics
U.S. Economic Census Unrestricted Resource
The U.S. Economic Census offers detailed statistics and information on all aspects of business and industry in the United States, including retail trade, manufacturing, and other sectors.
 

U. S. Census - Economic Data and Information
A list of all Census surveys pertaining to economic and business data. Surveys are organized and presented by topic, including construction, employment, foreign trade, manufacturing, and so forth.
 

 

Bureau of Economic Analysis Unrestricted Resource
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. (Website)

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED II) Unrestricted Resource
Database of over 2900 U.S. economic time series. Data can be downloaded into Microsoft Excel.

Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) Unrestricted Resource
Contains links to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.

Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis Unrestricted Resource
The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks that, together with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System, the central bank of the United States. Click "Economic Research" in the menu bar for policy papers and an historical research archive, and "Regional Economy" for data and forcasts.

Council of Economic Advisors, Executive Office of the President Unrestricted Resource
The Council of Economic Advisors is an agency within the White House administration that advises the President on issues related to domestic and international economic policy. The Council is tasked with presenting objective and unbiased policy research and recommendations. Click "Fact Sheets and Reports," "Economic Report" and "Economic Indicators" in the menu for white papers, the annual Economic Report of the President, and economic indicators such as GDP, income, prices, securities markets, and other statistics. 

 
International business statistics
DataBank (World Bank) Unrestricted Resource
From the webpage: "DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries, generate tables, charts and maps, and easily save, embed and share them." Includes links to several topical subdatabases, among them World Development Indicators, Doing Business, Quarterly Public Sector Debt, and others. 

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data Unrestricted Resource
From the website: "The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available."

LABORSTA Unrestricted Resource
Free data from the International Labour Organisation. Annual statistics from over 200 countries on employment and unemployment, wages and salaries, consumer price indices, and other statistics related to labor and employment. Also included: information on on-the-job injuries, strikes and lockouts.

World Development Indicators Unrestricted Resource
Social, economic and environmental statistics, available by country. Data reports can be organized by time or series. An extensive data archive is also available.

International Statistical Agencies (from the US Census) Unrestricted Resource
Selected statistical information about the nations of the world, published by the agencies responsible for assembling statistics for each nation.
 
Time series and data sets
ECONdata Unrestricted Resource
This website provides links to thousands of resources with economic data collections by region. It's a good resource for time series, data sets, rankings, forecasts, and so forth.

EconoMagic.com Unrestricted Resource
Free economic time series data, mostly from United States government sources, but with some international governments, intergovernmental organizations, and trade associations sources as well.

Quandl Unrestricted Resource
Quandl is a free service that compiles financial and economic data from multiple online sources, then allows the user to download, format and manipulate the data in over 20 different formats, including Excel, Python, Mathematica, and Matlab. It requires a one-time, free registration for use.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Market data
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5415.M37x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A compilation of market share statistics on companies, products and services, drawn from periodical sources providing a unique source of data for competitive analysis and marketing research. Indexed by SIC code, brand name, product category or company name. Most recent five years are in Reference; older editions are located in the Main Collection.



SRDS Media Solutions Advertising Sources Restricted Resource database
The Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS) is a collection of databases offering information of interest to advertising and marketing students, including the Business Media Advertising Source and Consumer Media Advertising Source. Most importantly, SRDS offers access to Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions, the online replacement for the print resource, Lifestyle Market Analyst.  

 
Demographics
U.S. Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
 
American FactFinder Unrestricted Resource
Tables and maps of most recent demographic and economic data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns, American Indian reservations, metropolitan areas, zip codes, census tracts, blocks, and more. Produced by the US Census Bureau.

American Community Survey Unrestricted Resource
Provides up-to-date statistical summaries based on US Census data for states, selected cities(with populations greater than 65,000) and counties. Similar to the American FactFinder.

U.S. Census and Demographic Information: Census Introduction
A terrific guide from the University of Michigan Library on how to find and use information from the U.S. Census. Includes sections on finding historical Census information, creating maps, and citing Census data.

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University