The Library at St. Cloud State University

Biotechnology

Library Resources for Research
Articles and Databases
Agricola (Agriculture)
Index to articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Also search the online catalog of the National Agriculture Library.
bioRxiv
"a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences."
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Index with full text for more than 200 journals in biology, mathematics, physics, geology, and basic checmistry. Designed primarily for use in introductory courses.
IEEE Xplore Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search for journal articles, transactions, conference proceedings, etc. of IEEE, IEE and affiliated societies. Use Interlibrary Loan to get items we do not own (you will get message in upper left corner, "The content you requested is not included in your subscription")
Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Reference and Facts

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference


Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Contains complete, up-to-date definitions for all areas of science and technology. The Dictionary is designed for use by practising scientists and professionals in all scientific fields - consultants and technical personnel; high school, college, and graduate students; writers, researchers, or educators working with a scientific vocabulary; and general readers interested in science.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Encyclopedia of Life
A unique collaboration between scientists and technologists to provide authoritative information about the 1.8 million species, flora and fauna, known to science.
Online Biology Book
Free college-level introductory biology textbook with thousands of images.
SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Web Resources
Bioinformatics  
Genes, Proteins, and Sequence Analysis - University of Michigan Library
BioLinkDirect
 "...a life sciences portal, linking you to worldwide company websites"
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
Comprehensive, peer-reviewed toxicology data for about 5,000 chemicals.
LifeScience Alley/MNBIO
Association of health care, medical technology and biosciences industries in Minnesota.
Microbes.info: Microbiology Information Portal
View images, read articles and recent news items about microbiology, virology and disease.
USDA's Agricultural Biotechnology
United States Department of Agriculture web site with research, laws and regulations, trade and more.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Images, Video, Digital Media, and Experiement
JoVE Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Provides access to thousands of video "articles" from top research institutions around the world, each demonstrating an experimental technique or procedure. Topics covered include Biology, Chemistry, Applied Physics, Bioengineering, Environment, and Science Education.
Big Picture Book of Viruses
View images of viruses by name, structure/genome, host or disease.
Bridgeman Images: Science and Medicine
A wide array of images from The Bridgeman Art Library.  Topic areas include astronomy, illness/disease, general science, scientific equipment and more...
iBioSeminars
"The world's leaders in biology present lectures that start with broad introductions and then progress to research questions and experiments."
Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
Government Information
Biotechnology Industry Organization
Biotechnology lobbying group for biotechnology industry.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
A huge government web site that focuses on biological and medical research. Includes biotechnology databases, human and animal gene sequencing, and much more.
USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Council of Science Editors (CSE) Scientific Style
Guide from Colorado State University gives explanations and examples of citing using CSE scientific style.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work.  To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University