The Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Resources for Research
Articles and Databases
bioRxiv
"a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences."
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Index with full text for more than 200 journals in biology, mathematics, physics, geology, and basic checmistry. Designed primarily for use in introductory courses.
PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals

Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Reference and Facts

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference


Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Contains complete, up-to-date definitions for all areas of science and technology. The Dictionary is designed for use by practising scientists and professionals in all scientific fields - consultants and technical personnel; high school, college, and graduate students; writers, researchers, or educators working with a scientific vocabulary; and general readers interested in science.

Collins Dictionary of Biology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
A biology dictionary recently updated to include advancing science and genetics.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology Restricted Resource
The first comprehensive reference work for this expanding field. Covering more than fifty central terms and concepts in entries written by leading experts, Keywords offers an overview of all that is embraced by this new subdiscipline of biology, providing the core insights and ideas that show how embryonic development relates to life-history evolution, adaptation, and responses to and integration with environmental factors.
SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Web Resources
Biology Project
"Welcome to The Biology Project, an interactive online resource for learning biology developed at the University of Arizona"
CELLS alive!
 "CELLS alive! represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research"
American Society of Cell Biology
"ASCB is an inclusive, international community of biologists studying the cell, the findamental unit of life."
Cell Biology (The Biology Project)
Learn about cells in a virtual microscope lab including phases of cell cycle and more.
Stem Cell Resources.org
"The mission of Stem Cell Resources is to provide timely, reliable, high-quality and scientifically credible stem cell information for the educational community worldwide."
Note: 2007 - present
World Index of Molecular Visualization Resources
Find websites with biochemical/chemical structures, with an emphasis on interactive and grafphical displays.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Images, Video, Digital Media, and Experiments
JoVE Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Provides access to thousands of video "articles" from top research institutions around the world, each demonstrating an experimental technique or procedure. Topics covered include Biology, Chemistry, Applied Physics, Bioengineering, Environment, and Science Education.
Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
Microscopic World : Nanoworld Image Gallery - The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
An image gallery containing electron microscopy of biological and health sciences images
Online Biology Book
Free college-level introductory biology textbook with thousands of images.
The Cell: An Image Library
"This highly interactive site features still images, videos, and animation derived from the recent literature, as well as classic microscopic from earlier studies."
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Council of Science Editors (CSE) Scientific Style
Guide from Colorado State University gives explanations and examples of citing using CSE scientific style.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work.  To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University