The Library at St. Cloud State University

CEEP 650 - Rehabilitation Orientation and Ethics

Library Resources for Community Counseling
Exploring Your Topic

The following resources can be used to explore and find background information about your topic...


Blackwell Companions to Philosophy: A Companion to Bioethics Restricted Resource
"...reflects the current issues and developments in the field, covers all the material that the reader needs to thoroughly grasp the ideas and debates involved in bioethics."

Blackwell Philosophy Guides: The Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics Restricted Resource
"The Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics is a guide to the complex literature written on the increasingly dense topic of ethics in relation to the new technologies of medicine.Examines the key ethical issues and debates which have resulted from the rapid advances in biomedical technology."

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

This edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect all developments in psychology that have occurred since the publication of the second edition.  It provides comprehensive coverage from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.



Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5
REF RC455.2.C4 D536 2013 Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. (Description from American Psychiatric Association.) The library has two copies, one in Reference Collection and the other on 2-hour Reserve at the Circulation Desk (ask for MC 003).
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Academic Search Premier
Finding Journal Articles and Research
The following databases may be used to find both primary and secondary research

Alcohol Studies Database Unrestricted Resource
"This site provides access to the Alcohol Studies Database.  The database contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials."

National Rehabilitation Research Center Unrestricted Resource
"REHAB data, produced by the National Rehabilitation Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities"

PILOTS Database Restricted Resource database
Citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental health issues related to traumatic events.
Note: 1871 - present

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource database
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."

Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Bioethics Web Sites
bioethics.net
bioethics.net "...publishes information on the latests journal publications, events, job opportunities, and current news.

Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University
"The Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University is a destination library for bioethics scholars worldwide..."  The library allows you to explore a wide range of biothics topics and provides links to articles, blogs, and informative websites.

The Hastings Center
"The Center's mission is to address fundamental ethical issues in the areas of health, medicine, and the environment as they affect individuals, communities, and societies." The site contains articles, reports, and books on a wide variety of topics."

NIH - Bioethics Information Resources
Electronic resource links from the National Library of Medicine
 
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU. ‚Äč
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University