The Library at St. Cloud State University

CFS 422: Family Studies: Parent Involvement

Library Resources for CFS 422
Finding scholarly journal articles
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Journals published by National Council on Family Relations are all available full text through SCSU library databases Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
This database complements ERIC by providing fulltext to about 1100 journals indexed in ERIC, as well as about a dozen standard reference titles related to Education--such as the encyclopedias of Education, Educational Leadership and Administration, Sociology, and Psychology. Covers all levels and areas of Education.


Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present


Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.


Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   


FindIt!  This software checks all SCSU library databases to locate full text of articles. If full text is not available, read the screen to see if the library has a copy in another format (bound volumes, microfiche, recent issues) or if you need to use interlibrary loan to get a copy.
Tips for Database Searching
​1. Limits: To focus your search, use database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date and publication type such as peer-reviewed journals.

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are displayed -- many databases sort by relevance rather than by date.

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic.

4. Get an Article: If the full text of the article is not available in the database you're searching, use 

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search.

For more tips, watch "How Can I Develop an Effective Search Strategy?"
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.

As you work on your assignment, schedule a meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic. 
Citing Sources
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue) Unrestricted Resource
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

 
Getting Background Information
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Finding Scholarly Articles on the Job
After you receive your degree, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your public library to log on to these databases. You will have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota Unrestricted Resource database
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; eBooks (electronic books); and information from other reference sources via a selection of databases.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University