The Library at St. Cloud State University

CFS 635: Parenthood and Adult Development

Library Resources for CFS 635
Getting Background Information
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Includes definitions as well as lengthy articles with references on wide variety of social science research topics: qualitative research, quantitative research, basic statistics, ethnography, evaluation, experimental design, interviewing, longitudinal analysis, scaling, significance testing, survey design, and other related topics.
Find journal articles in library databases
FindIt!  This software checks all SCSU library databases to locate full text of articles. If full text is not available, read the screen to see if the library has a copy in another format (bound volumes, microfiche, recent issues) or if you need to use interlibrary loan to get a copy.


ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

ERIC (ProQuest) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

Using ERIC (ProQuest) to find Empirical Research pptx

 

ERIC's (ProQuest) Cited By Feature pptx


PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
 

Journals published by the National Council on Family Relations (NCFR):
 

The Journal of Marriage and Family: Abstracts are in PsycINFO with links to full-text (1964-2010) or interlibrary loan
 

Family Relations: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Applied Family Studies: Abstracts are in PsycINFO with links to full-text (1980-2010) or interlibrary loan.
 
Journal of Family Theory & Review: Abstracts are in PsycINFO with links to interlibrary loan
 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Unrestricted Resource
Login with your StarID and complete an interlibrary loan request form to order a book or article that is not available from our library. You will receive an email when your item is available for you.


Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.


Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   

​How to Use the Library Links Feature of Google Scholar pptx


Databases A-Z


Services for Distance Students

Finished your classes but not your thesis or starred paper? Graduate student accounts (for students enrolled in a master’s or doctoral program) remain active for one year after their last term of enrollment. If needed beyond this time, details on how to extend your technology services are available here.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals (CSU)
Provides general criteria that can be used to distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines, and scholarly journals.

Popular vs. Scholarly Articles: A Guide and Tutorial
A guide and interactive tutorial that helps you determine if an article is scholarly or popular. From the University of Arizona.
RefWorks
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
American Psychological Association (APA)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Citation Style from Long Island University
Color-coded examples of how to document your sources (i.e. books, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc.) in your works cited page.
APA Documentation from the University of Wisconsin
Provides examples to help you format your paper, document in-text citations, and prepare your reference list in APA style.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue)
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

Research consultation
As you work on your culminating project, I encourage you to meet with me for a research consultation. Research consultations provide in-depth guidance in finding the best resources for your topic. Please complete the form on our Ask a Librarian page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University