The Library at St. Cloud State University

Community Health

Library Resources for Research
Articles and Databases
Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc. Coverage: 1937 - present
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
National Library of Medicine - NIH Health Databases
A wide variety of databases from the National Library of Medicine.  Includes PubMed, AIDSInfo, Clinical Trials and many more.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
 The premier index for scholarly articles relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
PubMed Unrestricted Resource database
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Reference and Facts

Search for reference information on your topic in CREDO Reference


Black's Medical Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
A comprehensive medical dictionary, contains 5000+ definitions and medical terms
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease Restricted Resource eref ebook
"An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease."
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
An extensive medical dictionary with 1000+ photographs and illustrations
Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
CHC is a comprehensive reference resource covering topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, etc. The emphasis is on consumer rather than scholarly information. Includes fulltext from journals and specialized encyclopedias, as well as images, videos, and animations.
Encyclopedia of Family Health Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This encyclopedia contains "approximately 350 signed articles written by experts from such varied fields as health and nursing, social and behavioral sciences, and policy provide authoritative, cross-disciplinary coverage." 
Encyclopedia of Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
"The Encyclopedia of Global Health is a comprehensive, one stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide. Encompassing four volumes with more than 1,200 articles, the Encyclopedia covers all aspects of health..." 
Medical Encyclopedia Index - University of Maryland Medical Center
A medical encyclopedia containing: symptoms, injury, diseases, sugery, and special topics
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
Consumer information for 700+ diseases, symtoms, and treatment
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
MedlinePlus: Directories
MerckEngage
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements Restricted Resource
SAGE Handbook of Healthcare Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
Quackwatch
Images, Video, and Digital Media
Bridgeman Images: Science and Medicine
A wide array of images from The Bridgeman Art Library.  Topic areas include astronomy, illness/disease, general science, scientific equipment and more...
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Films & videos covering the topics of diseases, disorders & disabilities, health care & treatment, health careers, human anatomy and physiology, nutrition, personal health & wellness, and public health.
Images from the History of Medicine - National Library of Medicine
"...provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
Medical Picture Gallery - Hardin.MD - University of Iowa
Images of various diseases and conditions.
MedlinePlus: Video and Cool Tools
"...health videos on topics such as human anatomy, surgical procedures, health news, interactive tutorials, games, calculators and quizzes."
CDC - Public Health Image Library
An image library Including "Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files"
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Public Health - Statistics and Data
Agency for Healthcare and Research Quality (AHRQ) - Data, Statistics, & Tools
"Largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States."
 CDC Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The world's largest telephone survey, BRFSS tracks health risks in the U.S.. Individual states and territories use this data to create policies and initiatives for health-related goals.
CDC Data and Statistics
Portal for access to all public health data and statistical sites developed through the CDC.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The primary health statistics agency in the U.S.. Statistics include accidents, birth, and growth rates in addition to leading causes of death, mortality health status, and disease indicidences. 
CDC State or Territorial Health Departments
Links to all state and territorial health departments in the U.S.
CDC Injury Prevention & Control: Data and Statistics (WISQARS)
"CDC's WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources"
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
"The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income and teen births in nearly every county in America"
FedStats
More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public.
Global Health Observatory
"The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities."
Internship Information
SCSU Career Services Others
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles and RefWorks
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography. Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University