The Library at St. Cloud State University

Children's Literature

L:ibrary resources for Children's Literature
The Miller Center Library has a Juvenile Collection (birth through early high school) of more than 20,000 books on the 3rd floor.

Students from many majors can effectively use children's books: Elementary Education, Secondary Education, Special Education, Communication Sciences and Disorders, Communication Studies, Social Work, Art Education, Early Childhood Education, Information Media, and Criminal Justice are some of the majors who have used the Juvenile Collection.

Books in the Juvenile Collection are arranged by Library of Congress classification numbers, just like the rest of the Miller Center Library. Most picture books, chapter books, and novels are located in the PZ7 section. It's often easiest to find the PZ7 section and then look alphabetically by the author's last name.

Juvenile collection books will be displayed in the search results along with the other books in the library.  Or, you can limit your search to the Juvenile Collection by doing an Advanced Search for books.
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) Unrestricted Resource database
Enter desired search terms.
Under Collections list at bottom right of screen, scroll and select Juvenile Collection.
Click Find.
Results will be limited to the Juvenile Collection.
Finding articles and reviews about children's
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Book Review Digest
Miller Center Reference Index Shelves Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Provides citations to and excerpts of review of current juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language. Use AUTHOR or SUBJECT-TITLE indexes to locate information on a particular book.
Note: 1905 - present

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals from 1980 to present, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals.
Note: Electronic-1980 to present , Print -1921-1996
Fnding information about children's authors
Something About the Author Online
Print Location: REF PN451 .S6 and online
Biographical and bibliographical information on children's authors and illustrators. Often includes interviews and personal information. For the print version (in the library), use most recent cumulative index volume to determine volume of entries or look on the Web at http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
Note: 1971 to present

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
Find which books contain biographic information about individuals both living and deceased. Search more than 13.3 million biographical entries. NOTE: BGMI does not include full text. Check SCSU MnPALS to see if we have a title listed in the search results. Subscription cancelled; access ended on 30 Sept 2014.
 
Facts and background
Browse the REF collection Z 1037 - 1039 sections for a variety of books about children's literature. Representative titles include: A to Zoo: Subject Access for Children's Picture Books; Popular Series Fiction for K-6 Readers; Using Children's Literature to Learn About Illness and Disabilities.
Other local libraries
Great River Regional Library (GRRL) Unrestricted Resource
Central Minnesota public library system consisting of 33 local libraries, including the main library in St. Cloud.
Children's Collection is on the 1st floor.
Ask a Librarian

Click red box to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
Award Winning Children's Literature
  • Minnesota Children's Authors and Illustrators
    The Children's Literature Network was started in Minnesota by Minnesota children's authors, illustrators, and teachers. CLN gives you links to more information about Minnesota children's authors and illustrators.
  • Banned Books
    Most frequently challenged authors of 21st century (Amer. Library Assoc.)


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University