The Library at St. Cloud State University

Where in the World Do They Speak Chinese?
Facts, Definitions and Overviews
Cambridge Companion to Modern Chinese Culture
MAIN DS775.2 .C452 2008 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Descriptions of modern Chinese culture, overviews of religious traditions, music, sports, and more.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of China
DS705 .C35 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A one-volume, amply illustrated encyclopedia of topical essays covering all aspects of traditional and contemporary Chinese civilization.

Chinese Cultural Revolution: A History
MAIN DS778.7 .C53 2008 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
"...this book seeks to explode several myths about the Cultural Revolution (officially 1966-1976). Through national and local examination of the full range of cultural forms (film, opera, dance, other stage arts, music, fine arts, literature, and even architecture)..."

Cultural Atlas of China
REF HB235 .U6 V35 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A geographic encyclopedia and atlas of Chinese civilization. Topical essays fall into three major categories: Space (geography), Time (history), and Symbols and Society (language, religion, art, theatre, farming, medicine, etc.).

Encyclopedia of China
REF DS705 .P47 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Provides brief to moderate length alphabetic entries covering all aspects of China's history and culture, including the following categories: geography, flora and fauna, government and politics, business and economics, language and literature, religion and philosophy, arts and architecture, social structure and customs, etc.

Mcgraw-Hill's Chinese Illustrated Dictionary
MAIN PL1495 .M28 2009 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
1,500 illustrated words with Mandarin Chinese script and pinyin transliteration. 

Merriam-Webster's Chinese-English Dictionary
PL1455 .M47 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Chinese-English and English-Chinese dictionary with a character index. 


 
Books and EBooks
Confucius Institute Collection at SCSU Unrestricted Resource
Books on a variety of topics related to Chinese culture, language, and history in English, Chinese, and English/Chinese. Free to check out with SCSU ID.

Project Gutenberg: Chinese Language Unrestricted Resource ebook
Chinese books online, organized by author and title.

China's growth : The Making of an Economic Superpower
MAIN HC427.92 .Y84 2013 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Contemporary China : A History since 1978
MAIN DS779.2 .Z4364 2014 Unrestricted Resource ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
"This book provides a unique perspective on China, incorporating newly published materials from within and outside China, in English and Chinese." --Publisher's website.

Inside the Chinese Business Mind: A Tactical Guide for Managers
MAIN HD70.C5 S957 2010 Unrestricted Resource ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Presents psychological survey research from 200+ Chinese and American business people.

Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, Sales and Marketing: The Essential Cultural Guide--from Presentations and Promotions to Communicating and Closing
MAIN HF5389 .M674 2012 Unrestricted Resource ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
"...an informative, entertaining guide that shows you what to do--and what to avoid--in any given sales or marketing situation."

Syntax of Chinese
MAIN PL1241 .H855 2009 Unrestricted Resource ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A guide to modern Mandarin Chinese syntax analysis.
Multimedia
China Ethnologue Unrestricted Resource
Chinese language names, dialects, geographic areas, speaking population, and status.

China History Podcast Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
Podcasts on Chinese history organized by dynasties and additional categories.

Chinese Internet Radio Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
Online Chinese news, talk, and music radio programs.

David K. Jordin's The Chinese Language: An Overview for Beginners Unrestricted Resource
An overview of Chinese dialects, pronunciation, tones, and simplified characters.

Films on Demand: World Languages Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Online streaming videos and video segments through Films on Demand covering languages: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish.

REALIA project Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Realia (materials) that convey life in different cultures; reviewed by language faculty.

UCLA Language Materials Project for Mandarin Unrestricted Resource
Teaching resources for Mandarin Chinese.

Zhongwen Movies Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"ZhongwenMovies is an educational Chinese movie and language learning website. The videos shared are intended solely to help users learn Mandarin Chinese. We provide links to quality online programming, free study and cultural materials to advance your Chinese and just make learning fun." [from website]
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Academic Search Premier


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University