The Library at St. Cloud State University

Criminal Justice

Explore Your Topic
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook

CREDO provides online access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is a good place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a topic.

Find Journal Articles in Databases
Criminal Justice Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to criminal justice.  Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCJRS is a federally sponsored information clearinghouse for people around the country and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Materials cover the areas of: corrections, courts, drugs and crime, international, juvenile justice, law enforcement, victims of crime and statistics as well as grants and funding information.


Search Tips:

  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Find Books and Other Resources
The Miller Center Library's collection of books, videos, and more can be searched using MnPALS

Criminal Justice books are located in the Basement West of the Miller Center in the call number range HV6000 - HV9960.  

HV 6250 Victims of Crime
HV 6080 Criminal Psychology
HV 7431 Prevention of Crime
HV 7435-7439 Gun Control
HV 7935-8025 Police Administration
HV 8073-8079.35 Criminal Investigation
HV 8301-9920.7 Corrections
HV9051-9230 Juvenile Delinquency
Find Statistics
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes statistics on crimes & victims, criminal offenders, special topics, national and statement law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, expenditures and criminal records' systems. Also includes data for analysis (data sets, spread sheets, code books), and links to other relevant sources. Includes comprehensive list of published reports and surveys.

Minnesota Uniform Crime Reports
The BCA compiles a statistical report each year detailing the amount of criminal activity in the state. The data for this report is submitted by individual law enforcement agencies. The report includes offenses, clearances and arrests, as well as the number of law enforcement officers killed or assaulted, firearms discharges by law enforcement, missing children reports, police pursuits and bias offenses.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
National statistics resource compiled by the School of Criminal Justice at the University of Albany.

Uniform Crime Reports: Crime in the United States
This resource offers details on offenses, arrests, and police employment data with national totals broken down by region, state, and agency. 
Find Legal Information
FindLaw
FindLaw provides legal researchers with a sophisticated search engine to locate Web-accessible legal code and case law. Topical sub-searches for foreign domains by country, federal laws and regulations, or individual states are also available.

Legal Research and Information Web Sites (University of Minnesota)
A subject index to legal resources on the internet, courtesy of the University of Minnesota Law Library.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

Minnesota State Law Library
Search briefs and decisions of the Minnesota Appellate Courts, county and city ordinances, and more.  Includes referral guides for legal resources in every Minnesota county. 
Oranizations and Associations
American Correctional Assocaiton
For more than 143 years, the American Correctional Association has championed the cause of corrections and correctional effectiveness. Founded in 1870 as the National Prison Association, ACA is the oldest association developed specifically for practitioners in the correctional profession.

American Society of Criminology
The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.

Criminal Justice Section of the American Bar Association
Founded in 1920, the Criminal Justice Section of the American Bar Association has over 20,000 members including prosecutors, private defense counsel, appellate and trial judges, law professors, correctional and law enforcement personnel, law students, public defenders, and other criminal justice professionals.

Justice Research and Statistics Association
The Justice Research and Statistics Association is a national nonprofit organization of state Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) directors, and other researchers and practitioners throughout government, academia, and the justice community who are dedicated to the use of research and analysis to make informed policy and program decisions.

National Criminal Justice Assocaiton
The NCJA represents state, tribal, and local governments on crime prevention and crime control issues.  Its members represent all facets of the criminal and juvenile justice community, from law enforcement, corrections, prosecutions, defense, courts, victim-witness services, and educational institutions to federal, state, and local elected officials. 
Websites
CrimeSolutions.gov
The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services

Criminal Justice Links
from the Institute for Intergovernmental Research

Criminal Justice Links
from the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
Featured Books

Sentencing fragments : penal reform in America, 1975-2025
HV9471 .T653 2016 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This book explains what needs to be done to rebuild just systems of sentencing and punishment, and how to do it. It tells the story of sentencing policy changes since 1975, examines research findings concerning their effects, and explains what does and does not work.

Queer criminology
HQ73 .B85 2016 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Covering topics such as the criminalization of queerness; the policing of Queer communities; Queer experiences in the courtroom; and the correctional control of Queer people, Queer Criminology synthesizes the work of criminologists, journalists, legal scholars, non-governmental organizations, and others to illuminate the historical and contemporary context of the Queer experience.  
 
 
 
 
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday:10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Related Guides

Social Studies 

Provides resources for citing sources, writing annotated bibliographies and literature reviews, and doing Social Science research.

Citation Styles
Government Publications
Career Information
Career Center from the National Criminal Justice Association

Employment Exchange from the American Society of Criminology

Career Services Center
St. Cloud State's Career Services Center works with students to clarify academic major and career aspirations, identify internship and employment opportunities, and offer advising and support at every stage of career development.

CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the US Department of Labor, this resource provides comprehensive, up-to-date, and reliable information on careers and job opportunities. The site is organized into six major areas: Explore Careers, Salary & Benefits, Education & Training, Job Search, Resumes & Interviews, and People & Places to Help. Also contains valuable links to One-Stop Career Centers located in all 50 states.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Citing Sources
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
 
Previous Featured Books
Class, race, gender, and crime : the social realities of justice in America
HV9950 .B34 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Color behind bars : racism in the U.S. prison system
HV9471 .C645 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Exploring and understanding careers in criminal justice : a comprehensive guide
HV9950 .S545 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Media coverage of crime and criminal justice
P96.C74 R63 2014 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Unfair : the new science of criminal injustice
HV7419 .B46 2015 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability

Women doing life : gender, punishment, and the struggle for identity
HV9471 .L436 2016 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University