The Library at St. Cloud State University

Communication Studies

Library Resources for Research

Find Background Information
Credo Logo


SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
  • 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook
    A comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
  • Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
    Addresses a broad range of topics including theoretical and methodological issues that influence the study of personal relationships; individual differences and their influences on relationships; relationship processes such as cognition, emotion, and communication; environmental influences on personal relationships; and maintenance and repair of relationships.
  • Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
    A comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
  • Encyclopedia of Group Processes & Intergroup Relations
    Covers concepts ranging from conformity to diversity and from small group interaction to intergroup relations on a global scale.
Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Search Databases for Scholarly Articles
Communication & Mass Media Complete
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

ComAbstracts
The most comprehensive database for the discipline of Communications. Provides 26,000 abstracts of articles drawn from the professional literature on Communications. See also, Importing Citations from ComAbstracts into RefWorks.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Locate Important Speeches
American Rhetoric
Gateway to famous and important speeches, including fully transcribed texts and often times streaming audio, as well as useful resources on rhetoric.

Great American Speeches: 80 Years of Political Oratory Series
Key speeches by the most eloquent orators of the 20th century.

Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches
Includes essential speeches from Civil Rights leaders as diverse as Cesar Chavez, Harvey Milk, Betty Friedan, Frederick Douglass, Sojourner Truth, and Martin Luther King, Jr.

Speech Index : An Index to 259 Collections of World Famous Orations and Speeches for Various Occasions
REF AI3.S85 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
A print index to speeches included in more than 250 anthologies.
Note: 1935, 1966-1980

Vital Speeches of the Day
Offers students of public speaking examples of effective speeches by those who have attained leadership in the fields of business, politics, education, government, and more.

Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered By African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
REF E184.A1 V64 1996x Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Alphabetically organized with cross-indexing by ethnic group, this reference source provides full reproduction of notable speeches. In the case of speeches that were not written, they are produced in the vernacular along with a standard American English translation. Each entry includes a substantial biographical portrait of the individual in question and includes a bibliography.
Cite your sources
Typically, researchers in Communication Studies use APA or MLA citation styles to format their papers and reference lists.

 If your professor requires APA citation style, use this link:
 If your professor requires MLA citation style, use this link:
RefWorks
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Find Books, eBooks, Music, More


Advanced Search | Classic MnPALS

Search for Films and Video
The Library has an extensive collection of films and movies that are streaming online or available for check out.

 

Films on Demand: Communication Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on topics in interpersonal and group communication, principles of human communication, mass communications, and more.
Communication Books in the Library
Map

Miller Center Basement

Books on Communication Studies have call numbers beginning with P87 - P96 and P99

P94.7=Interpersonal communication
P95-P95.6=Oral communication
P99.5-P99.6=Nonverbal communication
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals
From Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University