The Library at St. Cloud State University

Library Subscriptions Review - Collections Task Force

FY 18 Subscription Cancellations
Colleagues—
 
After collecting feedback from you on your needs and delving into usage statistics, library faculty made difficult decisions in their final recommendations.  Interim Library Dean Keith Ewing reviewed the library faculty recommendations, recommended a few additional cancellations, and approved for cancellation the titles below.  None of the decisions were easy. To look at the entire list at once with total dollar amount cut, please click on the link below for the databases, serials (journals), and standing orders (reference titles) that will end in FY 2018. The list is also broken up on this guide by databases, serials, and standing orders. The Collection Management Task Force will provide the end dates of when the library will lose access to these resources as they are confirmed.

FY 18 Subscription Cancellations

If you or other faculty have any major questions or concerns, especially for any potential critical affect upon your teaching or student research that cannot be mitigated by the availability of other resources, please describe your concerns in an email to library@stcloudstate.edu.

As noted previously, a more detailed evaluation ending in recommendations for additional cuts will occur during Fall semester for cancellations to occur in FY2019.  These cuts are are required as a result of both cuts in the University budget allocations and increases in annual subscription rates.  If you would like additional information about the subscription rate increases, please contact the above email address.
 
We appreciate your assistance, patience, and support throughout this process.  We would not have accomplished as much as we have without your input.  My many thanks to the library faculty on the task force and to faculty across campus who participated in the survey and shared their concerns.
 
Thank you.
FY 18 Cancelled Databases
Format Resource Title Print/Online
(P/O)
Approved Reduction Total Continued Access Notes
Database ABI/INFORM (HSB Negotiation) O 18,897.12  
Database Alexander Street Press (ASP) Premium Video Collection O 0.00  
Database Associated Press (AP) Images O 4,454.00  
Database Cabell Publishing  O 0.00  
Database CREDO Reference Collection for Business O 2,627.00  
Database CREDO Reference Subject Collection for Criminal Justice O 1,704.00  
Database CREDO Reference Subject Collection for Economics O 1,814.00  
Database CREDO Reference Subject Collection for Gender and Womens Studies O 1,915.00  
Database CREDO Reference Subject Collection for Philosophy O 2,439.00  
Database Opposing Viewpoints  O 5,900.00  
Database Westlaw/Campus Research O 3,150.17  
FY 18 Cancelled Serials
Format Resource Title Print/Online
(P/O)
Approved Reduction                 Total Continued Access Notes
Serial Adbusters  P 100.00  
Serial Advertising Age P 113.00 Remains available w/no delay through ELM (ASP, BSC, CMMC, Gale Cengage) and LexisNexis.
Serial Ageing International (English ed) O 568.00  
Serial American Business Law Journal O 799.00  
Serial American Journal of Economics and Sociology O 258.00  
Serial American Philosophical Quarterly O 343.00  
Serial American Scientist P 84.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile).
Serial Analysis (England) O 250.00  
Serial Architectural Record (McGraw Hill) P 76.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, BSC, Masterfile).
Serial Art Education P 129.00  
Serial Astronomy P 51.95 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Automotive News P 159.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Backpacker P 36.98 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Masterfile, Gale Cengage) and Sportdiscus.
Serial Beijing Review = Pei-Ching Chou Pao - North American ed P 84.00  
Serial Bicycling P 29.98 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Masterfile, Gale Cengage) and Sportdiscus.
Serial Booklist P 180.50 Remains available with 14-day delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Canadian Journal of Economics O 361.20  
Serial Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences O 1,666.00  
Serial Ceramics Monthly P 62.97 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile).
Serial China Pictorial (English ed) P 69.60  
Serial Christian Century P 75.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Christian Science Monitor (Domestic ed) P 122.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile).
Serial Comparative Literature O 179.00  
Serial Critical Asian Studies O 354.00  
Serial Critical Studies in Media Communication O 420.00  
Serial Current History P 88.95  
Serial Design Issues P 481.00  
Serial Discover P 33.95  
Serial Dollars & Sense P 48.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Domus (Italy) P 171.59  
Serial Earth P 212.00  
Serial Earth First! (The Radical Envoronmental Journal) P 40.00  
Serial Ebony P 26.00  
Serial Economic History Review O 649.00  
Serial Educational Studies O 629.00  
Serial Essays in Criticism O 365.00  
Serial Families in Society O 262.00  
Serial Feminist Teacher O 140.00 Remains available with no delay through Project Muse.
Serial Forbes P 62.95 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC).
Serial Futurist P 0.00  
Serial Generations, The Journal of the American Society on Aging O 129.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP and Masterfile).
Serial Geology O 1,010.00  
Serial Golf P 26.95 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile) and SportDiscuss.
Serial Good Housekeeping P 29.97 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile).
Serial Harper's Magazine (Regular ed) P 30.00  
Serial Health P 26.97 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile).
Serial History of Education Quarterly O 214.00  
Serial HRMagazine (VA) P 71.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC).
Serial Innovation (IDSA - VA) P 100.00  
Serial Jerusalem Report P 99.00  
Serial Journal of Accountancy P 75.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC, Gale Cengage). 
Serial Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism O 296.00  
Serial Journal of American Culture O 324.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP). 
Serial Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology O 710.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP). 
Serial Journal of Asian Studies O 256.00  
Serial Journal of Clinical Psychology O 1,382.00  
Serial Journal of Consumer Affairs O 587.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, BSC, Gale Cengage).
Serial Journal of Creative Behavior O 394.00  
Serial Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology P 65.63 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile).
Serial Journal of Drug Education O 500.00  
Serial Journal of Economic Issues O 207.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC).
Serial Journal of Financial Service Professionals P 130.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC).
Serial Journal of International Marketing O 275.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC).
Serial Journal of Labor Research  O 565.00  
Serial Journal of Popular Culture O 401.00  
Serial Journal of Public Policy & Marketing O 154.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (BSC, Comm&Mass Media). 
Serial Journal of Short Film DVD 0.00  
Serial Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry P 943.00  
Serial Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences O 990.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP). 
Serial Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute O 1,066.00  
Serial Language Arts P 240.00  
Serial Law & Society Review O 532.00  
Serial Learning Communities Journal O 264.00  
Serial Library Collections Acquisitons and Technical Services O 0.00  
Serial Literary Review (NJ) P 47.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial MacLeans P 70.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, BSC, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Mind, Brain and Education O 333.00  
Serial Mother Jones P 35.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage). 
Serial Multilingua O 590.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Comm and Mass Media).
Serial Nation New York (NY - with Index) P 114.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile)
Serial Natural History P 41.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage). 
Serial New England Quarterly O 117.00  
Serial New Internationalist P 54.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile). 
Serial New Republic P 82.97 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, BSC, Masterfile). 
Serial New Yorker P 99.99 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Nineteenth-Century Literature O 205.00  
Serial Novel O 137.00  
Serial October (MA) O 255.00  
Serial Palaestra O 210.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Gale Cengage) and SPORTDiscus.
Serial Physics Today O 567.00  
Serial Pioneer America Society Material P 105.00  
Serial Political Quarterly O 589.00  
Serial Popular Mechanics P 31.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile).  
Serial Popular Music O 436.00  
Serial Preservation Digital Technology & Culture O 491.00  
Serial Preventing School Failure O 336.00  
Serial Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America O 2,940.00  
Serial Professional Photographer (GA) P 30.95  
Serial Progressive P 52.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Psychology Today P 30.97 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Public Budgeting & Finance O 521.00  
Serial Reference & User Services Quarterly O 80.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Library Lit, Gale Cengage).  
Serial Rolling Stone P 39.96 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile).  
Serial Royal Institute of Philosophy package, comes with RI Supplement, Think, and Philosophy O 767.00  
Serial School Librarian P 164.38 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Gale Cengage).
Serial School Library Journal P 144.99 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Library Lit, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Science Education O 2,160.00  
Serial Scientic American O 0.00  
Serial Skeptical Inquirer P 46.00  
Serial Ski P 24.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Masterfile) and SportDiscuss.  
Serial Sky & Telescope P 50.95  
Serial Smithsonian P 46.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).  
Serial Social Education P 128.00  
Serial Society O 551.00  
Serial Speculum : Journal of Medieval Studies O 213.00  
Serial Sports Illustrated P 88.95 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile) and SportDiscus.  
Serial Studies in Family Planning O 218.00  
Serial Teaching Philosophy P 96.00  
Serial Theoria O 440.00  
Serial Time - microfiche Microfiche 546.24  
Serial Time (Domestic edition) P 77.13 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, BSC, Masterfile).
Serial Utne Reader P 36.00  
Serial Variety P 329.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Masterfile, Gale Cengage).
Serial Vogue P 33.95 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Gale Cengage). 
Serial Weather Forecasting O 365.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP).  
Serial Woman's Art Journal P 125.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (Gale Cengage).
Serial World Literature Today O 149.00 Remains available with no delay through ELM (ASP, Masterfile, Gale Cengage).  
Serial Z Magazine P 65.00  
       
FY 18 Cancelled Standing Orders
Standing Order Accounting Trends & Techniques P 167.47
Standing Order Annual Statement Studies P 382.00
Standing Order Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research P 275.00
Standing Order Hoover's Complete Handbook Set (American Business, World Business, Private Companies, Emerging Companies) P 869.00
Standing Order International Directory of Company Histories P 4,561.80
Standing Order PPC's Guide to Auditor's Reports P 277.75
Standing Order PPC's Guide to Audits of Nonpublic Companies P 340.00
Standing Order Principal International Businesses Directory P 1,245.00
Standing Order Wiley CPA Exam Review: Auditing & Attestation P 0.00
Standing Order Wiley CPA Exam Review: Business Environment & Concepts P 0.00
Standing Order Wiley CPA Exam Review: Financial Accounting & Reporting P 0.00
Standing Order Wiley CPA Exam Review: Regulation P 0.00
The Big Picture

On Increasing Costs Over Time

The increasing cost of academic journals--a problem that every university library faces--is outpacing the national rate of inflation. One can follow the trend from this chart, provided by the University of California Santa Barbara's "Budget Challenges" subject guide, and reproducd in the University of Maryland "Why Do We Have to Cut Journals?" subject guide:
 


A recent Library Journal article providing more information about the rising cost of journals, as well as the average cost per journal by discipline, may be found here.

 

On the state of St. Cloud State University Library in Particular (derived from SCSU Library data):

In FY 2008, serials and databases made up 80% of the SCSU University Library budget. Over time, costs continued to rise, but funds became scarce. As the Library experienced budget decreases, the collections budget became depleted by ongoing subscriptions for databases and journals, leaving no funds for books or DVDs.



Historical Collections Budget Data - spreadsheet docx

Link to survey
The link to the Library Subscriptions Review survey is below. Please consider your answers carefully. The closing date for the survey is Monday, April 3, 2017.

LINK TO SURVEY
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Jo Flanders

Jo Flanders
Associate Professor, E-Resources/Serials Librarian
MC 135C
(320) 308-2064
jlflanders@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Mary O'Dea

Mary O'Dea
Assistant Professor, Emerging Technologies and Systems Librarian
MC204-F
(320) 308-5628
modea@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University