The Library at St. Cloud State University

Mass Communications and Journalism

Library Resources for Research
Explore Your Topic
Credo Logo


SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
  • 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
    A comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
  • Encyclopedia of Journalism Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
    The Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
Search Databases for Scholarly Articles
Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.



ComAbstracts Restricted Resource database
The most comprehensive database for the discipline of Communications. Provides 26,000 abstracts of articles drawn from the professional literature on Communications. See also, Importing Citations from ComAbstracts into RefWorks.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Search News Sources and Public Opinion
ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.

Facts on File (World News Digest) Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
A searchable news and events site, with encyclopedia and almanac. Gives top news stories back to 1940. Special features include maps; photographs; historic documents; and overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1980. Cancelled; access ended on 30 November 2014.

BBC World News Unrestricted Resource
British Broadcasting Corporation, one of the world's most respected news agencies.

Newsbank Special Reports Restricted Resource database
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.





Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
View Images and Videos
AP Images (Associated Press) Restricted Resource Resource contains imagesdatabase
A source of over 500,000 current and historic photo images, graphic images, audio files, and publicity. Content may be used for educational purposes in papers, presentations, and secure Web spaces (e.g., in Desire2Learn pages). Approximately 1,000 photo images are added daily.

Films on Demand: Communication Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on topics in interpersonal and group communication, principles of human communication, mass communications, and more.

For additional Mass Communication videos, search the MnPALS catalog (Limit to movies and video) on the right side of this page.
AP News Top Headlines

Loading ...

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Mass Communications Books in the Library

Miller Center Basement

Books on Mass Communications have call numbers beginning with P87 - P96
Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian ...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
elm = ELM
database = Database
eref = eRef
ebook = eBook

Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University