The Library at St. Cloud State University

Community Counseling

Library Resources for Community Counseling
Explore Your Topic Online
Enter your topic to search Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science from Credo Reference Online:
Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

This edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect all developments in psychology that have occurred since the publication of the second edition.  It provides comprehensive coverage from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.

Find Background and Overview Information
Browse the BF shelves in the Reference Collection for reference books on psychology.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
REF BF31 .E52 2001 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
4 volume set includes references, suggested readings, signed entries, and sometimes contact information after each section.

ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling
REF BF 636.54 .A23 2009 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Single volume A-Z encyclopedia includes 400+ articles in eight areas based on 2009 Standards. Includes entries on Professional Orientation and Ethical Practice, Social and Cultural Diversity, Human Growth and Development, Career Development, Helping Relationships, Group Work, Assessment, and Research and Program Evaluation.

Encyclopedia of Counseling: Master Review and Tutorial for the National Counselor Examination and State Counseling
REF BF637 .C6 R6734 2002 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Includes entries on human growth and development, social and cultural foundations, theories of counseling, groups, lifestyle and career development, appraisal, research and program evaluation, professional orientation and ethics, and counseling families. Also includes study guides for National Counselor Examination and State Counseling Exams.

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Includes definitions as well as lengthy articles with references on wide variety of social science research topics: qualitative research, quantitative research, basic statistics, ethnography, evaluation, experimental design, interviewing, longitudinal analysis, scaling, significance testing, survey design, and other related topics.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5
REF RC455.2.C4 D536 2013 Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
The American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. (Description from American Psychiatric Association.) The library has two copies, one in Reference Collection and the other on 2-hour Reserve at the Circulation Desk (ask for MC 003).
Find journal articles in library databases

Start with:

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
 

Other databases to try:

ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present
NOTE: ERIC can also be searched through Academic Search Premier. Just above the first search box on Academic Search Premier screen, click Choose Database. Scroll down to click ERIC. Results located through this search will include a FindIt icon to obtain full text.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Restricted Resource database Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Provides test users with descriptive information, citations to test references, and critical reviews of testing instruments. Covers the Ninth Mental Measurements (1985) to the present; previous editions are available in the Reference Collection. Also includes Tests in Print, a listing of testing tools and test reviews. Provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).  Also in print at REF Z5814 .P8 B932, REF Z5814 .E9 T47
PubMed
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
PubMed Health
"PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions."

Find books, videos, and more
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available through the library.  

Find videos

Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.

TED Talks videos   Search by topic toward top of screen. Results may include conversations as well as videos. 
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

Citations in Library Databases
-- Look at the article record for icons or links such as Cite This...Citation Information...Citing This Source
-- Select citation text, copy, then paste into word processing document
-- Reorder bibliography, usually alphabetically by author's last name.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
RefWorks Basics (.pdf)
RefWorks Help
American Counseling Association
The website of the American Counseling  Association contains a wealth of information for counselors. Look under the Knowledge Center link for information about counseling ethics, competencies, and licensure.
Finding Scholarly Articles on the Job
After you receive your Masters degree, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota Unrestricted Resource database
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; eBooks (electronic books); and information from other reference sources via a selection of databases.

On the ELM homepage, click Minnesota Community. Click Databases for You, then A to Z, then use Choose a Database pulldown menu to select Academic Search Premier. Use the Advanced Search to locate journal articles.

You will then have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University