The Library at St. Cloud State University

CPSY 330: Principles of Behavior

CPSY 330: Principles of Behavior
Hanauma Bay
Explore Your Topic Online
Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook

This edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect all developments in psychology that have occurred since the publication of the second edition.  It provides comprehensive coverage from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.



Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.


 
Evaluating Information for Academic Quality
Once you have searched for and located information, you must evaluate your results to determine which resources to use for your research assignments. One method for evaluating information is the CRAAP Test (from the Meriam Library at California State University Chico). CRAAP stands for:

Currency:
The timeliness of the information.
Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.
Authority: The source of the information.
Accuracy:
The reliability, truthfulness, objectivity, and correctness of the informational content.
Purpose: The reason the information exists.
 
Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Find journal articles in library databases

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.


ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present


LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis 

Full-text from 2005
Most recent year not available




 

 

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals
From Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library
Ask a Librarian - Write Place

Questions? Ask a Librarian...

Phone: 320-308-4755
 
Write Place
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the Miller Center Library on first floor.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University