The Library at St. Cloud State University

CPSY 434 Applied Behavior Analysis II

Article Reviews 1 and 2
For each review, you will select an article of interest to you from a list of 8 scholarly applied psychology journals provided in your syllabus. You will need to locate a journal that is available in full text, either as a PDF or as HTML Text.

Some of you are having difficulties trying to search through the links on your syllabus that go to the online version of the journal. There are several reasons for this. 
  • First, when you are searching from a computer off campus, the online journal has no way of identifying you as a SCSU student who is qualified to access the full text of the journal.
  • This can lead to a second difficulty, which is that you may see a screen asking you to use your credit card to purchase the full text of the article -- prices vary, but $39 is fairly standard.

My recommendations:
  • NEVER pay for the full text of an article -- write down the information you have (title of article, name of journal, author of article, pages, date, volume, issue -- all of that) and then contact a librarian.
  • See the red Ask a Librarian box at the top of the right corner of this guide to find four ways to contact a librarian.
  • Prevent the problem of being asked to pay for an article by following the procedure below to locate a specific journal title in the library databases (where there will be no fee for downloading the full text of an article).
  • Always begin your researching with the library homepage instead of a Google search -- that way, you will be entitled to access the full text of the articles with no cost to you.
Locating a Specific Journal Title
Step 1
On left side of library homepage, click Journal Titles. At next screen type in journal title and click red GO icon.


.
Step 2
At the next screen, your title should appear at the top of the alphabetized list. To see more details on the journal title, click either the red journal title link or the FindIt! icon for this journal title. If your title does not appear on the list, that means this journal is not one of the almost 50,000 that SCSU owns in full text. (If we don't own the journal, see Step 5 for a solution.)
Step 3
The next screen shows you which of the library's 100 database has the full text of the article. In this case, full text is available through SAGE Premier 2010. Just click this link to go to the full text.

In this case, online full text is available only from 1999. For earlier dates, look at the Holding Information for the date needed. BOUND volumes are located in the Miller Center Library basement. FICHE (microfiche) is also located in the basement.
Step 4
The next screen will take you either to the database search page, with the journal title already entered in the search or to a page for the journal, where you can usually find a box to "search in this journal."  Enter your topic here and click SEARCH or press ENTER.



If you don't yet have a specific topic to search, you can usually browse the journal issues by clicking an issue to open up the Table of Contents or a list of articles.
Step 5
If you don't locate the journal title with the steps above, you can try to get a copy of the article from another library.  On the left side of the library homepage, click the top link to Borrow, Request, Renew. At the next screen, click Interlibrary Loan. 

Click the large red box for Article. At next screen, log on with your StarID and StarID password

Fill in the form that appears, providing as much information as you have about the article. Most likely you will not know the ISSN of the journal, so leave this blank. 

Leave the Preferred Media set at electronic copy.  A scanned copy of the article will be uploaded to a webpage and then the link will be mailed to your HuskyNet email account. Follow the directions to access the PDF copy of the article. Start checking your HuskyNet account the next day, as articles often are available after one or two days.
Locating a Journal Article
If you are searching for an unknown journal article, try one of the databases below, which index numerous psychology-related scholarly journals. 
PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.


Look for an article with a PDF or HTML Full Text link to get the full text of an article. If the full text is not available in the database you're using, click the FindIt! icon. This step may take you to a link to another of our 100 databases, where the full text is not available. Check on the screen to find the PDF oro other full text version.

If none of our 100 databases has the journal title you need, you'll be directed to click on an Interlibrary Loan link. A form will already be filled out for you, so click the copyright acceptance box and then submit your ILL request. You will get a message (and a link to the full text of the article) in your HuskyNet account, so be sure to start checking it regularly.  Articles are often available in one or two days.
Ask a Librarian

Click the red Ask a Librarian link above to get research assistance through the Reference Desk, telephone, email, or 24/7 chat service.


Assistance is always available for you!


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University