The Library at St. Cloud State University

Communication Sciences and Disorders

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.
CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship Restricted Resource database
CIOS is one of the primary resources for research in Communication, Speech, Journalism, and Rhetoric. In addition to producing ComAbstracts, CIOS provides the following resources for institutional affiliates (including St. Cloud State University).
Communication Disorders Quarterly Restricted Resource
Available in full-text from 1976 in Sage Journals.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science (ECS) captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.
ERIC (ProQuest) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
note: 1966 - present
Journal of Communication Disorders Restricted Resource
This journal is full-text from 1995 and indexed from 1967 in ScienceDirect database; also available via Open Access. 
Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Restricted Resource database
Check availability
Provides test users with descriptive information, citations to test references, and critical reviews of testing instruments. Covers the Ninth Mental Measurements (1985) to the present; previous editions are available in the Reference Collection. Also includes Tests in Print, a listing of testing tools and test reviews. Provides test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).  Also in print at REF Z5814 .P8 B932, REF Z5814 .E9 T47

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
PubMed database
"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full text of over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scientific American Archives Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full text of articles from Scientific American magazine from 1993 to the present.
note: 1993 - present

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Communication Disorders Sourcebook
Print Location: RC423 .C644 1996
Check availability
Basic information about deafness and hearing loss, speech and language disorders, voice disorders, balance and vestibular disorders, and disorders of sensation.
Dictionary of Communication Disorders
Print Location: RC423 .M597 1997
Check availability

Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders
Print Location: REFERENCE RF290 .T93 2004
Check availability

Handbook of Clinical Audiology
Print Location: RF291 .H36 2002
Check availability
Clinical audiology, neurotology, psychoacoustics, behavioral tests, speech audiometry, more.
MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders
Print Location: REFERENCE RC423 .M56 2004
Check availability
"Essential information on communication sciences and disorders."
Sourcebook for Medical Speech Pathology
Print Location: REFERENCE RC423 .G64 1998
Check availability
Speech therapy terminology.
Speech-Language Pathology Desk Reference
Print Location: RC423 .R586 1998
Check availability
Reference handbook on speech disorders and therapy.
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology
Print Location: RC423 .R675 2005
Check availability
Speech therapy handbook.

  Images, video, audio and digital media

Films on Demand: Communication Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Streaming video on topics in interpersonal and group communication, principles of human communication, mass communications, and more.

  Websites

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
Covers the topics of audiology and speech-language pathology. Offers many resources, including news, reports, listing of journals, calls for papers, surveys, etc. It includes materials for the academic, the practitioner, and the student. Some resources require membership in the organization. Information for the general public is available on the non-professional version of this site.
note: current
MedlinePlus database
MedlinePlus is a source for consumer information about over 700 diseases, their symptoms and treatment options. It includes a medical encyclopedia and dictionary. MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other governmental agencies.
Net Connections to Communication Disorders and Sciences
By Judith Maginnis Kuster (Mankato). A listing of Internet resources in Communication Disorders. Includes (among other things) a listing of discussion forums and electronic newsletters, a listing of speech-language therapy materials on the Internet, links to materials on speech disorders, to materials on hearing and hearing disability, and to basic foundations for communication disorders and sciences.
note: current
Open Directory: Communication
A listing of websites dealing with some aspects of communication. Open Directory is also searchable for topics.
Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource database
This Premium Collection includes access to a wide range of Oxford titles covering dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. The database is fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable. Titles such as: Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations and the Encyclopedia of Mammals are included and updated regularly. There are over 1.4 million entries, including longer, in-depth, signed entries with bibliographies.
University Programs in Speech Language Pathology and Audiology
A listing of the programs offering undergraduate and graduate programs in Speech Language Pathology and Audiology
note: updated 12/30/04

  Research guides and manuals

Advanced Review of Speech-Language Pathology : Preparation for the PRAXIS and Comprehensive Examination
Print Location: Permanent Reserve RC423 .R662 2011
Check availability

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
National Institute of Health (NIH)research, news, publications, and directories concerning voice, speech, language, hearing, balance, taste, and smell disorders.
Suggested subject searches
Books
Subject: Speech Disorders Diagnosis
Subject: Speech Therapy Methods
Subject: Communication Disorders Therapy

Articles in CINAHL
Medical Subject Heading: Communicative Disorders
Academic Search Premier
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Subject Specialist
Picture: Rachel Wexelbaum

Rachel Wexelbaum
Associate Professor, Collection Management Librarian
MC 135D
(320) 308-4756
rswexelbaum@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University