The Library at St. Cloud State University

Common Reading 2016-2017 in your Library

The Common Reading Book for 2016-2017:

FireandForgetbookcover The Good Food Revolution: Growing Healthy Food, People, and Communities
by Will Allen

 

About the book:

This book traces the journey of Will Allen from professional basketball player and marketing executive to a preeminent urban farmer in inner-city Milwaukee and founder of an internationally recognized organization called Growing Power. Having cashed in his retirement fund to purchase a two-acre plot outside of the city’s largest public housing project, Allen sets out on a mission to transform an urban food desert into a vibrant community organization that provides high-quality, healthy and affordable food to the community as well as jobs and educational opportunities for vulnerable youths.
Electronic books of interest
Alkon, Alison Hope. Black, White, and Green: Farmers Markets, Race, and the Green Economy. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2012.






 
Hersey, Mark D. My Work Is That of Conservation: An Environmental Biography of George Washington Carver. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 2011.








 


Julier, Alice P. Eating Together: Food, Friendship, and Inequality. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2013. 
Find journal and magazine articles
LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
Find films
Films on Demand: Ethnic and Women's Studies Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Streaming video on issues related to Ethnic Studies, Women's Studies, Social Inequality, and general Sociology.
Will Allen: 2008 MacArthur Fellow
Search for books on related subjects
There are many subjects related to the themes in The Good Food Revolution. Click on the links below to find additional book resources on these topics:

Urban Agriculture

Community Gardens

Food Supply

Alternative Agriculture


Sustainable Agriculture

Organic Farming

Agricultural Ecology

Agriculture Environment Aspects

Food Industry and Trade
St. Cloud State's Common Reading Program
The Common Reading Program is a comprehensive first-year experience for students new to St.Cloud State University.  It provides new first year students a coordinated, academic transition experience throughout their first academic year.
More information available at:
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/commonread
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University