The Library at St. Cloud State University

DVRS 1304 - Diversity and Social Justice (Plachejo)

Asians in the UCLA Library (2011)
Alexandra Wallace's vlog rant about Asian students talking loudly in the UCLA Library:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnMkexgDzd8

Jimmy Wong's response:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zulEMWj3sVA


 
The SCSU Library catalog
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) Unrestricted Resource database
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.

 
Using databases to best effect
  • SUBJECT HEADINGS: 
    Almost every database includes a list of official subject headings. These can be very useful in helping you both expand and focus your thinking about your topic. Sometimes they're called "Subject terms," sometimes "Thesaurus," sometimes "Glossary," but they're all the same: they're the topic headings with which the database sorts and organizes information. Look for them near the top of the database search interface.
     
  • RELEVANCE:
    After you do an initial search, most databases will display a link at or near the list of results, called "Relevance." Click on it, and switch to "Date descending," "Date newest," or "Most recent first." This will resort your search results so that the most recently published articles appear first.




     
  • FINDING FULL TEXT ARTICLES:
    Most databases will have a link to the full text of indexed articles. That link may look like the following:
     
    OR  
     
    Either will take you to the full text of the article. If that article doesn't have one of the above links, you may see a logo that looks like this: 

    Click the logo to open a new tab in your browser that will tell you if the item is available in another database. If it is, a link to that database will be provided.
Databases by topic
FOR ALL TOPICS:

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present



FOR TOPICS RELATED TO FEMINISM AND WOMEN'S ISSUES (Movements to end violence against women, transgender rights)
GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.


FOR TOPICS RELATED TO RACE AND DESEGREGATION (the American Indian Movement; civil rights movements of the 1950s, 60s and 70s; desegregation of the military, police, firefighting forces; Black Lives Matter)

Ethnic NewsWatch  

Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.


FOR TOPICS RELATED TO BUSINESS AND THE ECONOMY (Occupy Wall Street; labor organizing; worker and union organizing)

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.


FOR HISTORICAL RESEARCH ON ANY TOPIC: (the hippie movement; labor organizing of the 19th and 20th centuries; political movements during Reconstruction; union organizing)

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Olivia's contact hours, Fall 2016
On the Reference Desk:

Monday, 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Tuesday, noon - 1:00 pm
Thursday, 1:00 - 3:00 pm

Office Hours:

Monday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm
Tuesday, 3:00 - 4:00 pm

If the above times are not convenient, please call or e-mail to set up an appointment.
Need to talk to someone about your work?
Ask a Librarian

Write Place Unrestricted Resource
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the Miller Center Library on first floor.
Finding your way around the library
Scholarly vs popular: which is best?


Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU) Unrestricted Resource
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.

 
Citing your work in APA format
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
READY REF BF76.7 .P83 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Official manual for APA documentation. Available in print only, in the Ready Reference section of the library, 1st floor. Latest edition is 6th edition, 2010.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue Unrestricted Resource
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

APA Citation Style from Long Island University Unrestricted Resource
Color-coded examples of how to document your sources (i.e. books, journal articles, newspaper articles, etc.) in your works cited page.

Son of Citation Machine Unrestricted Resource
Type your journal, magazine, or book information (title, author, year, etc.) into the fields and a citation will be generated for you in MLA, APA, Turabian, or Chicago citation style. Tip: Remember to double check the formatting of your citations.
RefWorks
RefWorks Help Unrestricted Resource
Use this step-by-step guide to set up a RefWorks account (must be done on a campus computer), to import citations from library databases, and to create a bibliography.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University