The Library at St. Cloud State University

EAP 150: Cultural Orientation for International Students

SCSU - Academic Integrity

"St. Cloud State University (SCSU) expects each student to fulfill his/her academic obligations honestly
and fairly without engaging in cheating, plagiarism, falsification, collusion, or other forms of academic dishonesty. "
St. Cloud State University Academic Integrity Policy

Citing Sources

Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction - a video from NCSU Libraries
 

 
 

Academic writing involves finding, evaluating, and using information resources.  When you use research, quotes, ideas, or data you have found in books, articles, webpages, etc. you need to cite the source of your information. Why do you need to cite your sources?

 

  • Effectively integrating source material from the experts with your own ideas and accurately referencing that source material can lend support to the argument in your paper and credibility to your reputation as a maturing professional in your field
  • Providing complete references enables readers who are interested in your topic to find out more about your research
  • Just as you expect to receive credit for your work, other authors expect and deserve credit for theirs

If you do not cite your sources you are being academically dishonest and guilty of plagiarism, a violation of SCSU's Student Code of Conduct:
"Academic dishonesty, including but not limited to: cheating, plagiarism, misrepresentation of student status, and resume, transcript or diploma falsification. Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use by paraphrase or direct quotation, the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment; unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in selling or otherwise providing term papers or other academic materials; and commercialization, sale or distribution of class notes without the instructors’ permission."
Plagiarism can result in a failing grade for the assignment or the class as well as other disciplinary actions.

Multiple scholarly organizations and publications have developed systems for documenting and citing sources.  The American Psychological Association (APA) and Modern Language Association (MLA) are two of the most common.  Many good online guides are available to help you properly cite sources:

—American Psychological Association (APA)
Modern Language Association (MLA)

For additional tools and resouces, consult the library's Citation Styles guide. 
Have you ever Plagiarized?


Plagiarism Spectrum - Turnitin





Did I plagiarize? - the visual communication guy
Research and Writing Assistance
Ask a Librarian button
chat | email | phone | meet

Library Access from Off Campus
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.

Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.

Husky Fetch
Place a hold on the books you want using the Library’s Books and More catalog, and Husky Fetch will fetch them for you.

Write Place
Make an appointment with a writing tutor.
Finding Magazine and Scholarly Articles
Library Search Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
 
Find Books, eBooks, Music, More


Advanced Search | Classic MnPALS

English Language Readers pdf
This link will take you to a list of English language readers including fiction and non-fiction. You may be locate the books by searching on the title in the box above.

 

Navigating the Library
Miller Center InteriorBuilding Maps
  • First Floor (Reference Books, Research Help Desk, Circulation Desk, Write Place)
  • Second Floor (Books with A-D call numbers, computer lab)
  • Third Floor (Books with M-N call numbers, children's books)
  • Basement (Books with E-H, L, and P-Z call numbers)
     
Using the Building
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University