The Library at St. Cloud State University

East Asian Studies

Find scholarly articles
LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

 
All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

  Biographies and quotations

Modern Japanese Writers
Print Location: REF PL723 .M563
Check availability
Lengthy biographies and literary assessments of 24 major, and frequently translated, Japanese authors since 1860. Each essay includes bibliographies of translated writings in Japanese and English and secondary sources in English.
Notable Asian Americans
Print Location: REF E184.06 N67 1995
Check availability
A select biographical source for information on prominent Asian Americans. Several hundred people are profiled in fair depth (several pages each). Includes subject index, occupation index (names by job), ethnicity index (names by country), with photos.
note: 1900-1995

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Cambridge Encyclopedia of China
Print Location: DS705 .C35
Check availability
A one-volume, amply illustrated encyclopedia of topical essays covering all aspects of traditional and contemporary Chinese civilization.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan
Print Location: DS805 .C36
Check availability
A one-volume illustrated encyclopedia of topical essays covering all aspects of traditional and contemporary Japanese civilization.
Encyclopedia of Asian History
Print Location: REF DS31 .E53 1988
Check availability
Discusses people, places, events, and topics in detailed and well-documented essays covering central Asia, southern Asia , and the Far East.
Encyclopedia of China
Print Location: REF DS705 .P47
Check availability
Provides brief to moderate length alphabetic entries covering all aspects of China's history and culture, including the following categories: geography, flora and fauna, government and politics, business and economics, language and literature, religion and philosophy, arts and architecture, social structure and customs, etc.
Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature
Print Location: REF PL 2264 .I5x
Check availability
Ten topical essays, covering Buddhist literature, drama, fiction, literary criticism, poetry, prose, popular literature, rhetoric, Taoist literature, and women's literature, are followed by moderate length alphabetic entries for people, titles (in Chinese), and styles. Each essay and entry include bibliographic references.
Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DS805 .J263
Check availability
A compact (2 vols.), comprehensive, updated and revised edition of the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (REF DS 805 .K633). Provides a ready-reference source of information about all aspects of Japan and the Japanese.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Print Location: REF DS805 .K633
Check availability
Now somewhat dated (1983), this multi-volume encyclopedia remains the premier English-language reference title about Japanese culture, history, and people. Index to all entries is in last volume. Revised and updated by Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia (REF DS805 .J263).

  Maps and atlases

Cultural Atlas of China
Print Location: REF HB235 .U6 V35
Check availability
A geographic encyclopedia and atlas of Chinese civilization. Topical essays fall into three major categories: Space (geography), Time (history), and Symbols and Society (language, religion, art, theatre, farming, medicine, etc.).

  Websites

Aardvark: Asian Resources for Librarians
A Web gateway to a variety of resources and links for information about Asia. Includes links to several hundred databases, covering numerous topics (emphasis on science and business) for most Asian countries; also links to Asian news sources.
Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
A global collaborative project which provides links to bibliographic and to networked scholarly documents, resources and information systems concerned with or relevant to Asian Studies.
AsiaSource
This Asia Society Web resource provides links to current news and events, articles and speeches, country profiles and statistics, recipes, businesses, and related information. Covers East, Central, South, Southeast, and Austral-Asian regions and countries.
AskAsia
One of the premiere resources for K-12 educators and students interested in Asian and Asian American studies.
BuddhaNet
Designed to inform the public about the many forms of Buddhism, the site provides numerous fulltext articles and documents about Buddhism as well as links to organizations, education centers, and other resources.
Chinese Historical and Cultural Project
The Chinese Historical and Cultural Project (CHCP) is based in Santa Clara County, California. It was founded in 1987 as a non-profit organization to promote and preserve Chinese American and Chinese history and culture through community outreach activities. The "virtual museum and library" provides numerous online resources.
Exploring Chinese History
This site provides a news archive, sourced from various periodicals; an image library with detailed descriptions; a bibliographical, biographical, cultural and geographical database, chronologies, summaries, abstracts, outlines and presentations separated into ancient, pre- modern, modern, and contemporary periods of Chinese history, and links to other online resources.
National Japanese American Historical Society
NJAHS tells the story of Japanese Americans through exhibitions and research. The site includes brief research articles and descriptions of exhibits.
Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource database
This Premium Collection includes access to a wide range of Oxford titles covering dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. The database is fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable. Titles such as: Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations and the Encyclopedia of Mammals are included and updated regularly. There are over 1.4 million entries, including longer, in-depth, signed entries with bibliographies.
Portal to Asian Internet Resources (PAIR)
The University of Wisconsin-Madison coordinates this multi-university project to provide researchers and students with quick and easy access to high quality Asian Internet resources through a Web-based catalog. The catalog includes freely available Internet resources on a broad range of disciplines in the social sciences such as business and economics, education, political science, and sociology and topics such as banking and finance, demography and population, environment, gender, health, industry and trade, and politics, government, and international relations. Covers East, Central, South, and Southeast Asia.
WWW Hmong Homepage
A Minnesota-based website for information relating to the Hmong community in the United States. Includes information on background, history and culture, traditions, events, and community news.
note: Current

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University