The Library at St. Cloud State University

Ecology and Field Biology

Articles and Databases
Agricola (Agriculture)
Index to articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Also search the online catalog of the National Agriculture Library.
bioRxiv
"a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences."
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scientific American Archives Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full text of articles from Scientific American magazine from 1993 to the present.
Note: 1993 - present
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
Reference and Facts

Search for background information on your topic in CREDO Reference


Collins Dictionary of Biology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
A biology dictionary recently updated to include advancing science and genetics.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This  dictionary includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management from Abatement to Zooplankton. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader.
Princeton Guide to Ecology Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
This guide covers everything from the fundamentals of ecology to its applications to conservation biology, climate change and implications for ecosystems.
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management Restricted Resource
"...provides a complete one-volume guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology."
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
This landmark book maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this energetic and growing field. Captured here are the pioneering and lively debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.
OECD Factbook 2015-16: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
The OECD Factbook is the most comprehensive statistical publication of the Organisation. It is a tool to evaluate the long-term trends in economic, environmental and social developments in OECD countries using solid and comparable indicators.
SAGE Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Full-text reference resource compiled from nearly 640 specialized encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, physics, medicine, science & society, and technology.
Web Resources
Avibase: World Bird Database
Information about 10,000 species of birds including distribution, taxonomy and synonyms.
Earth Portal
Timely, science-based information about the environment including a global environmental search engine and more.
Environment Web Directory
An extensive web directory for environmental information.
FishBase
Large site about biology of fishes. Includes glossary and search by common or scietific name of over 28,900 fish species.
Minnesota Climatology
Data available in several categories: Climate Monitor, Historical Data; Weather Summaries and Publications; Agricultural Climate Information; and other climate data resources (lightning strikes; sunrise & sunset times; and daily, weekly, and annual stream flow maps).
NatureServe
Information about rare and endangered species, ecosystems including a encyclopedia of plants, animals, and ecosystems.
Water Resources of the United States
From USGS, access water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites throughout the Nation and much more.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Cindy Gruwell

Cindy Gruwell
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140D
(320) 308-1508
cagruwell@stcloudstate.edu

Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Images, Video, Digital Media, and Experiments
JoVE Restricted Resource Resource contains videodatabase
Provides access to thousands of video "articles" from top research institutions around the world, each demonstrating an experimental technique or procedure. Topics covered include Biology, Chemistry, Applied Physics, Bioengineering, Environment, and Science Education.
Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
Online Biology Book
Free college-level introductory biology textbook with thousands of images.
Government Information
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
"The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment."
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
Links to Minnesota natural resources ranging from legislation to state park information.
Science.gov (FirstGov for Science)
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
"The mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is working with others to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people."
USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.
Research and Citation Guides
Citation Styles (APA, MLA, etc.)
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography. Council of Biology Editors (CBE) Scientific Style
Guide from Colorado State University gives explanations and examples of citing using CSE scientific style.
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work.  To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University
Designing Conference Posters
Useful guide for "Do's and Don't's" in designing and creating conference posters.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University