The Library at St. Cloud State University

Statistics, time series, and data sets
For links to statistical sources for research in economics, please go to the Business and Economics Statistics subject guide, linked here.
Articles and Databases
EconLit Restricted Resource findit database
Index to scholarly articles and dissertations in economics and related fields. Updated monthly. Corresponds to the print index published as part of the Journal of Economic Literature.
Note: 1969 to present

ABI/INFORM (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

Cambridge University Press Journals Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The search allows you to search over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals and hundreds of books published by Cambridge University Press. SCSU subscribes to fulltext access to 30 Cambridge journal titles, of which 16 are current; an additional 7 current titles are available fulltext.

Emerald FullText Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Emerald provides access to the fulltext content or more than 100 management and information services journals published by MCBPress (UK). Among the journal titles for business are European Business Review, European Journal of Marketing, Benchmarking, Balance Sheet, International Journal of Public Sector Management, International Marketing Review, and Journal of Consumer Marketing; titles for information services include Library Hi Tech, and Reference Services Review.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
Free resources available on the internet
AEAweb: The American Economic Association Unrestricted Resource
The AEA was founded in 1883 to promote economic research, study and publications. It is the primary representative organization for economists in the United States.

Resources for Economists on the Internet Unrestricted Resource
Lists more than 1,600 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics. Almost all resources are also described. Maintained by the American Economic Association.

ESRC - Economic and Social Research Council (UK)

Economic Research Service Unrestricted Resource
The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development
Subject Specialist
Picture: Olivia Olivares

Olivia Olivares
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140E
(320) 308-4822
oolivares@stcloudstate.edu

Reference Resources: encyclopedias, etc.
Concise Encyclopedia of Economics Unrestricted Resource
Short articles on economics topics written by economists. Includes biographies of famous economists.

Concise Encyclopedia of Economics: Biographies Unrestricted Resource
Brief biographies with selected works listed.

21st Century Economics: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Provides  summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics, helpful  trying to get a "big picture" sense of the field.

Economics A-Z Unrestricted Resource
Definitions of economic terms and concepts.

New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics
HB61 .N49 2008 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Includes scholarly analyses of economic theories and theorists.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
REF HC15 .O94 2003 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Includes articles on all aspects of economic history including the economic histories of more than 100 countries, regions, and cities.

Guide to Economic Indicators
REF HC103 .F9 2000 Unrestricted Resource Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Provides explanations of the economic indicators of all aspects of the U.S. economy.
Working papers
Working papers are research works in progress, written by professonal economists and made available on websites but not yet published in peer-reviewed journals so that other economists and researchers may review the work and make comments and suggestions prior to the paper's official publication in professional journals. Working papers can be excellent sources of information for the researcher. Here are some places to find working papers.

NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers Unrestricted Resource
NBER Working Papers are intended to make research of the National Bureau for Economic Research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication.

BEA Working Papers Unrestricted Resource
From the US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis.

Economic Research, Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis: Working Papers

RePEC: Research Papers in Economics
From the website: "... a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 86 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it."


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University