The Library at St. Cloud State University

ED 200: Introduction to Education

Resources for the Teaching Profession Project
Facts and background information
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today.

Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
Nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

Nation's Report Card Unrestricted Resource
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and co​ntinuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.

U.S. Department of Education Unrestricted Resource
The Department of Education website includes valuable information on all levels of education, including statistical and financial infomation sources. The site provides a useful search engine.

Minnesota Department of Education 

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.

Horizon Report 2017 K-12 Edition from the New Media Consortium
Finding Scholarly Articles
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
This database complements ERIC by providing fulltext to about 1100 journals indexed in ERIC, as well as about a dozen standard reference titles related to Education--such as the encyclopedias of Education, Educational Leadership and Administration, Sociology, and Psychology. Covers all levels and areas of Education.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training

Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Tips for Database Searching
​1. Limits: To focus your search, use database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date and publication type such as peer-reviewed journals.

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are displayed -- many databases sort by relevance rather than by date.

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic.

4. Get an Article: If the full text of the article is not available in the database you're searching, use 

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search.

For more tips, watch "How Can I Develop an Effective Search Strategy?"
International Education

CIA World Factbook Unrestricted Resource
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Education at a Glance 2016
An authoritative source for accurate and relevant information on the state of education around the world. It provides data on the structure, finances, and performance of the education systems in the OECD's 34 member countries.

EdStats

Education statistics from the World Bank.

International Data Table Library - International Activities Program 
From U.S. Dept of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. Data is from a range of sources and compare different facets of education in the United States with those of other countries.

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific & Cultural Organization) Institute for Statistics 
Source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories

World Bank Education Strategy 2020

Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.

As your group works on The Teaching Profession Project, schedule a meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic. 
Citing Sources
APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue) Unrestricted Resource
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

RefWorks YouTube Channel
United States Education Statistics
National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.


Condition of Education
Summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data.

Indicators of School Crime and Safety
Annual publication, covers topics such as victimization, teacher injury, bullying, school conditions, fights, weapons, availability and student use of drugs and alcohol, and student perceptions of personal safety at school.

State Education Data Profiles
Provides information on education by state and allows for comparisons of up to four states at once.
Professional Associations and Unions
ASCD
Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development focuses on curriculum and supervision and provides professional development for educational leadership and capacity building. 

American Federation of Teachers 
The American Federation of Teachers is a union of professionals that advocates for economic opportunity, public education, healthcare, and public services for students. 

Association for Middle Level Education 
Works to advance the education of all students ages 10 to 15.

Council for Exceptional Children
Works to improve the educational success of students with disabilities and/or gifts and talents.

Education Minnesota
Education Minnesota is a union of professional educators that advocates for public education in Minnesota.

National Association of Secondary School Principals

National Education Association   
National professional employee organization committed to advancing the cause of public education. 

National Council for History Education

National Council for the Social Studies 

National Council of Teachers of English

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

National Science Teachers Association 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University