The Library at St. Cloud State University

ED 300: Teaching in Middle School and High School

Resources for ED 300
Marshall Middle School
Scholarly research process
Understanding scholarly journals
Journal covers image

From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.
Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.  
Peer Review in 3 Minutes (video) Unrestricted Resource
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video from NCSU Libraries explains.  

Articles used in Scholarly vs. Popular activity 


Hispanic versus African American Girls: Body Image, Nutrition, and Puberty
 
Bloomberg v. Pop Culture: NYC's Campaign to Boost Girls' Self Esteem
Tips for Database Searching
​1. Limits: To focus your search, use database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date and publication type such as peer-reviewed journals.

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are displayed -- many databases sort by relevance rather than by date.

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic.

4. Get an Article: If the full text of the article is not available in the database you're searching, use 

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search.

For more tips, watch "How Can I Develop an Effective Search Strategy?"
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
This database complements ERIC by providing fulltext to about 1100 journals indexed in ERIC, as well as about a dozen standard reference titles related to Education--such as the encyclopedias of Education, Educational Leadership and Administration, Sociology, and Psychology. Covers all levels and areas of Education.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.


PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   
Accessing Full Text Articles
  • When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:
    HTML Full Text Image PDF Full Text image
     
  • If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:
    Find It button

Facts and background information
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase eref ebook
Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today.

Nation's Report Card Unrestricted Resource
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and co​ntinuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.

U.S. Department of Education Unrestricted Resource
The Department of Education website includes valuable information on all levels of education, including statistical and financial infomation sources. The site provides a useful search engine.

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.

Horizon Report 2017 K-12 Edition from the New Media Consortium

Sustainable School Design Topic Hub
A guide to resources for making school buildings more environmentally friendly.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robin Ewing

Robin Ewing
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 130B
(320) 308-2093
rlewing@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.

As you work on your project, schedule an in-person or online meeting with me for in-depth guidance on finding the best resources for your topic. 
Citing Sources
APA Formatting and Style Guide (2010 update) (OWL at Purdue) Unrestricted Resource
Provides examples of formatting papers, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, and reference lists in APA style. Updated according to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

RefWorks YouTube Channel
Off-Campus Access
Use your StarID to access library databases and full text articles from off campus.

You should see this login screen:
Proxy Login Image

If you see a different screen or have other problems, Ask a Librarian or contact HuskyTech ((320) 308-7000).
Resources for Middle and High School students
ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota -- Resources for K-12 Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
ELM provides access to the following databases for use in K-12 environments: From Gale: InfoTrac Junior Edition for junior high and middle school students InfoTrac Student Edition for high school students Kids InfoBits for elementary school students Junior Reference Collection for junior high and middle school students Student Resources in Context for high school students From EBSCO: MAS Ultra-School Edition for high school students Middle Search Plus for junior high and middle school students Primary Search for elementary school students

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University