The Library at St. Cloud State University

ED 310/315 Children's Literature

Finding Books in the Juvenile Collection
The library's juvenile collection is located on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center and is organized by Library of Congress call numbers. The section starting with PZ 7 (more than half of the collection) contains picture books, chapter books, and novels, arranged A-Z by author's last name. Books in the Juvenile Collection can be located using the MnPALS Plus library catalog.

Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)    Click Advanced Search and then select Juvenile Collection.

Limit Collection to Juvenile - 3rd floor .


To search for children's books by specific genre, use the following search terms:
  • TRADITIONAL LITERATURE -- search "folklore" or "fairy tales" (perform separate searches)
  • MODERN FANTASY -- search "fantasy"
  • REALISTIC FICTION -- search "juvenile fiction"
  • HISTORICAL FICTION -- search "historical fiction" or a search like "fiction war" or "fiction west*"
  • POETRY -- search "poetry" or a search like "poetry holidays" or "poetry nature" or "poetry sports"
  • BIOGRAPHIES -- search "biography" (be sure to use the singular word) or a search like "biography women" or "biography African American*"
  • INFORMATIONAL BOOKS -- search keywords related to your topic like "transportation" or "astronomy" or "snakes" or "NASA" or . .

To search for multicultural children's books, try these terms in the catalog, limiting Collection to Juvenile Collection:
  • Chinese American
  • Japanese American
  • Native American OR American Indian
  • African American
  • Mexican American
  • Hispanic*
  • Etc.

Miller Center Multicultural Resources Center (MRC)
Some juvenile multicultural books are shelved in a JUV section in the Multicultural Resources Center. The location will be listed as MRC. The MRC is located beyond the Reference area, to the left in the far corner.

Joan K. Blaska Collection of Children's Literature
Special collection within Juvenile Collection of children's books depicting persons with disabilities or chronic illness. Search library catalog for Blaska collection by typing Blaska as a keyword search.
Finding Books at the Public Library
Great River Regional Library (GRRL)

The St. Cloud Public Library is located at 1300 W. St. Germain Street. To get a library card, you need to bring picture proof of identification and address, like a current driver's license plus tuition receipt or utility bill. Phone number is 320-650-2500.

The library has a large Children's Area on the first floor to the left of the stairs. To find children's books, use the advanced online catalog online catalog search to limit your results to "Juvenile Fiction" or "Juvenile Nonfiction" in the Target Audience box.

TumbleBooks Library    The GRRL's kid's page includes Tumble Books, an online collection of animated children's e-books. From the GRRL page, click databases page, scroll to bottom and select TumbleBooks Library.

NoveList K-8    Through the GRRL's databases page you can access NoveList K-8, which searches children's books by favorite author, title or series and finds similar titles, reviews and reading group guides. A new feature includes a link directly to NoveList in the catalog record -- scroll toward the bottom of the screen to see this link. You will need a public library card to login to NoveList.
Locating Book Reviews
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Enter book title inside quotation marks; limit to Book Review; and then click Search.

Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource database
Provides online full-text scholarly essays and commentary on classic books and authors. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.
Author Study
Something About the Author Online
Print Location: REF PN451 .S6 and online
Biographical and bibliographical information on children's authors and illustrators. Often includes interviews and personal information. For the print version (in the library), use most recent cumulative index volume to determine volume of entries or look on the Web at http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
Note: 1971 to present


Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Enter author's name (ex: Jane Yolen) to find articles about the author.

Bookology Children's Authors and Illustrators

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
More than 3,200 entries on international children's literature from the medieval period through the 21st century. Includes authors, illustrators, book titles, genres, historical and thematic topics. Most entries include a bibliography for further reading. 4 vol. A-Z with illustrations.
LOCATION:  REF PN1008.5 .O94 2006
Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140F
(320) 308-2028
msgorman@stcloudstate.edu

Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk - Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sunday: 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Phone: 320-308-4755
Email: askref@stcloudstate.edu
Best Children's Books
75 Authors/Illustrators Everyone Should Know  from Reading Rockets at WETA  public television (Washington, D.C.). Includes video interviews with most of the authors.  Organized by grade clusters PreK-K, grades 1-3, grades 3-6.

100 Children's Books to Read in a Lifetime  lists outstanding children's literature in alphabetical order.  Here's the list after Amazon readers voted on the titles to rank the books

Most of the books on these lists are in the Miller Center Juvenile Collection.
Lexiles
Lexile.com is a website that provides a lexilelevel or a book title that you enter so that you can match the reading level of a book with the reader's reading level. NoveList K-8 (from Great River Regional Library databases list) also contains lexiles for books. More information on lexiles from Scholastic


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University