The Library at St. Cloud State University

ED 617: Informational Reading and Writing

Library and Web Resources
Building a Text Set -- A. Informational Books

Reference Collection Resources
  • Use indexes for themes...topics...subjects
  • Main Collection -- browse Z 1037
Books and More Advanced Search (MnPALS Plus) Unrestricted Resource database
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available at the library. Use the limits to focus on specific collections.

Great River Regional Library (GRRL)
Central Minnesota public library system consisting of 33 local libraries, including the main library in St. Cloud.

Locating book cover images
Building a Text Set - B. Other Print Texts

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota -- Resources for K-12 Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
ELM provides access to the following databases for use in K-12 environments:
From Gale:
InfoTrac Junior Edition for junior high and middle school students
InfoTrac Student Edition for high school students
Kids InfoBits for elementary school students
Junior Reference Collection for junior high and middle school students
Student Resources in Context for high school students
From EBSCO:
MAS Ultra-School Edition for high school students
Middle Search Plus for junior high and middle school students
Primary Search for elementary school students
From Encyclopedia Britannica:
Britannica Online School Edition includes editions for high school, junior high/middle school, and elementary school
Britannica Learning Zone for preschool

ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

Building a Text Set -- C. Visual/Audio Texts

E-Books
Videos and Podcasts

All videos and DVDs in our collection are kept behind the Circulation Desk on 1st Floor; ask for them by call number and make note if the item is VHS or DVD. Streaming video is also available to watch on your computer via the library search below or by searching Films on Demand.

Search for Films and Movies at the Miller Center Library
 
  • Films on Demand Restricted Resource database Resource contains video
    Films on Demand is a streaming media system from Films Media Group that provides educational videos online from all disciplines or subject areas. Users can set up their own accounts and create customized playlists.
  • Scholastic Podcasts for Teachers
  • TeacherTube
  • Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
    The collection brings you more than 210,000 images, maps and documents from more than 155 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. This site offers resources on Minnesota's history and geography for researchers, educators, students, and the public.
Building a Text Set -- D. Reading and Writing

These databases also include articles from non-scholarly education magazines.  A topc search will locate ideas for classroom activities, lesson plans, teaching methodology, promoting literacy, etc.
 
  • Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
    Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  • ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
    ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
    Note: 1966 - present
  • Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
    The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
Exploring Websites and Apps

Search Engines for Kids and Teens 
Teaching Reading and Writing Process
Other Web Resources
  • ALSC - Association of Library SErvice to Children
  • MN Standards for K-12 (Search informational text or literary nonfiction)
  • NCTE Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction Books for Children (NCTE)
    • Note:  The Miller Center Library has most of the winners of this award. Check MnPals by title 
Locating Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   

LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University