The Library at St. Cloud State University

ENGL 291: Introduction to Analytical and Rhetorical Writing (Kerkvliet)

Find Background Information
Pew Research Center -- Millennials
Provides links to facts, polls, and research reports on various aspects of the Millennial population.

CQ Researcher: Millennial Generation
An in-depth report on issues facing Millennials.

Books and More Search

Search the General Collection (MnPALS)



 

Explore the Library of Congress Classification Outline to learn how books are arranged in our library.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

Direct link: https://youtu.be/jaZUAHxSb9k


Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.

Popular vs. Scholarly Articles: A Guide and Tutorial
A guide and interactive tutorial that helps you determine if an article is scholarly or popular. From the University of Arizona.
 

Comparison activity:

Bennett, Laura. "Woe Is Twee." New Republic, vol. 243, no.16, 2012, pp. 24-27. Academic Search Premier, http://login.libproxy.stcloudstate.edu/login?qurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ebscohost.com%2flogin.aspx%3fdirect%3dtrue%26db%3daph%26AN%3d82287197%26site%3dehost-live%26scope%3dsite

Bergman, Shawn M., et al. "Millennials, Narcissism, And Social Networking: What Narcissists Do On Social Networking Sites And Why." Personality & Individual Differences, vol. 50, no. 5, 2011, pp. 706-711. Academic Search Premier, http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.paid.2010.12.022
Find Articles

LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Library Services
Library Access from Off Campus
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.

Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.

Husky Fetch
Place a hold on the books you want using the Library’s Books and More catalog, and Husky Fetch will fetch them for you.

Write Place
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the Miller Center Library on first floor.
Search Tips for Library Databases
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search and leads to fewer results. Using OR between synonyms broadens or expands your search and leads to more results (i.e. millennials OR generation y).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Cite Your Sources
Academic writing involves finding, evaluating, and using information resources.  When you use research, quotes, ideas, or data you have found in books, articles, web pages, etc. you need to cite the source of your information using a specific set of rules. For ENGL 291, your professor requires you to use MLA Citation Style.

Modern Language Association (MLA), 8th edition, 2016
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities, including English. This resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

RefWorks
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University