The Library at St. Cloud State University

ENGL 331: Advanced Academic Writing (Cogdill)

Determining if an article is scholarly:

Many of the articles you locate will likely be in an online full-text format. Determining the periodical type of these can be difficult, as you do not have the entire periodical to look through for hints. This guide can help you determine whether a periodical is a popular magazine, trade publication, or scholarly journal: 

http://web.stcloudstate.edu/jmquinlan/ENGL331guideSpring2014.pdf

A useful online guide pointing out elements of a scholarly research article:

http://libguides.greenriver.edu/content.php?pid=327894&sid=2682657

Search Databases for Scholarly Articles

Full text resources (useful for most topics):

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
 

Databases for Mass Communication:

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.

ComAbstracts Restricted Resource database
The most comprehensive database for the discipline of Communications. Provides 26,000 abstracts of articles drawn from the professional literature on Communications. See also, Importing Citations from ComAbstracts into RefWorks.
 

Databases for English:

MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present
 

Databases for Education:

ERIC (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
Note: 1966 - present

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Professional Collection (Education) Restricted Resource findit database
The Professional Collection is a selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training
 

Databases for Film Studies:


 

Databases for BioMed Science:

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937; covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, etc.

Medline Restricted Resource findit elm database
Indexes more than 19,000 journals, 1950 to present, in all areas of medicine, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and other areas.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals

Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.

Databases for Business and Economics:

ABI/INFORM (Business) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
ABI/INFORM indexes content from 3,200 trade publications and scholarly journals (with full text or full-image for 2,100 titles) that help students and researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.
Note: 1972 to present

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Business Source Premier searches 350 scholarly journals back to 1965. Includes searchable references for more than 1,170 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics and economics.

EconLit Restricted Resource findit database
Index to scholarly articles and dissertations in economics and related fields. Updated monthly. Corresponds to the print index published as part of the Journal of Economic Literature.
Note: 1969 to present

Databases for the history of the United States and Canada:

America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
 

Databases for Library Science:

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Restricted Resource findit database
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals from 1980 to present, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals.
Note: Electronic-1980 to present , Print -1921-1996
 
Finding other guides & databases:
Research Guides (By Subject or Course Number)
Guides for doing research in a particular subject area (Art, Education, Social Work, etc.) or for a specific course.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

ENGL 331 class web page
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/scogdill/331/
http://web.stcloudstate.edu/scogdill/331/#sthash.IfXZMwNF.dpuf
Research consultation
I would be happy to meet with you for an an individualized research consultation.  A research consultation is intended to give you in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for your project. My student contact hours are below. 
Jennifer's Spring 2014 contact hours
Monday:      9 am-noon (reference desk)
                   3 pm - 4 pm (office)  
     
Tuesday:      3 pm - 4 pm (office)
                   4 pm - 6 pm (reference desk)

Wednesday: 9 am - noon (office)

Please email me if you intend to stop by during these times. If the above times are inconvenient, we can set up an appointment at another time.
Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk: (320) 308-4755
Miller Center 1st Floor W
  • Monday-Wednesday: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
  • Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • Saturday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Sunday: 1:00 pm - 9:00 pm

askref@stcloudstate.edu
Chat (24/7)
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search

Interlibrary Loan
On Library homepage, select Interlibrary Loan (ILL) link: http://lrts.stcloudstate.edu/library/services/illrequest.asp

To request a book, select Request a book link: https://mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest/?mylocn=SCS

To request an article, select Request an Article link:  https://mplus.mnpals.net/vufind/MyResearch/ILLRequest?illForm=SE&mylocn=SCS 

Login using 14-digit barcode from back of CampusCard; password is your last name.

campus card barcode

Fill out the required fields of the form. 

Be sure to check the copyright agreement box.

Select Submit Request. Watch your HuskyNet email for information about your request.
RefWorks
RefWorksRefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.
RefWorks Basics (.pdf)
A one-page guide with directions for managing citations and creating bibliographies in RefWorks.
RefWorks Help
Use this step-by-step guide to set up a RefWorks account (must be done on a campus computer), to import citations from library databases, and to create a bibliography.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   

Some tips for searching Google Scholar:

http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/googlescholar.cfm
 

Information from Google about Google Scholar:

http://scholar.google.com/intl/en-US/scholar/help.html
 

Information about the "Cited by" function in Google Scholar:
http://academicguides.waldenu.edu/content.php?pid=225643&sid=1870041


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University