The Library at St. Cloud State University

ENGL 351: Introduction to Language Arts Pedagogy Theory

Library Resources for ENGL 351: Introduction
Finding Books in the Juvenile Collection
The library's juvenile collection is located on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center and is organized by Library of Congress call numbers. The section starting with PZ 7 (more than half of the collection) contains picture books, chapter books, and novels, arranged A-Z by author's last name. Books in the Juvenile Collection can be located using the MnPALS Plus library catalog.

Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)    Click Advanced Search and then select Juvenile Collection.

Limit Collection to Juvenile - 3rd floor .


To search for adolescent / YA books by specific genre, use the following search terms:
  • MODERN FANTASY -- search "fantasy"
  • REALISTIC FICTION -- search "juvenile fiction"
  • HISTORICAL FICTION -- search "historical fiction" or a search like "fiction war" or "fiction west*"
  • POETRY -- search "poetry" or a search for poems about a topic like "poetry holidays" or "poetry history" or "poetry nature" or "poetry sports"
  • BIOGRAPHIES -- search "biography" (be sure to use the singular word) or a search like "biography women" or "biography African American*"
  • INFORMATIONAL BOOKS -- search keywords related to your nonfiction topic like "transportation" or "astronomy" or "snakes" or "NASA" or . .
To search for multicultural children's books, try these terms in the catalog, limiting to Juvenile Collection:
  • Chinese American
  • Japanese American
  • Native American OR American Indian
  • African American
  • Mexican American
  • Hispanic*
  • Etc.

Miller Center Multicultural Resources Center (MRC)
Some adolescent / YA multicultural books are shelved in a JUV section in the Multicultural Resources Center. The location will be listed as MRC. The MRC is located beyond the Reference area, to the left in the far corner.
Locating Book Reviews
Book Reviews
 
Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database

NOTE: Enter book title inside quotation marks; add word review in next search box and then click SEARCH.
           From library homepage, click Databases A-Z, then select Academic Search Premier on next screen.
 
Children's Literature Review
Multi-volume work that gathers criticism of works of children's literature. Use most recent cumulative index to locate volume and page numbers of entries. Emphasis is on criticism, not biography. Online index available 
• Location(s): REF PN1009.A1 C4x
Finding Books at the Public Library
Great River Regional Library (GRRL) Unrestricted Resource

The St. Cloud Public Library is located at 1300 W. St. Germain Street. To get a library card, you need to bring picture ID and verification of your address, like a current driver's license plus tuition receipt or utility bill with your address on it. Phone number is 320-650-2500.

The library has a large Children's Area on the first floor to the left of the stairs. To find children's / YA books, use the advanced online catalog search to limit your results to "Juvenile Fiction" or "Juvenile Nonfiction" in the Target Audience box.

TumbleBooks Library    The GRRL's kid's page includes Tumble Books, an online collection of animated children's e-books. From the GRRL page, click databases page, scroll down and select TumbleBooks Library. These books appeal to all ages and also to  English language learners and students reading below grade level. You will need a public library card to log in to TumbleBooks Library.

NoveList K-8    Through the GRRL's databases page you can access NoveList K-8, which searches children's books by favorite author, title or series and finds similar titles, reviews and reading group guides. A new feature includes a link directly to NoveList in the catalog record -- scroll toward the bottom of the screen to see this link. You will need a public library card to log in to NoveList.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Use these databases to locate information on topics related to teaching, education trends and issues, literature, lesson plans, research, students, etc.

Academic Search Premier (all topics) from EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource database
Provides online full-text scholarly essays and commentary on classic books and authors. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.
Use this for senior high school literature.

ProQuest Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Fulltext of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
Newspapers often run articles (not scholarly, however) about educational issues, including book challenges and censorship attempts.
Ask a Librarian

Click to access email (answered usually within an hour during regular Reference Desk hours), chat (available 24 / 7), phone numbers for SCSU Reference Desk, and online form to set up a one-on-one (in person or via telephone) research consultation with a librarian.
Frequently Challenged Books -- NCTE and ALA
National Council of Teachers of English  provides resources and support about challenged and banned books.
NCTE Intellectual Freedom Center

The American Library Association keeps track of challenged books.
ALA Frequently Challenged Top Ten by Year -- Scroll down to see books from 2001-2013
ALA Frequently Challenged Classics
ALA Frequently Challenged 21st Century Authors
ALA Top 100 Frequently Challenged Books by Decade

The ALA also provides assistance to libraries and teachers facing book challenges:
ALA Challenged Materials
Finding Full Text of Literature
LitFinder includes full-text works of classic and contemporary literary works, including poetry, short fiction, classic novels, essays, dramas/plays, speeches and criticism.


Click Guided Tour link at top of LitFinder screen if you need more help using this database.
Something About the Author
Something About the Author Online
Print Location: REF PN451 .S6 and online
Biographical and bibliographical information on children's authors and illustrators. Often includes interviews and personal information. For the print version (in the library), use most recent cumulative index volume to determine volume of entries or look on the Web at http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
Note: 1971 to present
Finding Scholarly Articles on the Job
After you receive your Masters degree, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota Unrestricted Resource database
ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; eBooks (electronic books); and information from other reference sources via a selection of databases.

On the ELM homepage, click Minnesota Community. Click Databases for You, then A to Z, then use Choose a Database pulldown menu to select Academic Search Premier. Use the Advanced Search to locate journal articles.

You will then have access to any full-text articles on the database. You may be able to work with your public library to get copies of articles not available through ELM.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University