The Library at St. Cloud State University

ENGL 602: Literary and Critical Theory (Dorn)

Resources for ENGL 602: Literary and Critical

 
Image courtesy of the St. Cloud State University Archives.
Defining key concepts
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
The Oxford English Dictionary is the premier guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words in the English language, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

 
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Begin with this source to trace the evolution of an idea. It is an encyclopedic encapsulation of the ideas and concepts that define civilization and the individual's role in it across the globe
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Unrestricted Resource
A "dynamic" reference work, with each entry maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
"An indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements."
Finding scholarly articles and criticism
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource findit database
ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource findit database
PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource database
Provides online full-text scholarly essays and commentary on classic books and authors. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.

Databases A-Z Unrestricted Resource
Alphabetical list of library databases.
Finding newspaper articles
Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Complete fulltext, including birth and death notices, advertisements, etc. of the The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985. The content covers almost every event in the world during that period.

New York Times (1851-2009): ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 through 2009. Full indexing is available for articles, performance and book reviews, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Note: 1851-2009

New York Times Restricted Resource database
One of the most respected papers in the country. Search and print full-text articles from 1995 to the present. 1995 to present.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text content and images from about 500 U.S. newspapers published during the 19th Century. The "Research Guide" link leads to commissioned essays that provide context for the collection.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Unrestricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Newspaper and Current Events Subject guide: additional newspaper resources
Finding Books
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Click Advanced Search for more options.

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
Use WorldCat to locate a book to access through interlibrary loan. Search using key words. If you already know a book title, search by the title. At book record, click and the computer will take you to an interlibrary form. To request that book be delivered for you at SCSU, click interlibrary loan link and fill out the form. You will need your StarID and password.
Other book sources
Google Book Search Unrestricted Resource
Allows searching within full-text of digitized books and viewing of small portions of copyrighted material or full versions of public domain items. Includes links to booksellers and libraries.
Tips for more effective searching of Google Books, can be found here:

Project Gutenberg Unrestricted Resource
A collection of more than 15,000 free electronic books.
Included are Public Domain editions of everything from Alice in Wonderland to the complete works of Shakespeare.

Internet Archive Unrestricted Resource
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

Research consultation
As you continue your research, I would be happy to meet with you for a research consultation. Research consultations are intended to give you in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for your project. Please complete the form on our Ask a Librarian page to schedule a consultation.
RefWorks
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere.
Finding specific journals
Journal Titles
When you already have the bibliographical information of an article, use the above link to search for the journal name.

Here is a handout on how to look for an article when you already have the citation: Known Article Search

You can also use this search to look for a specific journal to see which database it is in and/or how the library owns it.
Theses and Dissertations
Repository at St. Cloud State University: provides open access to a diverse collection of academic, scholarly, scientific, and creative content produced by faculty, students, and staff at the St. Cloud State University.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations: Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
NUCMC
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC): The mission of the NUCMC program is to provide and promote bibliographic access to the nation's documentary heritage. This mission is realized by NUCMC production of cataloging describing archival and manuscript collections held by eligible repositories located throughout the United States and its territories.
Digital Humanities Clearninghouses
IDHMC: Initiative for Digital Humanities, Media, and Culture

International center for digital research with humanistic data through the 19th century, with special emphasis on the early modern period and the 19th century


Digital Humanities at Dartmouth

Faculty, students, and staff are creating digital games, developing online collections, analyzing social media, and mining textual data.


NYU Libraries Guide: English and American Literature: Digital Collections and Digital Humanities projects

Literature-related digital collections and digital humanities projects available for free on the web.


Examples of Digital Humanities Projects

Complied by Western Michigan University Libraries

Google Scholar
Google Scholar Restricted Resource database
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   

Some tips for searching Google Scholar:

http://www.umuc.edu/library/libhow/googlescholar.cfm
 

Information from Google about Google Scholar:

http://scholar.google.com/intl/en-US/scholar/help.html
 

Information about the "Cited by" function in Google Scholar:
http://academicguides.waldenu.edu/content.php?pid=225643&sid=1870041

Interlibrary Loan
On Library homepage, select Borrow, Request, Renew to find the Interlibrary Loan link:
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/library/borrow/interlibrary.aspx
  • From the above link select Request an article for articles SCSU Library does not own. (For books SCSU does not own, select Request a book.)
  • Login using your StarID and password.
  • Fill out the required fields of the form. 
  • Be sure to check the copyright agreement box.
  • Select Submit Request. Watch your SCSU email for information about your request.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University