The Library at St. Cloud State University

ENGL 606: Intro to Grad Studies in English (Dorn)

Resources for ENGL 606: Intro to Grad Studies

Image courtesy of the St. Cloud State University Archives.
Finding scholarly articles and criticism
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Full-text access to more than 150 scholarly journals and eBooks in all disciplines published by Johns Hopkins University and several other university presses.

MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
Note: 1963 - present

Literature Criticism Online Restricted Resource database
Provides online full-text scholarly essays and commentary on classic books and authors. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, and Shakespearean Criticism.

Databases A-Z Unrestricted Resource
An alphabetical list of all library databases, with the option to search by subject area.
Finding Books
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Click Advanced Search for more options.

WorldCat Restricted Resource database
WorldCat is a catalog of materials from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and use Interlibrary Loan to request items St. Cloud State University does not own.
Use WorldCat to locate a book to access through interlibrary loan. Search using key words. If you already know a book title, search by the title. At book record, click and the computer will take you to an interlibrary form. To request that book be delivered for you at SCSU, click interlibrary loan link and fill out the form. You will need your StarID and password.
Primary sources
Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Complete fulltext, including birth and death notices, advertisements, etc. of the The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985. The content covers almost every event in the world during that period.

University of Minnesota Libraries: College of Saint Benedict (CSB) Clemens Library:
  • Primary texts online at CSB (must be on-site, using a public access terminal in the reference area, no remote access)
Other book sources
Google Book Search Unrestricted Resource
Allows searching within full-text of digitized books and viewing of small portions of copyrighted material or full versions of public domain items. Includes links to booksellers and libraries.
Tips for more effective searching of Google Books, can be found here:

Project Gutenberg Unrestricted Resource
A collection of more than 15,000 free electronic books.
Included are Public Domain editions of everything from Alice in Wonderland to the complete works of Shakespeare.

Internet Archive Unrestricted Resource
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
Theses and Dissertations
Repository at St. Cloud State University: provides open access to a diverse collection of academic, scholarly, scientific, and creative content produced by faculty, students, and staff at the St. Cloud State University.

St. Cloud State University Thesis Collection
Theses and starred papers completed by St. Cloud State University students are collected and maintained by the Library and are located in Basement West. These papers are searchable through the Library catalog, Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Click Advanced Search for more search options, change Collection to Thesis-Basement

Open Access Theses and Dissertations: Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource elm database
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open Unrestricted Resource findit database
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jennifer Quinlan

Jennifer Quinlan
Associate Professor, Research Librarian
MC 140G
(320) 308-5626
jmquinlan@stcloudstate.edu

Research consultation
As you continue your research, I would be happy to meet with you for a research consultation. Research consultations are intended to give you in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for your project. Please complete the form on our Ask a Librarian page to schedule a consultation.
Background information
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Print Location: REFERENCE PN451 .D54 and online
Contains in-depth biographical information on writers, poets, and playwrights world-wide. Each entry places the major works in the context of that person's life. Entries include a list of major works of the author, and a list of references.

Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
A basic dictionary of literary terms and key figures in English literature. Available online and in our print reference collection.
Finding specific journals
Journal Titles
When you already have the bibliographical information of an article, use the above link to search for the journal name.

Here is a handout on how to look for an article when you already have the citation: Known Article Search

You can also use this search to look for a specific journal to see which database it is in and/or how the library owns it.
RefWorks and citation managers
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere.

Mendeley Unrestricted Resource
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Zotero Unrestricted Resource
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use, standalone software program that works with Firefox, Chrome and Safari. It allows users to collect, manage, and cite your research sources (similar to RefWorks).
Interlibrary Loan
On Library homepage, select Borrow, Request, Renew to find the Interlibrary Loan link:
http://www.stcloudstate.edu/library/borrow/interlibrary.aspx
  • From the above link select Request an article for articles SCSU Library does not own. (For books SCSU does not own, select Request a book.)
  • Login using your StarID and password.
  • Fill out the required fields of the form. 
  • Be sure to check the copyright agreement box.
  • Select Submit Request. Watch your SCSU email for information about your request.


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University