The Library at St. Cloud State University

Engineering (General)

Guide to Resources in Engineering
‚Äč
Articles and Research
IEEE Xplore Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search for journal articles, transactions, conference proceedings, etc. of IEEE, IEE and affiliated societies. Use Interlibrary Loan to get items we do not own (you will get message in upper left corner, "The content you requested is not included in your subscription")
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Search over 1,200 scholarly journals published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect is multisubject, but specializes in science. Note: We do not have full text access to all journals. 1993 to present for Academic Press journals; 1996 to present for Elsevier journals
Scopus (Science) Restricted Resource findit database
Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
RITA - National Transportation Library
The largest and most comprehensive index to articles, books, government publications, conference presentations, and technical reports about the transportation industry. Includes selected links to fulltext documents.
Note: 1960 to present
Supplemental Article Resources
Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).

Journal Ranking
Both of the following sources attempt to measure the value or impact of scientific scholarship by journal of publication.  The measures are largely based on the frequency of citations to published articles correlated with the journal ranking.  SCImago also applies similar methodologies to scientific scholarship by country of origin.

Eigenfactor.org
Eigenfactor ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences (and also newsprint, PhD theses, and popular magazines) using citation data and journal price.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database. These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.
Reference and Facts

Civil Engineer's Illustrated Sourcebook Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Provides practical, step-by-step information on a broad array of engineering processes. From planning, materials, and design to bidding, construction, and more.
Engineering Problem Solving: A Classical Perspective
This book fills in many of the gaps in engineering education by showing students and professionals the historical background of problem solving.
Engineering 360
Contains..."critical engineering content, information, insight, tools and community for engineers and technical professionals across multiple industries and disciplines. "
Dictionary of Engineering Terms Restricted Resource
"A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing entries covering the areas of engineering science, electrical and electronic engineering, workshop practices and mechanical engineering."
Knovel Critical Tables
This important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 21,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have data for over 15,000 compounds.
McGraw-Hill's Engineering Companion Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains sections on the basics of engineering science and key methods. Tools include tables, formulas, charts, diagrams, figures, key methods and worked-out problems.
Note: MUST REGISTER for a free NetLibrary account ON CAMPUS to checkout this e-book. OFF CAMPUS users search for book at http://80-www.netlibrary.com.libproxy.stcloudstate.edu/
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species;data are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data are organized by chemical species. Access is free.

Smithsonian Physical Tables Restricted Resource Some full text available
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. 
 
Standards and Patents
National Institute of Standards and Technology
NIST's mission is, "to develop and promote measurement, standards, and technology to enhance productivity, facilitate trade, and improve the quality of life."
esp@cenet
European Patent Office's esp@cenet provides indexing to over 30 million patent documents from European and other patent offices worldwide. The records provide basic patent information and in many cases an English abstract and image of the first page. Some records provide full-text descriptions, claims, and drawings.
NSSN: A National Resource For Global Standards
The database provides access to bibliographic information for more than 250,000 standards, from more than 600 national, foreign, regional, and international standards organizations.  Abstracts are not included in NSSN.
NTIS: National Technical Information Service
"The largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. NTIS assures access to well over 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas." 
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
The full text of over 3,000,000 patents from 1976 to present is searchable at the USPTO site. Bibliographic information is available on millions more. The site also offers filing how-to advice for inventors and information on patent law and intellectual property.
 
Research Guides and Style Manuals
Citation Styles
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.

Council of Science Editors (CSE) Scientific Style

Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers - Print
Ready Reference T11 .S386 2014

IEEE Editorial Style Manual
"This style manual provides general editing guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters."  

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Manage your research and create bibliographies with a click of a button. Set up your account from an on-campus computer and then use RefWorks from anywhere. If you are asked, our "group code" is RWStCloudSU.

Scientist's Guide to Poster Design
This is a detailed guide to designing and creating conference poster presentations, with useful tips on software tools and links to other sources of information.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work.  To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University