The Library at St. Cloud State University

Ethnic Studies

Library Resources for Research
All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Alternative Press Index Restricted Resource findit database
Index to articles published from 1991-present in over 250 alternative, radical, and liberal publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Colorlines
A daily news site published by Race Forward, a national organization that advances racial justice through research, media and practice.
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Expanded Academic ASAP indexes 4200 journal and periodical titles and provides fulltext for another 2500 title. Provides coverage in social sciences, humanities, sciences, education, and business as well as national news, current events, and general interest topics.
Social Sciences Index
Print Location: Miller Center Reference Index Shelves
Check availability
Index to articles published on topics in the social sciences including sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
note: 1974-1996
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
note: 1963 to Present

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Central Minnesota Racial Attitude Survey: Final Report
Print Location: REF F614.S25 C4 1995x
Check availability

Civil Rights in the United States
Print Location: REF E184.A1 C47 2000
Check availability
This two volume set provides historical and current perspective to Civil Rights in the U.S. Highlights include major movements, key personalities, and major conceptual terminology. Brief bibliography included with each entry.
Color of Words: An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the United States
Print Location: REF E184.A1 H466 1997
Check availability
This source highlights terms that reflect ethnic or 'racial' bias, bear confusing or controversial meanings, or offend. Its aim is to examine how langaguage captures the multiethnic temper of a time. Each entry includes historic notes situating the term as close as possible to its era of origin.
Dictionary of Multicultural Education
Print Location: REF LC1099 .D53 1997
Check availability
Alphabetical list of terms and concepts commonly used in multicultural education.
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
Print Location: REF E184 .A1 E574 2000
Check availability
This two volume set is organized in four parts to include: African, Asian, Hispanic and Native American contributions to American politics. Provides short 1-3 paragraph descriptions of major events and personages in American political history. In addition, each section includes three appendices with: 1) primary documents, 2) listings of organizations and contact information as well as 3)tables of U.S. House & Senate members.
Encyclopedia of Napoleon's Europe
Print Location: REF DC147 .P34 1984
Check availability
An encyclopedia of events, persons, and issues in Europe (widely construed to include conquered areas) in the time of Napoleon.
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities
Print Location: REF GN495.4 .E63 2005
Check availability
The work has an A-Z format and is organized into four entry types: topics, nations, groups, and biographies. Seventy-five entries discuss basic concepts or provide background.There are nation entries, essays concerning minority groups. (Booklist)
Ethnic Relations: a cross-cultural encyclopedia
Print Location: REF GN480.B76 v4x
Check availability
Entries providing broad coverage of topical issues and ethnic groups.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Print Location: REF E184.A1 G15
Check availability
4 vols. Medium to lengthy entries for American ethnic groups. Organized by ethnic groups. Each entry includes information on history, geography, immigration, culture, religion, family structures, and more. Bibliographies are included with each entry.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: Primary Documents
Print Location: REF E184.A1 G15 1999
Check availability
Primary documents from the history of many cultures, including Asian American. Documents include oral histories, stories, letters, autobiographies, cartoons, etc. Arranged alphabetically by group name (names are for subgroups, e.g., Japanese Americans, Indonesian Americans, etc.).
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Print Location: E184 .A1 H35
Check availability
Exhaustive and scholarly coverage of every ethnic group in the United States. Each lengthy article generally includes historical background, immigration, settlements, social and economic life, religious institutions, politics, etc. Each article is signed and includes a bibliography. Published in 1980, this encyclopedia remains a core resource.
Minnesota Ethnic Resources Directory
Print Location: An older version is available in print at: F615 .A1 M545 1995x
Check availability
This internet edition of the Minnesota Ethnic Resources Directory contains over 700 total listings including descriptions of approximately 600 non-profit organizations providing ethnic or nationality services plus other institutional groupings. There is also information regarding citizenship and passport procedures as well as direct links to ethnic/nationality resources.
Our Family, Our Friends, Our World
Print Location: Z1037 .M654 1992
Check availability
An annotated guide to significant multicultural books for children and teenagers.
Political Database of the Americas Some full text available
The PDBA provides information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region. Includes numerous links to sites within each country.
Praeger Handbook on Contemporary Issues in Native America
Print Location: REF E 98 .S67 J65 2007
Check availability
Vol. 1 includes linguistic, ethnic, and economic revival with topics such as reviving indigenous languages, genealogy, and sports mascots. Vol 2 includes legal, cultural, and environmental revival with topics such as banishment, uranium, and Native American political humor.
Tracing Your Ancestors in Minnesota: A Guide to the Sources
Print Location: REF CS16.P66
Check availability
A guide to genealogical resources in Minnesota. Includes a general introduction to research and information on local, county, and state-wide records. Volume for each major area of the state subarranged by county within the area. 9 vols.

  Images, video, audio and digital media

Media Education Foundation Collection (Kanopy) Restricted Resource
Videos that encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, with a special focus on representations of gender and race.

  Maps and atlases

Atlas of American Diversity
Print Location: REF E184.A1 S575 1998
Check availability
A beautiful statistical mapping of the diverse population of the United States. Broken down to ethnic groups (e.g., "Hispanic Americans") and sub-groups (e.g., "Welsh Americans"). Extensive essays on each major group, including items such as educational attainment, population growth projections, voter turnout, and income. Distribution of sub-groups is displayed in 2-tone maps of the U.S. mostly for 1980 and 1990, but with some historical information going back to 1950 or even 1900. Graphs (e.g., for occupation, employment). Includes comparison graphs and tables. Recommended readings, and an index

  Websites

American Civil Liberties Union: Racial Justice
Website of the ACLU Racial Justice Program which aims to preserve and extend constitutionally guaranteed rights to people who have historically been denied their rights on the basis of race. 
Diversity & Ethnic Studies: Recommended Websites & Research Guides
Provides links to African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino resources, along with links to resources on often-overlooked minorities such as lesbians, bisexuals, and gays. There's also a brief list of multicultural resources, meaning those that deal with more than one ethnic minority or cultural group.
Diversity Bibliography
A Web directory to online resources on diversity, including many fulltext; includes Web-based bibliographies of printed articles and books.
note: 1990 to present
Facing History and Ourselves
A non-profit organization that provides teachers with professional development through institutes and seminars. "For more than 25 years, Facing History has engaged teachers and students of diverse backgrounds in an examination of racism, prejudice, and antisemitism in order to promote the development of a more humane and informed citizenry,"(From Website).
Historical Text Archive
Offers more than 3,000 links to materials by country and region (with the United States receiving the strongest coverage) and by topic such as Native American, African American, movie history, and genealogy. Resources include both primary and secondary sources (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Microaggressions Project
Provides a visual representation of the everyday of microaggressions, or comments that create and enforce uncomfortable, violent and unsafe realities onto peoples’ workplace, home, school, and other environments.
Women of Color Web
Provides access to writings by and about women of color in the U.S., focusing specifically on issues related to feminisms, sexualities, and reproductive health and rights. Also provides links to organizations, discussion lists, and academic tools concerned specifically with women of color.

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

Southern Poverty Law Center
A resource that includes teaching resources and updates on hate crimes.

  Statistics and data

MapStats
Provides demographic data pertaining to housing, business, income, geogrpahic and climate indicators, women and minority-own business, crime rates, educational attainment and poverty. Data comes directly from the US census and is neatly compiled into very usable format that can be viewed from the national, state, county, city or township level.
Racial and Ethnic Diversity
Print Location: REF E184 .A1 R78 2002
Check availability
Provides statistical summaries for the most important demographic characteristics of Asian Americans, African Americans, Native Americans, and "Hispanics." Most data is derived from U.S. Census information.
Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States
Print Location: REF E184 .A1 H417 2000
Check availability
Statistical tables and graphs, largely derived from U.S. government sources, primarily for U.S. Census racial categories ("Black, Asian, Hispanic, and White").
They Chose Minnesota: A Survey of the State's Ethnic Groups
Print Location: F615 .A1 T45
Check availability
Provides narrative and historical statistics for each of the state's ethnic groups, from Swedes to the Hmong.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Immigration data, published annually by the Office of Immigration Statistics.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University