The Library at St. Cloud State University

Ethnic Studies (American Indians)

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.
Indian Country Today
A voice for Native American journalism, providing definitive reporting, incisive analysis and pointed commentary.
Indianz
"Updated daily, this production of Noble Savage Media and Ho-Chunk, Inc., based on the Winnebago Reservation in Nebraska, provides news, information, and resources about issues facing Native peoples," (Choice, Sept. 2002).
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
note: 1963 to Present

  Biographies and quotations

Native American Writers of the United States
Print Location: REF PN451 .D54 v.175x
Check availability
This volume, published in 1997, is part of the ongoing Dictionary of Literary Biography series. Index available on the Web at http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered By African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
Print Location: REF E184.A1 V64 1996x
Check availability
Alphabetically organized with cross-indexing by ethnic group, this reference source provides full reproduction of notable speeches. In the case of speeches that were not written, they are produced in the vernacular along with a standard American English translation. Each entry includes a substantial biographical portrait of the individual in question and includes a bibliography.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

American Indian Communities in Minnesota
This report was developed by the staff of Minnesota Senate Counsel & Research.
American Indian Culture
Print Location: REF E98.S7 A44 2004
Check availability
This three volume set covers the range of North American Indian culture from lifeways, religious rituals, and material culture to art forms and modern social phenomena.
American Indian Languages: The Historical Linguistics of Native America
Print Location: REF PM108 .C36 1997
Check availability
Presents what is known about the history and classification of Native American languages, and gives a perspective on current controversies. 9 chapters, each an essay on a topic (e.g., "Origin of Native American Languages") or set of languages (e.g., Languages of South America", "Distant Genetic Relationships: The Proposals"). With an author index, subject index, index of languages, language families, and proposed genetic relationships. Maps, notes, references.
American Indian Tribes
Print Location: REF E77 .A53 2000
Check availability
An encyclopedia of American Indian tribes, cultural areas and cultural traditions.
American Indians
Print Location: Ref E 76.2 .A45 1995
3 vol. A-Z encyclopedia with index in Vol. 3. Includes articles on people, places, events, culture, history, tribes, society, and current issues.
Dictionary of Native American Mythology
Print Location: REF E98.R3 G46 1992
Check availability
Provides quick access to information about individuals, events, and topics in Native American mythology, from all tribes and periods.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
Print Location: REF KF8210 .C5 E53 1997
Check availability
An encyclopedia of issues and events relating to the civil rights of American Indians. Short entries (less than a page to several pages), each with recommended further readings. A good resource for beginning legal research on this topic, or also for general knowledge on the subject. Includes timeline of major landmarks in the history of American Indian Civil Rights.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World: 15,000 Years of Inventions and Innovations
Print Location: REF E54.5 .K46 2002
Check availability
The book's 450 entries, arranged alphabetically and fully cross-referenced, include inventions, philosophies, political hierarchies, and social systems used by American Indians from the Arctic Circle to South America. When possible, dates are given for each entry, and some include illustrations. The valuable appendixes include maps, a glossary, chronology, roster of tribes organized by culture area, bibliography, and general index,
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Print Location: https://login.libproxy.stcloudstate.edu/login?qurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.credoreference.com%2Fbook%2Fhmenai Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Provides an authentic and often surprising portrait of the complexities of the Native American experience. Written by more than 260 contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors — including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists — with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Print Location: REF E77 .G15 1998
Check availability
This comprehensive four (4) volume set does an admirable job of covering a lot of information in a respectable fashion. Each volume covers a particular region or regions with alphabetical access to the various tribes within that area. Each entry provides an introduction, history, literature of the people, culture (religion, language, architecture, subsistence, clothing & adornment, healing practices and customs. Included is also a paragraph highlighting current tribal issues.
Minnesota Ethnic Resources Directory
Print Location: An older version is available in print at: F615 .A1 M545 1995x
Check availability
This internet edition of the Minnesota Ethnic Resources Directory contains over 700 total listings including descriptions of approximately 600 non-profit organizations providing ethnic or nationality services plus other institutional groupings. There is also information regarding citizenship and passport procedures as well as direct links to ethnic/nationality resources.
Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
Print Location: REF PS153.I52 W47 1999
Check availability
An encyclopedia of Native American literatures featuring articles on individual authors, on individual works, on important characters in works, and on terms and events of historical significance that figure in many of the works.
Ojibwe People's Dictionary
A searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers.
Praeger Handbook on Contemporary Issues in Native America
Print Location: REF E 98 .S67 J65 2007
Check availability
Vol. 1 includes linguistic, ethnic, and economic revival with topics such as reviving indigenous languages, genealogy, and sports mascots. Vol 2 includes legal, cultural, and environmental revival with topics such as banishment, uranium, and Native American political humor.
Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian
Print Location: REF E76.2 .K58 1998x
Check availability
Designed as a directory to resources, this comprehensive volume is divided into four major sections: source listings (United States), Canadian section, bibliography and biographies. The amount of information to current resources is quite impressive. Some examples of what can be found here are listings and contact information for reservations, communities and tribal councils, government agencies, national associations, Native America financial institutions, schools, college courses & programs, financial aid resources, Indian health services, museums, libraries & research center, media, audiovisual aids, periodicals, art cooperatives, casinos, and major Native American events. The bibliography provides unique cross-indexing access to information via alphabetical, subject and publishers indexing.
YourDictionary.com. North American languages
Includes web links to glossaries and dictionaries of North American Indian and Inuit languages. Examples of languages covered are: Algonquian, Eskimo-Aleut, Hokan, Iroquoian, Muskogean, Na-Dene, Salishan and Siouan languages.

  Maps and atlases

Atlas of the North American Indian
Print Location: REF E77 .W195 2000
Check availability
Offers maps on tribal locations, reservations, sites of cultural and archaeological importance, and other significant places; includes related text and bibliographies (Diana Hacker, 2003).

  Websites

American Civil Liberties Union: Racial Justice
Website of the ACLU Racial Justice Program which aims to preserve and extend constitutionally guaranteed rights to people who have historically been denied their rights on the basis of race. 
Black Elk's World
This site includes the complete text of the book Black Elk Speaks , speeches and text from other native authors, information about the Lakota Sioux lives and history.
Historical Text Archive
Offers more than 3,000 links to materials by country and region (with the United States receiving the strongest coverage) and by topic such as Native American, African American, movie history, and genealogy. Resources include both primary and secondary sources (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Native American Political Issues
There are many useful links on this web site. However, it has not been updated since 1998, so use with caution.
Native Americans: General Information
A list of links collected by Santa Clara University's Diversity
Native Culture
This is a comprehensive web site that provides news from a Native American perspective, information on Native American events, links to official tribal web sites, as well as information pertaining to music, arts and even games.
Native Education Directory: Organizations and Resources for Educators of Native Americans
A product of ERIC Clearinghouse on Rural Education and Small Schools and the National Indian Education Association (NIEA) this site provides a broad array of resources related to Native American "organizing, leading, researching, administering, governing, publishing, boradcasting, and educating." (Choice, Sept. 2002)
NativeWeb
Resources for indigenous cultures around the world.
World Wide Web Virtual Library: Indigenous Studies Online
List of links to web sites concerning the world's indigenous populations, both in general and in regard to specific ethnic groups and geographic areas. This site is supported by Center For World Indigenous Studies (CWIS) and the Chief George Manuel Library.

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

American Indians, Indian Tribes, and State Government
An online guidebook covering major legal issues involved in the relationship between Indian tribes, Indians, and MN state government. February 2014.
Kappler’s Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
"Originally compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, in 1904, this is an electronic reproduction of an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII)," (Oklahoma State University).

  Statistics and data

Facts on the American Indian/Alaska Native Population
"Provides statistics compiled from government data on the social and economic characteristics of the nation's American Indian/Alaska Native inhabitants, as well as links to various reports, news releases, and data from the 2000 Census. Data on social characterisitcs such as age, child care, educational attainmnet, foreign-born poulation, health insurance, marital status, mobility, and women can be found," (Choice, Sept. 2002).
Statistical Record of Native North Americans
Print Location: E98.P76 S73 1993
Check availability
This large (1661 pages) one volume resource includes statistics on History -- Demographics -- The Family -- Education -- Culture and tradition -- Health and health care -- Social and economic conditions -- Business and industry -- Land and water management -- Government relations -- Law and law enforcement -- Canada.
note: to 1992
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University