The Library at St. Cloud State University

Ethnic Studies (Asian Pacific Americans)

Library Resources for Research
All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
America: History & Life Restricted Resource findit database
Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
MLA International Bibliography (Languages & Literature) Restricted Resource findit database
Comprehensive current index to articles and chapters in scholarly collections for literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers all the world's languages and literatures, both contemporary and historical.
note: 1963 - present
National Asian Pacific American Women's Forum
Official NAPAWF organization website.
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
note: 1963 to Present

  Biographies and quotations

Asian American Novelists
Print Location: REF PS153 .A84 A825 2000
Check availability
A biographical and bibliographical critical sourcebook. Arranged in dictionary form, with entries for more than 50 Asian American novelists. Each entry contains a short biography, a discussion of major works, critical reception, and a bibliography.
Distinguished Asian American Political and Governmental Leaders
Print Location: REF E184.O6 N35 2002
Check availability
This book is an alphabetical compilation of biographies of 96 Asian Americans who are elected officials, political activists, judges, and major political appointees active from 1950 until the present. Leaders were chosen to show diversity of electoral and nonelectoral forms of political participation and representation. (Booklist)
Modern Japanese Writers
Print Location: REF PL723 .M563
Check availability
Lengthy biographies and literary assessments of 24 major, and frequently translated, Japanese authors since 1860. Each essay includes bibliographies of translated writings in Japanese and English and secondary sources in English.
Notable Asian Americans
Print Location: REF E184.06 N67 1995
Check availability
A select biographical source for information on prominent Asian Americans. Several hundred people are profiled in fair depth (several pages each). Includes subject index, occupation index (names by job), ethnicity index (names by country), with photos.
note: 1900-1995
Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered By African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
Print Location: REF E184.A1 V64 1996x
Check availability
Alphabetically organized with cross-indexing by ethnic group, this reference source provides full reproduction of notable speeches. In the case of speeches that were not written, they are produced in the vernacular along with a standard American English translation. Each entry includes a substantial biographical portrait of the individual in question and includes a bibliography.
Who's Who Among Asian Americans
Print Location: E184.O6 W47 1994-95
Check availability
Short biographical sketches of prominent Asian Americans, in alphabetical order. Includes an occupational index (names listed by job), and an Ethnic/Cultural Heritage index (names listed by country of origin).
note: 1990's

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Asian American Chronology
Print Location: REF E184.06 A85x
Check availability
A chronology of Asian Americans and their origins, with some entries on ancient history, but the majority from 1700 onward. Short entries on major events in Asian American history.  Covers 11,000 B.C. E. to Present.

Asian American Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF E184.06 A827 1995
Check availability
An encyclopedia covering Asian American events and individuals, with entries ranging from short definitions to multi-page essays. 6 volumes, illustrated, with charts, tables, general index, and subject index. The latter makes it possible to use this encyclopedia to study sub-groups, e.g., Korean Diaspora.
Asian American Health (MedlinePlus)
Links to health issues that affect Asian Americans, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Asian American Literature
Print Location: REF PS153 .A84 A82 1999
Check availability
A collection of previously-published reviews and critical essays on approximately 50 major Asian American literary figures. For each author it includes an introduction, list of major works, reviews and criticism, explanatory notations, and sources for further study.
Asian American Profile (Office of Minority Health)
Overview of demographic and health-related statistics of Asian Americans.
Asian American Studies: An Annotated Bibliography and Research Guide
Print Location: REF Z1361.O7 K56 1989
Check availability
This volume includes 3,396 entries of Asian American literature in social and behavioral sciences and humanities, but not Asian American literature published by the federal government.
Central Minnesota Racial Attitude Survey: Final Report
Print Location: REF F614.S25 C4 1995x
Check availability

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Print Location: REF B121 .C66 1997
Check availability
Composed of 48 essays on various aspects of Asian Philosophy. Divided into 5 main groups: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese. Each essay covers a major subject area within the philosophical traditions above.
Dictionary of Asian American History
Print Location: E184.06 D53 1986
Check availability
Organized as a dictionary, but this has entries on Asian American history that equal briefer encyclopedias. Includes 15 introductory essays on the major groups, and on topics such as "Asian Americans and American Justice", (or "Politics", "Education", etc.). Approximately 800 scholarly entries. Includes bibliography, chronology, census report, general subject index.
note: 1800 to present
East Asian Americans and Political Participation
Print Location: REF E184.A75 C49 2005
Check availability
An introductory historical overview of the East Asian Americans' political process with individual chapters covering participation in electoral politics, protest politics, social movements/interest groups, and political office-holding.
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
Print Location: REF E184 .A1 E574 2000
Check availability
This two volume set is organized in four parts to include: African, Asian, Hispanic and Native American contributions to American politics. Provides short 1-3 paragraph descriptions of major events and personages in American political history. In addition, each section includes three appendices with: 1) primary documents, 2) listings of organizations and contact information as well as 3)tables of U.S. House & Senate members.
Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism
Print Location: E184 .A1 E58 1994
Check availability
Broad encyclopedic coverage of multicultural people, events, and issues. Entries cover various groups and subsets(e.g., Asian American women); topics such as architecture, arts and entertainment; important individuals and groups (e.g., Buffalow soldiers), and issues (e.g., anti-Asian violence), and resources (e.g., women's studies programs). Illustrated, with a comprehensive subject list and a general index, 6 volumes.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: Primary Documents
Print Location: REF E184.A1 G15 1999
Check availability
Primary documents from the history of many cultures, including Asian American. Documents include oral histories, stories, letters, autobiographies, cartoons, etc. Arranged alphabetically by group name (names are for subgroups, e.g., Japanese Americans, Indonesian Americans, etc.).
Minnesota Ethnic Resources Directory
Print Location: An older version is available in print at: F615 .A1 M545 1995x
Check availability
This internet edition of the Minnesota Ethnic Resources Directory contains over 700 total listings including descriptions of approximately 600 non-profit organizations providing ethnic or nationality services plus other institutional groupings. There is also information regarding citizenship and passport procedures as well as direct links to ethnic/nationality resources.
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Health (MedlinePlus)
Links to health issues that affect Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

  Maps and atlases

Atlas of Asian-American History
Print Location: REF E184.O6 A89 2002
Check availability
Using a wide arrangement of visual tools, this atlas offers a detailed overview of the experiences and important events surrounding Americans of Asian descent. Featuring detailed maps and authoritative text, this book tells the story of not one group of people but many. Photographs, line graphs, charts, chronologies, box features, and maps help explore the cultural, historical, political, and social history of Asian Americans. (Amazon Editorial Review)

  Websites

American Civil Liberties Union: Racial Justice
Website of the ACLU Racial Justice Program which aims to preserve and extend constitutionally guaranteed rights to people who have historically been denied their rights on the basis of race. 
Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)
Information to help communities mobilize in order to influence policy and to strengthen their community-based organizations to achieve health equity for AAs and NHPIs across the country.
Asian American Film
A resource on Asian American film and filmmakers. Includes a film database, commentary and reviews, list of festivals, current national screenings, short video clips, chat, bulletin boards.
Asian American Health: National Organizations
A directory provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Asian American Studies (University of Minnesota)
Provides a link to the Asian American Studies @ Minnesota Resource Guide which contains information on university and community resources in Asian American Studies, including faculty listings, video holdings, community contacts, and materials available in the Immigration History Resource Center. This site also has links to library resource guides in Asian American Studies, Bicultural Parenting for Southeast Asian Families Curriculum, and Twin Crossings Newsletter.
Asian American Studies Center Online (UCLA)
UCLA Asian American Studies Center. Includes announcements, projects, publications, at the center. Not a directory to Internet resources.
Asian American Studies: In-Depth Resources (Iowa State U.)
A select academic listing of Web sites pertaining to Asian Americans.
Center for Asian American Media
The Center for Asian American Media (CAAM) is a non-profit organization dedicated to presenting stories that convey the richness and diversity of Asian American experiences to the broadest audience possible. This website provides a catalogue of documentaries on Asian Americans.
Center for Pacific Islands Studies: Internet Resources
Valuable collection of Web links to nations of the Pacific, maintained by the University of Hawaii.
Chinese Historical and Cultural Project
The Chinese Historical and Cultural Project (CHCP) is based in Santa Clara County, California. It was founded in 1987 as a non-profit organization to promote and preserve Chinese American and Chinese history and culture through community outreach activities. The "virtual museum and library" provides numerous online resources.
East and Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources
Extensive list weblinks relating to history, community organizations, and issues affecting Asian Americans, including the Wen Ho Lee controversy.
Exploring Chinese History
This site provides a news archive, sourced from various periodicals; an image library with detailed descriptions; a bibliographical, biographical, cultural and geographical database, chronologies, summaries, abstracts, outlines and presentations separated into ancient, pre- modern, modern, and contemporary periods of Chinese history, and links to other online resources.
Hawaiian nation
History and information on the movement for Hawaiian self-determination.
Hmong Cultural Center
Provides resources that enhance cross-cultural awareness between Hmong and non-Hmong. Provides useful links to Hmong resources, such as Hmong Resource Center Library, research data and publication about Hmong, Hmong Resource Fair, Hmong history and culture, and Hmong cultural artifacts.
Japanese American National Museum
Numerous online exhibitions and resources that document the Japanese American experience throughout history.
Model Minority: A Guide to Asian American Empowerment
Collection of research articles, commentaries, stories, poems, pictures, and other documents on the Asian American experience.
National Asian American Telecommunication Association
Resources related to all forms of communication related to Asian Americans. Funds, produces, distributes, etc., film and new media related to the Asian American community. Includes a searchable database of current broadcasts, educational resources for K-12 and other (cassettes, tapes, etc.). Partners with PBS, CPB and others to provide production facilities, etc., to the Asian American community.
National Japanese American Historical Society
NJAHS tells the story of Japanese Americans through exhibitions and research. The site includes brief research articles and descriptions of exhibits.
Native Hawaiians/Other Pacific Islanders Profile (Office of Minority Health)
Overview of demographic and health-related statistics of Native Hawaiian and other Pacific Islanders.
Open Directory: Asian American Studies
A listing of resources pertaining to Asian American Studies. Includes resources on culture, history, news & criticism, departments for Asian Studies.
Open Directory: Asian American (resources)
A listing of major web resources for Asian Americans. Includes listings of organizations, news sites, resources. Also has listings for various sub-groups of Asian Americans (e.g., Hmong, Iranian Americans, etc.)
South Asia Institute (U of Texas, Austin)
The South Asia Institute at the University of Texas, Austin promotes the inter-disciplinary study of all aspects of modern and ancient South Asia. This site has links to conferences, fellowships, publications, outreach, events, and resources on South Asia.
Southeast Asia Resource Action Center
The Southeast Asia Resource Action Center (SEARAC) is a national organization advancing the interests of Cambodian, Laotian, and Vietnamese Americans through leadership development, capacity building, and community empowerment. This site has useful links to programs, resource centers, health, and advocacy issues.
Southeast Asian Archive (SEAAdoc)
The Southeast Asian Archive from the University of California, Irvine provides links to resources such as brochures, newsletters, the Southeast Asian refugee experience exhibit, images of Hmong textiles, the Vietnamese American Women Bibliography, and Cambodian, Hmong, Lao, Iu Mien, and Vietnamese websites.
Vietnamese Studies Internet Resource Center
A comprehensive information center for those students, scholars, and community members interested in Vietnamese culture and history as well as the adaptation of the Vietnamese diaspora across the world. The primary focus of the website is on Vietnamese Diaspora Studies. The site features a library of several on-line research papers, extensive bibliographies of Vietnamese-related articles and books, comprehensive census data, an on-line Vietnamese Studies bookstore and a list of related links. This website is also the home of the Review of Vietnamese Studies, an online journal of Vietnamese Studies related articles.
Women of Color Web
Provides access to writings by and about women of color in the U.S., focusing specifically on issues related to feminisms, sexualities, and reproductive health and rights. Also provides links to organizations, discussion lists, and academic tools concerned specifically with women of color.
WWW Hmong Homepage
A Minnesota-based website for information relating to the Hmong community in the United States. Includes information on background, history and culture, traditions, events, and community news.
note: Current
Yahoo!--Asian American Studies
Select resources on Asian American Studies. Includes links to directories of academic sites, policy issues, journals.

  Research guides and manuals

Citation Styles
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citation styles and use RefWorks to manage your references and format your bibliography.
Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.

  Statistics and data

American Statistics Index
Print Location: Miller Center Basement Bound Periodicals
Check availability
A useful index to statistics that appear within government publications. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts. Note: link goes to the latest catalog data for issues from 1993-1998 but all volumes (1974-1998) are shelved together.

Note: This resource has been cancelled.  Access will end on 30 June 2015.
Asian American Data Links (U.S. Census)
Data and reports based on the 2010 U.S. Census.
Asian Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
Print Location: REF E184.A75 A842647
Check availability
This is a comprehensive, annual statistical reference book. Drawing on the vast information resources of the federal government, it culls the most vital and current facts available on Asian Americans and presents them clearly and understandably. Topics covered are social & economic characteristics, demographics, education, vital statistics & health, crime and corrections, labor, employment & unemployment, earnings, income, and poverty and wealth.
Community of Contrasts: Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States
Print Location: REF E184.A75 C658 2006x
Check availability
This book details statistics on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI), one of the fastest growing populations in the United States, and examines both the contributions and the needs of this diverse community. It also focuses on New York City, California, Hawaii, and five key geographic areas of significant growth and change in the AAPI community (Georgia, Minnesota, Texas, Nevada, Washington).
Facts on the Asian/Pacific Islander Population
"Provides statistics compiled from government data on the social and economic characteristics of the nation's Asian/Pacific Islander inhabitants, as well as links to various reports, news releases, and data from the 2000 Census. Data on social characterisitcs such as age, child care, educational attainmnet, foreign-born poulation, health insurance, marital status, mobility, and women can be found," (Choice, Sept. 2002).
FedStats
More than 100 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public.
Minority Health: Asian American Populations
Authoritative data on health topics for Asian Americans, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Minority Health: Native Hawaiian & Other Pacific Islander Populations
Authoritative data on health topics for Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Islanders, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander Data Links
Data and reports based on the 2010 U.S. Census.
Statistical Record of Asian Americans
Print Location: REF E184.06 S73 1993
Check availability
Statistics on Asian Americans, with some data from as early as 1790, and with the bulk of information from 1960 and later. Categories include: Attitudes and Opinions, Business and Economics, Crime & Civil Rights, Domestic Life, Education, Employment, Health, Polulation, Public Life, Religion.
note: 1700's to present
They Chose Minnesota: A Survey of the State's Ethnic Groups
Print Location: F615 .A1 T45
Check availability
Provides narrative and historical statistics for each of the state's ethnic groups, from Swedes to the Hmong.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu

Multicultural Resource Center
The Multicultural Resource Center (MRC) is an academic center that supports those who are learning, researching, or teaching about the experiences of people of color in the United States. Books in the MRC Collection are on Miller Center 1st Floor, near MC 137.

Search for materials in the MRC

 
Search for Books
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University