The Library at St. Cloud State University

Ethnic Studies (Latino/Chicano)

All Items by Source


Expand/Collapse All

  Articles, journals, magazines and newspapers

Academic Search Premier (all topics) Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit elm database
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
HAPI: Hispanic-American Periodical Index Restricted Resource findit database
HAPI is an index to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. The index covers information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
note: 1970 - present
HuffPost Latino Voices
Part of the Huffington Post online news source.
Informe Académico Restricted Resource Some full text availableelm database
Spanish- and English-language scholarly journals and popular magazines with an emphasis on the Americas. Topics covered include business, health, technology, culture, current affairs, economics, and more.
note: 1994 to present
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource findit database
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
note: 1963 to Present

  Biographies and quotations

Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered By African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
Print Location: REF E184.A1 V64 1996x
Check availability
Alphabetically organized with cross-indexing by ethnic group, this reference source provides full reproduction of notable speeches. In the case of speeches that were not written, they are produced in the vernacular along with a standard American English translation. Each entry includes a substantial biographical portrait of the individual in question and includes a bibliography.

  Facts, definitions, and overviews

Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
The Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S. focuses on the fight for equal educational access and represents a significant addition to American educational literature. The contributors to this volume reveal that many Latino children still face challenges that were present many decades ago. In addition to such obstacles as cultural conflicts and racism, they also face teachers, curricula, and assessments that are not always respectful to their backgrounds.
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
Print Location: REF E184 .A1 A63448 1997
Check availability
Moderate to lengthy essays on immigration, socio-cultural, and political aspects for every racial, national, and ethnic group in the United States. Each essay includes a brief bibliography.
Companion to Hispanic Studies Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Provides a concise and accessible overview of the discipline as taught today and suggests new directions for future developments. 'Hispanic Studies' is broadly concerned with the languages and cultures of the vast 'Hispanic' world, extending chronologically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from Roman Hispania to today, and geographically from California in the North to Patagonia in the South, and from Majorca in the East to the Andes in the West.
Companion to Latin American Studies Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref ebook
Provides a brief and accessible overview of the whole of Latin American Studies. Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.
Contemporary Hollywood's Negative Hispanic Image: An Interpretive Filmography, 1956-1993.
Print Location: REF PN1995.9 .L37 R54 1994
Check availability
A critical view of Hollywood's portrayal of Hispanics. Short entries give a brief description and criticism for each film, about 3100 in all. Listed alphabetically by year produced. Cross referenced, with 4 indexs: Feature Film Title, Actors and Actresses, Countries and Place Names, and Subject Index.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Print Location: REF F1406 .E53 1996
Check availability
An encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. 5,300 articles in 5 volumes. Entries range from short paragraph to several pages in length. With appendixes listing the names of people according to occupation (e.g., 'education', or 'journalism' or 'the military').
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Print Location: REF PQ7081 .A1 E53 1997x
Check availability
A single volume encyclopedia, with entries on writers, works, and topics relating to the literature of Latin America. Includes survey articles on literature in each individual country. Entries include biographical sketch, list of further reading. Volume has a title index and a general index.
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture
Print Location: REF E184.S75 E59 2004
Check availability
The work focuses predominantly on Mexican American, Puerto Rican, and Cuban American culture within the U.S. It covers a wide variety of topics, and beyond an alphabetical list of entries, there are several lists that sort entries by subject and, for individuals, by field of endeavor and country of origin or heritage. (Booklist)
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
Print Location: REF E184 .A1 E574 2000
Check availability
This two volume set is organized in four parts to include: African, Asian, Hispanic and Native American contributions to American politics. Provides short 1-3 paragraph descriptions of major events and personages in American political history. In addition, each section includes three appendices with: 1) primary documents, 2) listings of organizations and contact information as well as 3)tables of U.S. House & Senate members.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature Restricted Resource Some full text availableeref
Surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain
Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States
Print Location: E184.S75 H365 1993
Check availability
A survey of art, history, sociology, and anthropology of Hispanic Americans. Chapters within each volume are arranged by topic, and articles are lenghty and well illustrated (Diana Hacker, 2003).
Hispanic Firsts: 500 Years of Extraordinary Achievement
Print Location: E184 .S75 K36 1997bx
Check availability
Provides a historical chronology of major events and people from 1509-1997. Includes a general chronology and a calendar of firsts, as well categorical chronologies by art & design, business & commerce, education, film, government, labor, literature, media, military, performing arts, religion, science & technology, sports and theater. Includes bibliography index by year and general index.
note: 1509 - 1997
Mexican Americans in Minnesota : An Introduction to Historical Sources
Print Location: Z1299 .S28
Check availability
Produced by the Minnesota Historical Society this resource provides bibliographic historical information on the state's largest minority population.
Minnesota Ethnic Resources Directory
Print Location: An older version is available in print at: F615 .A1 M545 1995x
Check availability
This internet edition of the Minnesota Ethnic Resources Directory contains over 700 total listings including descriptions of approximately 600 non-profit organizations providing ethnic or nationality services plus other institutional groupings. There is also information regarding citizenship and passport procedures as well as direct links to ethnic/nationality resources.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States
Print Location: REF E184 .S75 O97 2005
Check availability
4 vols. A-Z signed articles, most with bibliographies for further research. Includes articles on historical, cultural, social, political, biographical information, and current issues.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Print Location: Ref F 1218.6 .O95 2001
Check availability
3 volume A-Z encyclopedia includes signed entries on pre-history, ancient, and contemporary cultures in the Mesoamerican geographic area. Most entries include bibliography for further reading. Vol. 3 includes synoptic outline of contents and detailed index.

  Images, video, audio and digital media

Chicano! [videorecording] : The History of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement. , Part I, Quest for a Homeland
Print Location: VIDEO E184 .M5 C4 1996 pt.1x
Check availability
A four part series chronicling various aspects of the struggles for equal rights by Mexican Americans. Episode 1 examines the events at Tierra Amarilla, New Mexico, that sparked a national movement for social justice. It focuses on the 1967 struggle by Mexican Americans to regain ownership of New Mexico lands guaranteed them by the 1848 Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo and then visits the landmark Denver Youth Conference in 1969.

  Websites

American Civil Liberties Union: Racial Justice
Website of the ACLU Racial Justice Program which aims to preserve and extend constitutionally guaranteed rights to people who have historically been denied their rights on the basis of race. 
Andanzas al Web Latino
Maintained by Molly Malloy at New Mexico State University Library, this metasite provides a links to major Latino and Latin America gateways. Also included are links to numerous cultural, economic and political web sites. A great place to find subscription information for relevant listservs, Spanish language search engines and much more.
Internet Resources for Latin America (NMSU)
A high-quality directory of resources on Latin America. Includes links to newspapers, listings of librarians' directories of resources on the topic, links for current events and networking, etc.
Julian Samora Research Institute: The Midwest's Premier Latino Research Center
The home page of the Julian Samora Research Institute, a Hispanic policy research center undertaking research on issues of relevance to the Hispanic community in the social sciences and economic and community development. Research and publications section includes many full-text research papers, statisitcal briefs, a browsable database of article citations on migrant labor and bibliographies.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
A site sponsored by the University of Texas Institute of Latin American Studies that provides information on Latin America. The site contains country-specific links, links by topic, and assorted links to libraries, and conferences. Unfortunately, the site has not been maintained and updated since 2015; however, most of the links and information are still current.
Women of Color Web
Provides access to writings by and about women of color in the U.S., focusing specifically on issues related to feminisms, sexualities, and reproductive health and rights. Also provides links to organizations, discussion lists, and academic tools concerned specifically with women of color.

  Research guides and manuals

Columbia Guide to Online Style
This site provides many examples for citing online resources in the bibliography of a humanities, social science or science research paper. See Preparing the Bibliographic Material once you have linked to this page.

  Laws, legislation, and government reports

Chicano Latino Affairs Council (CLAC)
The Chicano Latino Affairs Council web site contains a collection of Hispanic or Latino community demographic profiles for over 200 geographic areas in Minnesota. Each demographic profile includes information such as the number of Latinos in the community, age distribution, ethnic origin and household and family data. Only geographic areas and census data sets with a population of 100 or more Latinos were chosen for the community profiles in an effort to protect individual's privacy, (CLAC).

  Statistics and data

Facts on the Hispanic/Latino Population
"Provides statistics compiled from government data on the social and economic characteristics of the nation's Hispanic/Latino inhabitants, as well as links to various reports, news releases, and data from the 2000 Census. Data on social characterisitcs such as age, child care, educational attainmnet, foreign-born poulation, health insurance, marital status, mobility, and women can be found," (Choice, Sept. 2002).
Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
Print Location: REF E184 .S75 H5655 2001
Check availability
This resource provides a plethora of statistical information derived from U.S. government sources. "Each table presents information about the Hispanic population, the White population, and a total for Americans of all races and ethnic groups... to provide a context within which the tabular data can be more fully understood and evaluated." The ten major categories of information include: demographics, social characteristics, household & family characteristics, education (preprimary through high school), education (postsecondary & educational attainment), government & elections, labor force, earnings, crime & corrections, and special topics. Includes an extensive glossary.
note: 1975 - 1999
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University