The Library at St. Cloud State University

ETHS 201: Introduction to Ethnic Studies

Library Services
Library Access from Off Campus
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.

Equipment Check Out
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.

Husky Fetch
Place a hold on the books you want using the Library’s Books and More catalog, and Husky Fetch will fetch them for you.

Write Place
The Write Place offers free, one-on-one tutoring to all members of the St. Cloud State University community, at any stage in the writing process. They are located in Building 51 and also have a satellite location in the library on first floor.
From Idea to Library (NCSU Libraries)
Popular vs. Scholarly practice
Journal covers image

Scholarly and Popular Materials (NCSU)

Popular vs. Scholarly Articles: A Guide and Tutorial

Compare and contrast the following articles. What makes one popular and the other scholarly?
Find Facts, News, and Background Information
American Community Survey
Provides up-to-date statistical summaries based on US Census data for states, selected cities(with populations greater than 65,000) and counties. Similar to the American FactFinder.


Points of View Reference Center
This full-text reference resource presents multiple sides on current controversial topics. Each topic may include topical essays, supporting articles, primary source documents, images, and videos.

Southern Poverty Law Center
A resource that includes teaching resources and updates on hate crimes.

Colorlines
A daily news site published by Race Forward, a national organization that advances racial justice through research, media and practice.

Zinn Education Project
Based on the work of Howard Zinn, this site emphasizes the role of working people, women, people of color, and organized social movements in shaping history. The News and Why sections of the site include articles of current interest that look critically at historical topics and how they relate to today's society. You can also Explore by Theme.
Search for Books
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available through the library.  


The Multicultural Resource Center (MRC) is an academic center that supports those who are learning, researching or teaching about the experiences of people of color in the United States. Books in the MRC collection are on Miller Center 1st floor, near MC 137.
 

Search for materials in the Multicultural Resource Center

 
Search for Films and Video
The Library has an extensive collection of films and movies that are streaming online or available for check out.

 

Films on Demand: Ethnic and Women's Studies
Streaming video on issues related to Ethnic Studies, Women's Studies, Social Inequality, and general Sociology.
Tip: To focus your results, type "racism" into the search box.

Cite Your Sources
Use the Cite feature in the library's databases to format your citations and copy and paste into your paper. Be sure to double check them for accuracy.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue

Other citation formats:
Citation Styles
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Professor, Research Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu

Create Your Search Strategy
  • Identify the main concepts of your topic
  • Think of synonyms to describe each concept, where appropriate
  • Combine synonyms with OR and enclose in parentheses
  • Combine the different concepts with AND
  • Use truncation (*) to find multiple endings of words
** Some terms for the "institutional racism" concept: systemic, institution*, discriminat*, racism, oppression
** Some terms for the "empowerment" concept: empower*, resistan*, reform*, activis*, organizational change, agency, organizing
** Try specific terms for the group of color you are studying: japanese american*, mexican american*, dakota
** If you don't have enough search results, try using broader terms like asian american*, hispanic american*, native american*

Sample searches:

(resistan* OR "activis*) AND institutional AND (native american* or american indian*) AND education*

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND (latin* OR hispanic american*) AND politic*

(racis* OR discriminat*) AND (african american* OR blacks) AND (law OR legal)

(oppression OR discriminat*) AND asian american* AND (economic OR income)
Search for Scholarly Articles
You should select at least two databases to search for scholarly articles on your topic.

Criminal Justice:
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to criminal justice.  Topics covered include: courts and the legal process; adult corrections; crime prevention and control strategies; crime, the offender, and the victim; juvenile justice and delinquency; and police.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Economics:
  • EconLit
    Index to scholarly articles and dissertations in economics and related fields. Updated monthly. Corresponds to the print index published as part of the Journal of Economic Literature.
    Note: 1969 to present
  • Business Source Complete
    Premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Education:
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Environmental Racism:
  • GreenFILE
    A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
  • Scopus (Science)
    Science, technology, engineering, medical and some social sciences literature from 15,000 scholarly journals from 4,000 international publishers.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Housing:
  • Academic Search Premier (all topics)
    Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300  journals as well as dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Laws/Public Policies:
  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online full text databases covering News, Business, Legal, Medical, and Reference. News includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, regional and international news sources, scholarly & trade journals, and a guide to current issues. Business includes company SEC reports, company profiles and financial data, and accounting literature and standards. Law resources include law reviews (journals), federal and state congressional laws as well as federal court cases. Includes the text of the U.S. Code as well as the Federal Regulations and CFR. It includes hundreds of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Media:
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    The main database for Communication Studies and Mass Communications. Searches over 600 journal titles that support research in communication, mass media, linguistics, language learning and related fields of study.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Medical:
  • Alt HealthWatch
    Emphasis on holistic and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Index with abstracts to articles back to 1984, full text for 180 journals and reports back to 1990.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic
    Index with fulltext for 550 scholarly journals covering many areas of medicine. Include the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide covering 1300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4700 brand names.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Politics:
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    The premier source for finding scholarly articles and other informaiton related to political science topics.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present

Religion:
  • Academic Search Premier (all topics)
    Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  • America: History & Life
    Search 2,000 scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (the rest of the world is covered in Historical Abstracts).
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present


All topics:
  • Academic Search Premier (all topics)
    Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.
  • LibSearch
    Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.
  • GenderWatch
    Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR provides unique access to full text backfiles for more than 120 "core" scholarly journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, general science, history, literature, mathematics, political science, and philosophy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers provides a "moving wall" for access and does not allow access to fulltext for the most recent 2-5 years of articles.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
    Note: 1963 to Present


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University