The Library at St. Cloud State University

ETHS 215: Introduction to Asian American Studies

Library Services
Ask a Librarian button
chat | email | phone | meet

Library Access from Off Campus
View instructions and get help with troubleshooting.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu

The Peer Review Process
Understanding Scholarly Sources
Journal covers image


Scholarly and Popular Materials (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.
Popular vs. Scholarly
Activity: Compare and contrast the following articles. What makes one popular and the other scholarly?


Thrupkaew, N. (2002). The myth of the model minority. The American Prospect, 8 April, 38-41.

McGowan, M. O. & Lindgren, J. (2006). Testing the "model minority myth." Northwestern University Law Review, 100(1), 331-377.
Cite Your Sources
Use the Cite feature in the library's databases to format your citations and copy and paste into your paper. Be sure to double check them for accuracy.

APA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL at Purdue
Find Authoritative Facts and Background
Asian American Data Links (U.S. Census)
Data and reports based on the 2010 U.S. Census.

Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander Data Links
Data and reports based on the 2010 U.S. Census.
Create your Search Strategy

Figuring out what keywords to use and how to construct your searches is one of the most difficult aspects of doing research.

 
  1. Identify the main concepts of your topic and think of synonyms to describe each concept, where appropriate

    Try searching with broader and then more specific terms such as:
    east asian american*, korean american*, pacific islander*, chinese american*, japanese american*, hmong american*, api, aapi, aanhpi, native hawaiian*
     
  2. Add a search term for the agency issue of your topic such as:
    "race or racism", "identity politics", discrimination, stereotypes, prejudice, privilege, racialization, acculturation, assimilation
     
  3. Add a search term for the empowerment or resistance aspect of your topic such as:
    empower*, resistan*, reform, activis*, social justice, movement, agency
     
  4. Use database searching tips to formulate your search

    * Combine synonyms with OR and enclose in parentheses
    * Combine the different concepts with AND
    * Use truncation (*) to find multiple endings of words
    * Use quotation marks around phrases

Sample searches:

("asian american*" OR "pacific islander*") AND racialization AND empower*

("east asian american*" OR "chinese american*") AND "political empower*" AND "stereotype*

"southeast asian*" AND "social justice" AND "united states"
Search for Scholarly Articles

Try your search in at least two different databases.
 

LibSearch
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Academic Search Premier (all topics)
Academic Search Premier (ASP) contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. ASP provides full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. Tip: Click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

GenderWatch
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts is the primary index to articles and conference proceedings for sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study. It also provides links to full text articles from Academic Press journals where appropriate. Links to fulltext where SCSU maintains fulltext subscriptions.
Note: 1963 to Present

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   
Search for Books
Books and More Search (MnPALS Plus)
Search for books, ebooks, video, government publications, recordings, music scores, and other materials available through the library.  

The Multicultural Resource Center (MRC) is an academic center that supports those who are learning, researching or teaching about the experiences of people of color in the United States. Books in the MRC collection are on Miller Center 1st floor, near MC 137.
 

Limit to books in the Multicultural Resource Center

 
Search for Films and Video

The Library has an extensive collection of films and movies that are streaming online or available for check out.

 

Films on Demand: Sociology Collection
Streaming video on issues related to Ethnic Studies, Women's Studies, Social Inequality, and general Sociology.
Tip: Click on Asian American Studies in the left-hand bar


 


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University