The Library at St. Cloud State University

ETHS 335: Asian Pacific American Women

Find Authoritative Facts and Background

Asian American Studies: In-Depth Resources (Iowa State U.)
A select academic listing of Web sites pertaining to Asian Americans.
National Asian Pacific American Women's Forum
Official NAPAWF organization website.

Open Directory: Asian American Studies
A listing of resources pertaining to Asian American Studies. Includes resources on culture, history, news & criticism, departments for Asian Studies.
Understanding scholarly journals
Journal covers image

From Idea to Library
Video tutorial on how scholarly articles are written, published, and made accessible to researchers and students. From the NCSU Libraries.

Scholarly vs. Popular Materials Guide (NCSU)
Guide to distinguishing between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade journals/magazines.

In pairs, work through the Popular vs. Scholarly Articles - Tutorial from the University of Arizona Libraries.
Create your Search Strategy
Figuring out what keywords to use and how to construct your searches is one of the most difficult aspects of doing research. Here are some tips to help get you started.
 
  • Identify the main concepts of your topic
  • Think of synonyms to describe each concept, where appropriate
  • Combine synonyms with OR and enclose in parentheses
  • Combine the different concepts with AND
  • Use truncation (*) to find multiple endings of words
  • Use quotation marks around phrases
Some terms for the "asian american" concept of your topic:
east asian american*, korean american*, pacific islander*, chinese american*, japanese american*, hmong american*

Some terms for the "empowerment" concept of your topic:
empower*, resistan*, reform, activis*, social justice, movement

Sample searches:

("asian american*" OR "pacific islander*") AND empower*

("east asian american*" OR "chinese american*") AND "political empower*"

"southeast asian*" AND "social movement" AND "united states"
Search for Articles, Books, and More


GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace that support LGBT studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Click the check box to limit results to "Peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text availablefindit database
Articles from over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Limit the Source Type to "Scholarly Journals" for peer-reviewed articles.

LibSearch Restricted Resource Some full text availabledatabase
Your first stop for finding scholarly high-quality research. Search the library's physical collection (books, movies, music, government publications, etc.) along with most of the online journals and e-books to which the Library subscribes -- all in a single search. Tip: For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. When on campus click on "Available via SCSU FindIt" to locate the item through the Library's subscriptions.   
Evaluating Information for Academic Quality
Once you have searched for and located information, you must evaluate your results to determine which resources to use for your research assignments. One method for evaluating information is the CRAAP Test (from the Meriam Library at California State University Chico). CRAAP stands for:

Currency:
The timeliness of the information.
Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.
Authority: The source of the information.
Accuracy:
The reliability, truthfulness, objectivity, and correctness of the informational content.
Purpose: The reason the information exists.

   
Library Services

Digital Media Studio
A green screen and video camera, film editing programs on a souped-up Mac, and audio recording and editing equipment are available in MC B42. Hours are Monday through Thursday 4-8 p.m. and Fridays 4-7 p.m. Email trhergert@stcloudstate.edu to set up an appointment.

Student Study Rooms
Reserve student study rooms for group work, available on the second and third floors of the Library.

Technology Lending
VIsit the Circulation Desk to borrow digital cameras, camcorders, projectors, and other equipment.
Related Guides
Search for Films and Video
The Library has an extensive collection of films and movies that are streaming online or available for check out.

 

Films on Demand: Ethnic and Women's Studies
Streaming video on issues related to Ethnic Studies, Women's Studies, Social Inequality, and general Sociology.
Multicultural Resource Center
The Multicultural Resource Center (MRC) is an academic center that supports those who are learning, researching or teaching about the experiences of people of color in the United States. Books in the MRC collection are on Miller Center 1st floor, near MC 137.
 

Search for materials in the Multicultural Resource Center

 
Cite Your Sources
Citation Styles
Choose a citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/ Turabian...) and follow the guidelines for formatting your paper and references.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Melissa Prescott

Melissa Prescott
Associate Professor, Librarian
MC 204E
(320) 308-4751
mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Education For Life.
St. Cloud State University is an affirmative action/equal opportunity educator and employer.
St. Cloud State University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
© 2013 St. Cloud State University